We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So lucky to see flamingoes in the wild, flying in a flock over the sea.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vendicari Nature Reserve

Vendicari Nature Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$703.43*
and up
8-Day Sicily Road Bike Tour of the Baroque Southeast
Ranked #255 of 2,791 things to do in Sicily
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
GB
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So lucky to see flamingoes in the wild, flying in a flock over the sea.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We only paid to park the car, entry to the reserve was free. We walked to the old tuna factory and the visitor centre hoping to find a loo but there isnt one!! We walked miles of sandy path almost completely alone and picnicked in a hide out of the hot sun. Neither of us had seen wild flamingoes before so it was thrilling to watch them feeding in the lagoon and in flight. Also great white egrets little egrets, herons, terns, marsh harrier and stonechat - no black winged stilt. Swam in the sea. Perfect day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank louderthanlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    72
    20
    10
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“not the best time of year but worth a look”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We knew September was not the right time for the migrant birdlife but we thought we would have a look at Eloro beach. Not much in the way of signposting but we found ourselves at the Eloro car park in a grove of trees; a handful of cars, a student collecting a couple of euros for parking, a shack with some food and drink. A stroll down a pathway and a little man asks where we come from for his list - then we are on a shelving strand of beach. maybe 6 or 8 people on the length of the beach, no wildlife to be seen but the clean clear waves lapping gently on the shore invite a wet stroll in the water's edge. An abandoned fishing vessel aground at the southern end; a knot of weed/algae washing into a corner of the beach; a skip across the river outlet and up an improvised wooden stepladder onto the low promontory to see the next beach beyond.
Treetrunks and branches washed onto the rocks and rosemary growing amongst the scrub. A day on the beach or a walk in the wildness - this is a pleasant place to be, seeing migrating birds would be great addition - and I suppose it may not always be so free of human intrusion. However, it was well worth the visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank stanmansurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, lots to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We visited twice and entered from different entrances on each occasion. The entrance for Calamosche has a long, narrow beach and some great walks along the coast line, though the highlight for us was the abandoned tuna factory we've seen so many times on Inspector Moltanbano!!
The northern most entrance is further along the road towards Noto and has a much larger beach, this one is probably better if you want to sunbathe. The sea is shallow and the water is clean, so is great for a swim!
Parking is only 3 euros for the day, which is great when you consider the park stays open until 7.30pm. Both entrances had small huts cafes selling cold drink, ice cream and granite
Definitely recommended for a night break from the heat and bustle of the local town

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“dirty...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went to Calamosche beach and it was dirty...the beach is not one of the best, to mine and our friends' opinion; plastic bottles and the such floating or on shore might be due to the bad weather the day before but still it did not make it inviting at all

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kiddy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent calm beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Please note that there are four entrances (according to maps) and they are quite far from each other, so plan accordingly.

We entered through the "main entrance" (Ingresso principale) - there is one nice long beach with a shallow warm sea nearby, you can also walk to the ruins of "tonnara" (tuna processing factory) nearby and watch birds at a few spots.

If you want to come because of the flamingoes, be aware there are almost no birds in July - we saw only a few common ones from distance. Spring or autumn might be better times to visit.

The beach is very nice however - there is only one in wakling distance (well, depends on your walking skills). It is a narrow long strip of sand next to a nice shallow shelf with very warm water and only small waves. There were very few people there when we visited (weekday afternoon) and we enjoyed having a long part of the beach for ourselves.

The beach is quite clean, but there are some deposited "kiwis" at the edges (seems like balls of plant matter tangled by the sea). The sea was very calm and warm, but it might have some floating sea weed or plant matter in it depending on the wind. We did not mind this, but someone might find it gross.

We parked our car at the parking lot there (it cost 3.50 EUR in July 2013). There is a small "bar" that sells some food and drinks, two showers to wash the salt from your skin when you leave and that's it. From the parking lot, you have to walk about 5-10 minutes to get to the bird lakes and beach. You will pass a small entrance booth, but you don't have to pay anything, they just greet you and may ask for your nationality for statistic purposes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank CZ_gASK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vendicari Nature Reserve also viewed

Portopalo di Capo Passero, Province of Syracuse
 
Noto, Province of Syracuse
Pantelleria, Islands of Sicily
 

Been to Vendicari Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing