We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely B&B”
Review of Casa Barbero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Barbero
Ranked #3 of 314 Catania B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely B&B”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our holiday in July as we were flying out of Catania Airport. The B&B is lovely and the shady garden is gorgeous to sit in late afternoons and having breakfast in the morning. It's a 15 minute walk into the town centre which is perfect. We parked the car on the road outside which was fine no problems. The room itself was air-conditioned and the shower was powerful and hot. Antonio was helpful and kind and we were driven to the airport in the morning for very good rate by the landlady Monica. This saved us from having to deal with taxis and buses. The room itself looked over the garden and it was quiet with no noise from the road. I would recommend this B&B as it really is very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Proprietario at Casa Barbero, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
thank a lot ! and .. I hope, see you again. Ciao monica & antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    169
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
104
240
46
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We experience a bit of trouble with returning a rental car. Thank's to the Landlady who drove in from of us I was able to deliver the car. And then she took us back to the B&B.

There's a very nice inner garden with green, lush plants, like an oasis. The room wasn't very big, but big enough for the two of us with luggage. There's a rather busy street outside which is noticeble, but we had a good night sleep in a comfortable double bed.

Breakfast is served in the inner garden by the Landlord, typical of southern Italy, rather sweetish for Scandinavian palates. But don't worry, you get stuffed!

It's a bit of a walk to Via Etnea, but if you have been indulging on an excellent restaurant, you need the walk back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent_Svensson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Proprietario at Casa Barbero, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
It was a pleasure! Bye, Monica & Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at Casa Barbero for one night before flying back home early next morning.
We left our rental car at the airport and took a taxi to the hotel.
Antonio sent us message with instructions on self check in, which were pretty easy to follow.
We stayed in two rooms on the ground floor. Very clean and really charming with beautifully decorated ceiling. Comfortable beds and bathrooms. Courtyard garden is very pleasant and helps to relax. Everything was within walking distance. We had a good dinner at Pepito's close by.
Antonio was very helpful and arranged nice breakfast for us next day really early in the morning and then took us to the airport and gave us a nice tour of Catania on the way.
It is really hard to figure out your way based on the web and tour books. There was something truly unique about our experience in Catania.
Now we feel like definitely going back and explore Catania more.
We were happy to find Casa Barbero and hope to be back for longer stay next time.
Thank you very much, Antonio for all your help.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Renata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Proprietario at Casa Barbero, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thanks a lot!
was a pleasure for me.
See you soon, antonio & monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2013

By far the most relaxing breakfast setting in Italy! We were able to enjoy a yummy breakfast in the lush courtyard - a little oasis from the outside world. Our rooms were very clean and tastefully decorated. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality (it made travelling with a young child much easier) and for sharing this beautiful B&B - we will return.
Daniela & 'Piccola' Adele, Australia

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Proprietario at Casa Barbero, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thanks a lot!! I hope, see you soon, antonio & monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed there on our 1st and last nights in Sicily. The 1st night we stayed in one of the ground floor room by the inner court. The room was fantastic with amizing ceiling and very romantic atmosphere for only 90 euros. After this beautiful experience, Our last night was more disappointing, we were in one of the modern rooms in the upper floor. The room, although very clean, had no charm and made us think about a teenager room and for only 5 euros less. Breakfast is average but nicely served in the inner court. The service is impeccable and friendly: antonio sends a welcome text prior to arrival with all the necessary information, wifi is available everywhere... The b&b is situated about 20-25 mins walk from key sights. Would have been excellent without the deception of the room atmosphere on our last night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fourchette_Sacados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Proprietario at Casa Barbero, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks R. Soon, antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Very convenient, charming B&B for your stay in a charming city. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, and your hosts, Antonio and Monica go out of their way to make your stay exceptional. Antonio's suggestions for restaurant choices were wonderful and provided the best meals we had throughout our vacation in Sicily.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60763Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Proprietario at Casa Barbero, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks a lot! See you soon !! antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Casa Barbero is a fantastic place to stay during your visit to Catania. We used it as a home base while we visited Siracusa, Taormina and of course, Catania. Antonio and Monica made us feel right at home by offering a perfect European breakfast & coffee each morning in their gorgeous courtyard filled with plant life and comfortableness.

We were traveling with a car and were easily able to find safe parking on the street outside Casa Barbero (we parked half on the curb like everyone else). We were about 20 mins walk to Piazza Duomo (where the Elephant statue is and close to the famous fish market), 40 min drive to Taormina and 50 min drive to Siracusa.

We definitely recommend staying at Casa Barbero and highly recommend a trip to Sicily in general!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stogie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Direttore at Casa Barbero, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thanks!!
I hope see you again!
ciao, monica & antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,720 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 49 in Catania
540 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 49 in Catania
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 49 in Catania
221 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 49 in Catania
776 reviews
OttoMood Catania Centro
#1 of 314 in Catania
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Barbero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Barbero

Property: Casa Barbero
Address: Via Caronda 209, 95128 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Borgo-Sanzio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 314 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Barbero 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city center of Catania, an elegant residence dating back to the early '900 wisely transformed into an elegant and charming B&B. This Bed and Breakfast retains the charm of Art Nouveau that lives through stucco and frescoes, expertly blended with contemporary furniture, all combined with warm colors and quality materials that will make you feel at home. In the centre of the residence and in front of every room, all with ensuite bathroom, a place of great relaxation is at your disposal: a Mediterranean garden where breakfast is served during the warm season or where you can have a break and use our free wi-fi. The B&B is 200mt away from the Borgo Metro and a few steps away from Cavour Square, crossroad of the Catanese autobus service. In a few minuts you can reach the Bothanical Garden, Villa Bellini (the city park), different restaurants, taverns and pizzerie. Via Etnea, Unesco heritage and shopping street, is attainable in 5 minuts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Barbero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Barbero Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing