We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and quiet place.”
Review of Casa Barbero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Barbero
Ranked #3 of 309 Catania B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
1 review
“Very nice and quiet place.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent hospitality (Antonio). The place is very quiet, although in my particular room (first to the right after entering the internal yard) some noise was coming at certain parts of the day (possibly a kitchen or some storeroom was adjacent and was used from time to time). Breakfast very good (no eggs or ham but nice croissant, marmelades, toasted bread, yoghurt, milk and cereals and so on). Clean and cosy room.
Costas (from Athens, Greece)

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Costas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Proprietario at Casa Barbero, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks and see you soon! monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    167
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
103
237
46
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were visiting Antonio in september 2012, on our honeymoon. Antonio is a very helful and friendly host, we got a huge room with a private balcony, it was very spacious and a good standard.
The B&B is located next to the main street, so very central, but the rooms have windows towards a backyard so its quiet at night. The backyard is made into a mini piazzo, perfect for breakfast or a evening drink.

We recommend this B&B if you are visiting Catania, you wont regret it!

Thanks for a wonderful stay Antonio!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inger lise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Proprietario at Casa Barbero, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie ... e ancora tantissimi AUGURI!!! monica & antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The B&B is located in an ancient palace, with spacious rooms and high ceilings, furnished with a mix of classic and modern. The rooms are clean and comfortable, provided of free wi-fi. A very nice internal court full of vegetation offers open space for breakfast and relax. Continental breakfast is served, offering a wide choice of home made sweets and a typical Sicilian "cornetto". Along the corridor tea/coffee machines are available giving the possibility to get a self-made hot beverage whenever you wont. Antonio is a very polite and available person. Last but not least it is located in a parallel of the central Etnea street, ten minutes to the heart of Catania.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauribear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

After finding the B&B, Antonio made us feel welcome, and helped with unloading luggage and getting the car parked(5 minutes walk up the road in a Pay Park). The room was clean and comfortable, and Antonio got up early to get us breakfast as we had an early start(thanks !).Then he gave us a map and directions to the airport.

Room Tip: I found phoning when I got close helped me find the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queluz, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Casa Barbero´s breakfast in a beautiful courtyard is a wonderful experience, even in Autumn. Antonio was very welcoming host (I have troubles with the luggage and Antonio tried to help) and advised me for restaurants and locals to see. My room was spacy, clean and confortable. Casa Barbero is a lovely house where we can feel at home. It has a good location, very near to one of the main streets of Catania and near to centre of the city. I highly recommend this B&B.
Thank you Antonio
Elisabete F

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Casa Barbero. we travelled around Sicily and we can say this is the BEST B&B in the whole country. Antonio is very friendly and welcoming, the rooms very clean, comfortable and tastily decorated. The Mediterranean garden offers a relaxed atmosphere among beautiful plants. The breakfast was the best we had while in Sicily and the black coffee Antonio made for us in the morning was simply fantastic. We strongly recommend this charming B&B. Antonio and Monica thank you for your great hospitality.

Maria and Stephen Bradley

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Proprietario at Casa Barbero, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thanks a lot !! soon, monica e antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2012

A very friendly and charming host, who went out of his way to look after our needs and accommodate our small child.

The Casa had a lovely courtyard to relax in and an elegant dining room with a genteel atmosphere and wonderful frescoed ceiling.

We had a delicious breakfast including excellent coffee, and the owner was able to pick us up from the airport at quite a late hour.

Well located for an interesting walk into town, near the botanical gardens and a main route into the centre.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyWalker65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Proprietario at Casa Barbero, responded to this review, September 17, 2016
Hi Jeremy, thank you..!!
Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,685 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 49 in Catania
539 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 49 in Catania
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 49 in Catania
204 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
NH Catania Centro
NH Catania Centro
#9 of 49 in Catania
1,095 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 49 in Catania
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Barbero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Barbero

Property: Casa Barbero
Address: Via Caronda 209, 95128 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Borgo-Sanzio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 309 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Barbero 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city center of Catania, an elegant residence dating back to the early '900 wisely transformed into an elegant and charming B&B. This Bed and Breakfast retains the charm of Art Nouveau that lives through stucco and frescoes, expertly blended with contemporary furniture, all combined with warm colors and quality materials that will make you feel at home. In the centre of the residence and in front of every room, all with ensuite bathroom, a place of great relaxation is at your disposal: a Mediterranean garden where breakfast is served during the warm season or where you can have a break and use our free wi-fi. The B&B is 200mt away from the Borgo Metro and a few steps away from Cavour Square, crossroad of the Catanese autobus service. In a few minuts you can reach the Bothanical Garden, Villa Bellini (the city park), different restaurants, taverns and pizzerie. Via Etnea, Unesco heritage and shopping street, is attainable in 5 minuts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Barbero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Barbero Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing