We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Catania Central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Picone Bed Breakfast
Ranked #97 of 291 Catania B&B and Inns
Italy
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Catania Central”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed there 3 nights and Michele couldn't do enough for us..he was wonderful..Being a policeman helped steer us in the right directions so we felt safe. The room was large , very clean, We opted for breakfast at a nearby bar..had the best cannoli! The wifi wouldn't work but he let us use his computer so all was fine. It is a good location, being on a main street and walking distance to the Piazza Duomo and great shopping. Wouldn't advise driving there..Even my GPS was confused..so Michele parked the car for me in a paid pkg lot..around the corner where we left it til departure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expatgal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piconebb, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Picone Bed Breakfast, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
thanks for your comments,we are glad that your stay was very delightful . hope to welcome you again in our B&B next time thanks michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    33
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
17
51
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Location is good, within walking distance of centre (10 min). It's a 1st floor in typical classic-style building of Catania, rooms are clean, owner is very helpful. Air conditioning works fine (and it was totally necessary in August). Possibility to have a surveilled parking place nearby (100m). Breakfast has 2 options: 1: a coupon for a pastry+coffee on a bar in the same street or 2. the owner will bring you brioches (typical local pastries) and other standard stuff (coffee, toasts, biscuits) to the B&B, 2nd option is better in my opinion.
Only nuisance I found is that toilets are noisy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeoMC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piconebb, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Picone Bed Breakfast, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Google Translation
Siamo felici che il soggiorno e la nostra accoglienza è stata di Vostro gradimento,
grazie per le belle parole espresse sulla nostra struttura, la posizione e la colazione .
Spiego e rispondo all' unica piccola critica riguardo il bagno rumoroso ,la nostra struttura
è sensibile alle problematiche ecologiche come spiegato in altre risposte ,infatti
si avvale di bagni ecologici che hanno un piccolo difetto
sono un po piu rumorosi di quelli normali.
Questa è una piccolo sacrificio che bisogna pagare per avere il bagno all'interno della camera,
altra scelta era quello di creare il bagno fuori dalla camera stessa ...
quindi il male minore è il bagno ecologico
Grazie comunque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

This was the only bad B&B experience of our 3 week trip. The location is good and Michele is very friendly, but we would have left after the first night if we'd been staying more than two nights total. It is also bad value and not worth 70E a night. We paid 60E for a comparative palace in Palermo.

The problem is mostly the bathroom: The pipes make a very loud grinding noise whenever any water is run. This is a problem because the noise is loud enough that few people could sleep through it. I found that I could only run the shower for a few minutes before I had to turn off the water and wait for the water to drain (very cold in winter to stand wet, waiting for the drain).

Also, the bed springs were so squeaky that I woke up every time I turned over.

Do not count on being able to use the wifi. Michele pretended to give us the password, but it didn't work and he was absolutely unwilling to give us the real one. We know that this was the case because our iPad, iPhones etc. worked fine everywhere else.

Small complaints: The heater/AC unit never managed to heat the room to a comfortable temperature (we were there in December). There is no fridge in the room (unlike every other Sicilian B&B). The breakfast is simply a coupon for the nice cafe up the street, for which you get a coffee and a pastry that would cost you 2E to buy yourself.

Also there are paper notices pasted up all over the room, setting out rules about using the AC, bathroom, etc. This wouldn't have so been annoying if we hadn't been so disappointed and uncomfortable. Considering how bad the accommodations are, the admonishing notices seemed a bit of a slap in the face.

Catania itself is wonderful. Don't miss it, but don't stay here unless you think that the rate is a bargain.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellyoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piconebb, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Picone Bed Breakfast, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Surprising is the tenor of the negative opinion that contrasts with many other positive received,
and our immense commitment obviously there has been some misunderstanding
I do fine for the future ...
I answer only to clarify the review is the answer .. surely the customers in question

Anyway thank you for the compliment of "B & B charm with a very friendly owner."
Greetings Picone Bed Breakfast

I just wanted to clarify that our structures and highly sensitive to environmental concerns
then some of our bathrooms are shredders ((Maybe the loudest classic bathrooms),
also to facilitate our customers we have chosen to enable this type of bathroom
for no defacing our rooms and ruining the floors, as they still retain the old floors
and drains to lost originalta the room and by the possibility for customers to have
a private bathroom in the room rather than outside it.
Sorry about the hot water to dispute the claim of the customer, but our organization
has never sinned this inefficiency,
i read about it seems strange that the disputed fact clenti have stayed in our hotel
have all stressed the convenience of them ..... wifi to customers and the topic
was explained that they had to adjust the parameters of the connection of their
phone to double check is comforting to us said he made ​​the test with other PC
customers who were guests and they worked ....
other complaint is dismissed with respect to the fridge in the room ...
Our facility has never to have advertising fridge in the room as you can read
all the internet sites where we entered is advertised

I pause here to reject all other ..... "our" shortcomings on how they are listed ..
and as they are written perhaps the lady thought she was a guest at
the HILTON did not notice that he was in a small and simple BED BREAKFAST Catania,
however, any comments and superfluous
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

The room we stayed in was nicely furnished and very comfortable. There were balconies looking in two directions and the location was outstanding.

The pipes were old, though, so the shower was always in danger of flooding. The WiFi router wouldn't let us online, and Michele shrugged this off as a configuration problem with our tech and declined to do any more about it.

Room Tip: There's an option to go to breakfast at a cafe down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alyx D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Charming B&B with a very friendly owner. Unfortunately we couldn't get to sleep because there was a lot of noise from the streets. Also the room was full of mosquitos. Wouldn't go there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firefairy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piconebb, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Picone Bed Breakfast, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Surprising is the tenor of the negative opinion that contrasts with many other positive received, and our immense commitment obviously there has been some misunderstanding
I do fine for the future ...
I answer only to clarify the review is the answer .. surely the customers in question
have heard the noise of traffic in what they have slept with the windows open,
therefore have entered the mosquitoes,
Seasonal ... annoying pet, however, I remind you gentlemen
that our facility is equipped with double glass doors and air conditioning .. so no need to open the doors to the balcony of Room
Anyway thank you for the compliment of "B & B charm with a very friendly owner."
Greetings Picone Bed Breakfast

P.s
I apologize for my bad English
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

This was a very personal bed & breakfast. Michele the owner had little English but had thoughtfully ensured that an english speaker was present when our group of 6 arrived. However because he was so helpful common language was not necessary. He made wonderful coffee each morning and directed us to good restaurants and we looked forward to our contact with him each day. The rooms were large and tiled and we were made to feel that we were sharing his home which of course we were! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All four rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 285726Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

We spend two nights at this B&B and enjoied our stay. What surprised the most was the warm welcome and personal care of the owner. Really nice person.
B&B is well located, near to main shopping area and the Duomo. Easy access from and to airport with "Alibus". We booked "Green Room" which had two balconies and views to two sides. Noise from the streets was little bit disturbing, but total silence at the city is out of the question anyway :)
Breakfast was according to Italian standards. You can tell you preferences to the owner and he organises to you everything.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andres2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
Manganelli Palace Hotel
#17 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
B&B Residenza Umberto
#41 of 291 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
B&B Rossocorallo
#59 of 291 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Tour B&B
#105 of 291 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Albatro Rooms
Albatro Rooms
#113 of 291 in Catania
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Your Room
#76 of 291 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Picone Bed Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Picone Bed Breakfast

Property: Picone Bed Breakfast
Address: Via Umberto n. 104, 95129 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 291 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Picone Bed Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B PICONE, composed by 4 independents rooms (3 doubles and 1 triple) with balconies, bathroom, internet wireless, TV and air conditioned (in addition to the breakfast room and the adjacent kitchenette), is situated in the heart of the historic center of Catania, in the picturesque Umberto Street, in a big and shining apartment - totally restored - at the first floor of an ancient building of the first of the 1900s ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Picone Bed Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picone Bed Breakfast Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing