We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delicious meal, locally sourced”
Review of Il Vecchio Mulino

Il Vecchio Mulino
Ranked #2 of 481 Restaurants in Sassari
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $34
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Old Mill , an old mill of 1600 recently restored , is a restaurant serving Sardinian regional cuisine following the seasonality criteria , km 0 , organic , Slow Food. It is also a cultural center where we organize events such as exhibitions , book launches , theater , films , concerts.
Reviewed August 23, 2018 via mobile

Hubble and I had a really fabulous meal here - every course was delicious. Locally sourced food, cooked to perfection. The wine cellar is also fabulous, we really enjoyed a red called Rasott from vineyards on the hills behind (the owners cousin).

Right next to a bubbling stream / river, the interior is the converted mill or you can sit at lunchtime outside by the water - lovely. Very quiet when we came (a rainy Thursday).

Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 851elizabethh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 650 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

Tripadvisor has a good review for this place, first time we went for lunch it was closed, second time for dinner we came in too early so again it was close (yeah we should be checking the timings!). Finally, when we went back it was open but we do not have any reservations so they couldn’t accommodate us! So we pleaded that it was our last night in Sardinia and we really want to try it. Little talk here and there and finally they said their first guest is not arriving until 8:30pm and it was only 7pm so we said we eat fast! Finally we were seated but much to my disappointment it was all meat no seafood! I am a pescetarian so I was really bummed! Then I said I will just eat pasta if they can make me a simple pasta without meat. Not only did they make me a pasta but that zucchini cream pasta is the bomb! So tasty, hubby ordered a medium rare steak and said that was the best steak he’d ever had! And oh the place is just soooo cozy!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank jaded1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile

In this shabby town we were happy to find this harmonic oasis.
Great friendly service and guidance to local specialities .
Everything was indeed delicious, the table prepared with top Class oil and aceto, real peppermill and proper salt ( not restaurant salt)
Decently priced local wines .

The meal was a relief and excursion in local specialites served without high nose mumbo jumbo

Highly recommended

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Trippthoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018 via mobile

We turned up late for lunch......... they were just about to close but welcomed us in......a lovely, cool cellar-like restaurant......well cooked Sardinian meat, cheese and vegetable specialities.......would go back without a moment’s hesitation.....

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 921AndrewB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2018

Followed the ratings and got there early and as a solo was ok to get in. Had the antipasti degustation - a treat of half a dozen different things which were all great - the mushrooms, cauliflower, and the small pie were memorable. Followed up with special ravioli with wild boar ragu. Super meal and so stuffed I couldn't manage dessert. Service was great, setting great, and overall a very enjoyable experience washed down with a couple of glasses of local vino bianco.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Grafted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Vecchio Mulino also viewed

Sassari, Province of Sassari
Sassari, Province of Sassari
 
Sassari, Province of Sassari
Sassari, Province of Sassari
 
Sassari, Province of Sassari
Sassari, Province of Sassari
 

Been to Il Vecchio Mulino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing