We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic organized trip with experienced guide.”

Etna Experience Excursions
Ranked #1 of 17 Food & Drink in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are in love with the volcano Etna! But, differently, we offer excursions more informal and engaging with outstanding itineraries.Our guides, professional and adept, will lead you to the discovery of the volcanological and ethnographic aspects of Etna, as well as its flora and fauna. A picnic of Sicilian flavors for a festive break accompanied by good local wine will also enable you to remember this day not just as a simple excursion but also as an experience brightened by colors and emotions. The collected feedback from all the B&Bs and Hotels have left us able to individualize suggestions, itineraries and qualified people able to transform the excursions around the volcano into an authentic experience.
Ede, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic organized trip with experienced guide.”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I went in July for the second time to sicily, earlier this year we went al the way to the visitors centre, this time we wanted to see more of Etna's beautifull surrounding area en choose for a trip with Etna Experience. We went by Jeep to different spots were we walked arround for a while, the guide tells everything you want to now about Etna with so much passion and enthousiasm and every question will be answered. The lunch with the local wine was delicious. It was an beautifull day, learned a lot and had so much fun with our group and guide. It was worth the money we paid. I can't wait to go back for the next tour. Thanks Danilo for the unforgetable day.

Silvia (the Netherlands)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SilviavSetten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    689
    105
    21
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ternat
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We went to the Etna with a taxi and paid 130 euros for it from the port to the Sylvestre crater. It was wonderful for the kids, really amazing to see this. Only a shame some people were tempted to throw their garbage inside the crater... People will be people I guess?

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maaike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannut, Belgium
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Etna trip”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I went to Sicily with my school's all terminal students at the middle of April 2013. We saw many amazing things on the island but the Etna was what we expected the most, and we were really pleased to see it! It was a incredible experience. We climbed the mountain by coach before being allowed to walk on this famous vulcan. During the road, we stopped at a typical village situated a few minutes of the mountain's top which was still covered of soot because of a lava eruption which happened three days before our trip. The top of the Etna offers you one of the best landscape I've ever seen in my life, therefore I advice you to go on it on a unclouded day. The place to be for the Sicily's visitors!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Etna and Wine Experience”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I travelled to Catania with my gf and parents at the end of October 2013. After some research, we have decided on the Etna and wine tasting experience - it was lovely!! :)

Emanuele - our guide picked us up at the agreed time from the hotel and he explained all sorts of different things to us along the way to keep us entertained. Since my gf and parents aren't very athletic, this half day hiking and wine tour fits us perfectly! Emanuele has chosen a milder hiking trail to suit us and explain all about Etna to us. He is very knowledgeable - bachelor in geology!

Wind jackets and hiking shoes were also provided. The tour started at 9.20am and ended at around 7.30pm due to a massive jam when we were returning to Catania. We bought 4 bottles of wine - my parents absolutely love the local Etna white wine :)

The only downside was the back of the jeep isn't too comfy for my parents.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chester_KSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Etna Classic Experience”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We went up Mount Etna in a group of 8 and our tour guide, Alessandro. He picked us up very close to our hotel at 9.25 and from that moment on provided us with both an informative and entertaining tour of Mount Etna. The lunch provided was excellent. The cave exploring really cool and the visit to Alacantra Gorge amazing. We got dropped off close to our hotel at about 6.30. On the whole a fabulous trip and many, many thanks to Alessandro for really making it an amazing experience!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etna Experience Excursions also viewed

Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 

Been to Etna Experience Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing