We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Etna Classic Experience”

Etna Experience Excursions
Ranked #1 of 18 Food & Drink in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are in love with the volcano Etna! But, differently, we offer excursions more informal and engaging with outstanding itineraries.Our guides, professional and adept, will lead you to the discovery of the volcanological and ethnographic aspects of Etna, as well as its flora and fauna. A picnic of Sicilian flavors for a festive break accompanied by good local wine will also enable you to remember this day not just as a simple excursion but also as an experience brightened by colors and emotions. The collected feedback from all the B&Bs and Hotels have left us able to individualize suggestions, itineraries and qualified people able to transform the excursions around the volcano into an authentic experience.
Huntingdon, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Etna Classic Experience”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We went up Mount Etna in a group of 8 and our tour guide, Alessandro. He picked us up very close to our hotel at 9.25 and from that moment on provided us with both an informative and entertaining tour of Mount Etna. The lunch provided was excellent. The cave exploring really cool and the visit to Alacantra Gorge amazing. We got dropped off close to our hotel at about 6.30. On the whole a fabulous trip and many, many thanks to Alessandro for really making it an amazing experience!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    725
    112
    23
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barry
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Etna and wine”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Lovely day trip, with a very knowledgeable guide (a geology student). Good e-mail communication before, they even lent me walking shoes and a wind jacket for free. As there were some Russians on the trip, an extra Russian interpreter accompanied our small group (we were only 7). For unfit people like me it was a bit of a challenge to climb craters, so I am glad I did not book the hole day tour, but relaxed with a wine tasting and an enormous choice of Sicilian appetizers (you do not need lunch this day) - and after all the wine was glad to be driven back to my hotel! Absolute value for money, and a great day out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MK1Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Etna”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Visiting Etna is like going to a different planet. As you climb from sea level you pass through different growing zones until finally reaching the base of the cable car which ich already in the black lava fields. While it is expensive to go up it is worth doing, as it such an otherworldly experience. First you use a cabe car and then a Unimog with a guide takes you to the craters. A short guided tour is included, as you can't wander around on your own. It is worth taking a coat and jumper, as Etna is over 3000m high and it does get cold and windy up there. When we visited the cable car stopped running due to high winds and we were taken back down with the Unimog. Would recommend to visit on a clear day, as the views from the top are spectacular.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AandASmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EtnaExperience, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Etna Experience Excursions, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
This review does not refer to our activity.
We have been trying to report it with no success. In order to avoid this review from being misleading for other readers, we wish to clarify that all the excursions we organize are guided hiking, with various itineraries and difficulty levels. Moreover all the excursions reach a maximum altitude of 2000 meters, area of expertise of our guides. None of the itineraries we propose involves the cable car and we do not reach to the summit craters.
We apologize for any misunderstanding that this review may have caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Etna & wine tasting - a fantastic day!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We chose the Etna walking and wine tour - and it was one of the best days of our holiday. We were picked up from our hotel by our guide, Salvio, and then drove up to Etna. There were 8 of us in our group - a great mix of nationalities. After visiting the lava caves we travelled further up Etna and walked for about two hours around the lateral craters. Salvio was the ideal guide - he was extremely knowledgeable about the volcano and the local flora. We then went to the Gambino vineyard where we had a wonderful lunch (local bread, cheese, olives, sundried tomatoes) with 4 different wines. On the way back to Catania we stopped at a local distillery and honey store. This was a fantastic day - really well organised, a great guide, lovely food and wine and wonderful company!!! Great fun and highly recommended!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank steveR11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“It was ok, but not breathtaking”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We did the classic etna experience. The views were very nice, the guide Emanuele was very very good.... but I expected to see more of the volcano to really have strong emotions. We spent quite some time in the car driving to the Etna, than to the caves and than to the river and back. I think the Solo experience would have been more suitable for us, as we are used to have more long hiking trips in order to get the full flavor of the place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etna Experience Excursions also viewed

Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
Viagrande, Province of Catania
 

Been to Etna Experience Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing