We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozzy apartment and great view, amazing staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bed & Breakfast San Placido Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed & Breakfast San Placido Inn
Ranked #91 of 289 Catania B&B and Inns
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cozzy apartment and great view, amazing staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

San Placido Inn is a great Bed and Breakfast in Catania, where u can stay easily, with all the utilities u need, and an amazing position.

Staff is so kind and real Sicilian guys.

I cannot write a lot about it, cause this place is just amazing, and perfect from all point of views.

Room Tip: There are couple rooms with a balcony, but anyway there is a terrace opened for all u need, and that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Federico A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
23
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yokohama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This B&B is in a center of Catania, near the Duomo and the mercato. The location is best for tourists. Our room is large and comfortable. A homemade jam prepared for breakfast was delicious. The B&B has two terraces. On one of them we saw the Mt. Etana before us while having a breakfast. From the other one shared by some rooms we saw a port. We enjoyed lunch time there. The owner family was very friendly. They always speak with a smile and smile.... I'm pleased with this B&B. I will stay once again when I go to Catania. Recommended B&B, this is!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucedelsole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

This BB was suggested to us by our friend who had a good experience there, it was very well located, close the center, with beautiful views (Etna, city, churches, duomo) from the breakfast terrace. We were welcomed by David, who was very helpful and explained where to go in Catania. The room was clean, home-made orange, fig, tangerine jams for breakfast were delicious. It is close to some nice restaurants and bars, wineshops etc. and good as a starting point for trips to other places on the eastern coast of Sicily and of course Etna. We spend a nice week there and we would go back anytime!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Branislav J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

My partner and I decided to spend two nights in this B&B after we read all the comments on Tripadvisor. The place has many good points, like the location (just close to the Duomo square) and the view from the lovely terrace. The breakfast too was ok, with home made jams.
Unfortunately the room was the weakest point of our stay. Dirty, very dirty and untidy. In the shower the water didn't go through the wastepipe and remained stagnant. The plastic carpet in the shower, that was supposedly white, had a strong layer of brown dirt, and furthermore the bathroom had a kind of electrical sucker to suck up the water and it made noise all night long.
In the fridge there was still food left from the previous client. The sheets didn't even cover the mattress and if you put your arms in the windowsill you could have been sure that you left with a lot od dust.
We were supposed to stay there 2 nights, but I called the owner the same day to tell him we would leave the day after (mainly because the first day had already been payed in advance). The morning after he did'n even come to the B&B to check if the room was really dirty or not, or to apologize.
We wouldn't really come back to this place... there are more B&B or hotels around the place that have a much better realtion quality/price

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andbarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Found this B&B on Osterie & Locande D'Italia Slow Food Edition, We arrived late in Catania that day and had no place to park, the owner did his best to find one for us. The staff were also very nice and tried to show us the very best of the city. I enjoyed the most their breakfast on the terraces. A warm hut in the heart of the city. I only wish we could have stayed longer there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabellaChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

We were heading from Siracusa to visit friends in Naples, but I wanted to see Etna, and since a ferry goes from Catania to Naples overnight, Catania was a perfect place for a stopover. Our hostess in Siracusa recommended San Placido Inn, they had a room available, and so we booked it without hesitation. Orazio, the owner, is beyond nice. He and his staff are so helpful, and very accommodating (we needed to leave our luggage there for a while, after we checked out, but before our ferry departed). The bed was large and comfortable, and we had an excellent night's sleep. The views from both our bedroom terrace and the breakfast terrace were lovely. Orazio recommended a fabulous place for dinner. We fell in love with Catania, especially its people, and our only regret was that we had not allowed more time there. If we revisit, we will make sure to stay once again at the San Placido Inn!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2RomeSoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
Biscari Rooms
#93 of 289 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Bianca B&B and Apartments
#16 of 289 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Duomo Bed & Breakfast
#57 of 289 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
Amenano Bed and Breakfast
Amenano Bed and Breakfast
#55 of 289 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Centro Catania
Eolo B&B
Eolo B&B
#176 of 289 in Catania
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
B&B Universita
#24 of 81 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast San Placido Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast San Placido Inn

Property: Bed & Breakfast San Placido Inn
Address: Piazza San Placido 3 | Centro Storico, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 289 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St.Placido Inn is a prestigious eighteenth century attic in the core of the historical centre, close to Cathedral square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Bed & Breakfast San Placido Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast San Placido Inn Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing