We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, bad location.”
Review of Hotel Lucrezia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lucrezia
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Oristano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at Hotel Lucrezia, and would consider staying there again if I were to return to Sardinia, but before I selected the hotel I wish I had known:

In all but the biggest cities, Sardinia shuts down from noon to four. You cannot buy lunch and there are no people in the streets. Windows and doors are completely shuttered. It's lonely and it's a good idea to have a lunch plan each day, i.e., bring your own and eat it at the beach or on a hike.

Because of this loneliness, I would be more likely to stay in one of the bigger cities on a return trip. I was suprised at how much I liked Cagliari. Many people we met liked Alghero. Oristano and Bosa lacked charm.

The photographs of the hotel are deceptive. The hotel appears to be in a farm-like setting, indeed, I thought (because of the emphasis on wine) that it was in a vineyard. It's smack in the middle of town, walled off on all sides, but right on the street. Trucks thunder by all day. Most of the rooms are on the ground floor and trucks will thunder by your windows.

The photographs of the courtyard make it appear larger than it is. It's ample, but it's not as generous as it appears.

The hotel allows smoking in common areas, and the smell of smoke permeates throughout the downstairs common areas.

The staff is very knowledgeable, and patient and kind, the rooms are spacious and lovely, and the breakfast is satisfying. For Sardinia, this is a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms, we were shown three. I would recommend the second-floor rooms if they are ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Linda034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 194 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2011

My husband and I spent a long week-end at Lucrezia, we really enjoyed their garden and their kindness in every possible way. From the moment we stepped in we were greeted with a beautiful aperitif which we found every evening before going out for dinner. The location is quite good if you don't mind driving. 10 minutes away from beautiful beaches and some amazeing archeological sites, can't miss Tharros. Can't wait to be back...

Room Tip: I slept in the room Alloro, at first floor, very quiet and with a view on the gerden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank LuisP83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Stayed at the beautiful hotel for two nights and could not have been happier. The hotel is beautiful and has a lovely courtyard full of fig trees, lavender and other delicious smelling plants. When we arrived we were offered a choice of three different rooms all different and with unique characteristics. We choice the meant room which had a huge bathroom and shower. The hotel is filled with antiques and charms and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was great with a lot of choices as well as the aperitif and snacks. I would highly recommend this hotel despite the fact that the town has nothing going on except a decent pizzeria. The town is actually in a very good location and in close proximity to beautiful beaches and tharros the ancient ruins about 20 minutes by car. The hotel is also about an 1 1/2 from Cagliari. 45 minutes from bosa and 2 hours from algheri. So glad we stayed here!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank DancingTraveler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Anna-Maria of the wine resort Azienda Agricola Leda 'd'Ittiri in Alghero recommended this hotel to us & although located in the unimpressive village of Riola Sardo, if we liked it we would stay there in lieu of Oristano. What a great idea as no sooner had we stepped into the garden & were welcomed by a family member, I had fallen in love with the property & having requested a one night stay quickly converted that to 2 nights. Just as well as they were full from that time on for several weeks. A beverage was offered before being shown to our room that contained a huge bed & bathroom, all extremely tastefully furnished with interesting items on & around the walls. Breakfast itself was a delight - a huge variety of breads, meats, cereals, individually brewed choice of coffee, teas, fruit, eggs etc carefully laid out & replenished quickly & efficiently as necessary. Parking was available in the street but appreciated having a small vehicle as adjoining streets are narrow. On both sightseeing days we resolved to use the local bus service into Oristano & found this to be a better option although we did drive to nearby restaurants for dinner. With only 7 rooms I strongly recommend that you book well in advance for your complete stay as you may not be able to extend your visit after arrival.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Radar47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

The Hotel Lucrezia was quite a surprise; behind high red walls a warm welcome and excellent service, a wonderful garden filled with bird song and a lovely breakfast, afternoon tea (Paulo’s cake was the lightest, fluffiest I have ever tasted) and pre dinner drinks. We had the choice of 3 rooms and chose the one leading directly onto the courtyard and next to the suite that contains the millstone (glimpsed through the window). Where else serves snacks, yes plural not just a bowl of peanuts, and cake and biscuits when you order a drink or a pot of tea? Claudia obliged with preparing early morning coffee (with hot milk) before breakfast and both her and Paulo were helpful and charming throughout our stay. Unfortunately they don't serve meals but will recommend and book in surrounding areas. It is a great place to explore the West Coast of Sardinia: Tharros, Bosa, Alghero and Nuraghic sites galore not to mention the wonderful scenery – coasts and mountains – and the wonderful wild flowers and bird life. Yes the village hasn’t much to offer but it’s worth a walk around stoping to have a look at the church and sit at a side walk café and enjoy the most divine ice cream. Highly recommended particularly if you have your own transport and intend to explore. The room was delightful, individual and made you feel like you were in Sardinia, good size bathroom with a really great shower. The only downside was a rather hard bed that rocked rather like a mini earthquake when one turned over in the night.

Room Tip: One leading directly onto the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank LordandLadyPenelope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

I stayed just one night but I expected more. The house is not bad at all but it has nothing really special to deserve the very good opinions I had read (not even breakfast...). It is located in a very small and not nice at all village. Much more attractive places to stay in Sardinia at better prices.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IPBURGOA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

The Lucrezia is totally charming This is an old family house that has been turned into a hotel with so much personality and in perfect taste. Paolo, the grandson who runs it, could not be more welcoming and helpful.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
12  Thank citysparrow4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oristano
6.9 mi away
Hotel Regina d'Arborea
Hotel Regina d'Arborea
#1 of 14 in Oristano
117 reviews
4.9 mi away
Casa Pisanu
Casa Pisanu
#8 of 14 in Oristano
54 reviews
3.8 mi away
Is Arenas Resort
Is Arenas Resort
#1 of 1 in Narbolia
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Villa delle Rose
Hotel Villa delle Rose
#4 of 14 in Oristano
141 reviews
6.9 mi away
Mariano IV palace hotel
Mariano IV palace hotel
#5 of 14 in Oristano
204 reviews
4.5 mi away
Aquae Sinis Albergo Diffuso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lucrezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucrezia

Address: Via Roma 14/a | Riola Sardo, 09070, Oristano, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Oristano > Oristano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Oristano
Price Range: $159 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lucrezia 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a historical house in the heart of the village of Riola Sardo, a few miles away from the West Coast. Inside, the hotel kept the atmosphere of old times, when all the activities connected with field labor were performed in the house. The seven double rooms are furnished with unique hand made pieces of the late 1800's. Each room has a private bathroom, internet connection, mini-bar, Tv, air conditioning, safe box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lucrezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucrezia Hotel Oristano
Hotel Lucrezia Oristano, Sardinia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing