We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ollastu Residence
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Olbia
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed for on week and we enjoy it a lot!we loved the food,the half board was perfect,4courses with for each of them a choice between 2 sea/fish based dishes and one meat. our room was pretty nice, brightly colored of yellow,with a great view. We did also a boat tour in the close islands, there are such a nice places in that piece of sea and coast. A place in the smaller island,named Molara, if I remember well, where the colour of the water was amazing!a nice and surprising holiday

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stebrofaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ollastu, Front Office Assistant, Daniela Sanna at Hotel Ollastu Residence, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind review.

it was appreciate to read about good food, room and places around.
we hope to welcome you back in the future,

Daniela Sanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 223 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Criticism first. We were confirmed a shuttle from the airport and were told on arrival that the actual cost was 40 euro. Upon arrival, the receptionist was not very helpful with our luggage and two babies. Rooms very price but high season. We initially were given a restaurant table outside the main restaurant but since we were alone there we asked to be on the main terras. This took a few days and only as the owner got involved we were given a seat at the main terrace.

We discussed our dissatisfaction with the management and they did all they could to make our stay a good one. Daniela at the reception, Laura in the restaurants and the whole restaurant team were very helpful and professional. Housekeeping is very good and rooms very clean. Half board is excellent value for money and the food is really good.

A great place for both families with children as well as couples.

One final but.... Staff seems to be trained in squeezing the last euro out of their guests. Nespresso cappuccino at breakfast should be free. When suggesting a whine one should not suggest the lost expensive wine. Chairs at the beach are overpriced and the manager makes up the prices as he wishes and prefers without bills and cash payments...

All in all a great place but room for improvement !

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lexet_frankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Really enjoyed staying at this hotel even if only for 1 night. check-in is possible as of noon, which was perfect for us, even if this means check-out before 11am. The rooms can be far from the entrance but they take your luggage to the rooom. Room was spacious, with a great view on the sea, a/c and a very nice terrace. Bedding not super comfortable, we could feel the springs in the mattress. Staff was helpful. The hotel offers bikes to go to the beach, and a mini van service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tersparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ollastu, Daniela Sanna, Front Office Assistant at Hotel Ollastu Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We hope to see you soon.

Best regards

Daniela Sanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a fine hotel in a beautiful location, but our family visit for three nights was seriously marred by the hotel management disputing that our second night's evening meal was chargeable at the very high regular price rather than the rate agreed the previous evening by the front desk manager who clearly confirmed that this second dinner would be at the same preferential rate offered when booking in May as the first night's price. I asked him twice and he confirmed that the same rate would apply. Could not have been clearer!
Unfortunately after the meal, the hotel insisted no such deal had been agreed, proceeded to charge full price AND charge my credit card without my approval. Their attitude spoilt what should have been a relaxing Summer break. Instead the hotel continued to deny what had been agreed and having taken the money for the meal, knew that they had the upper hand (wrongly and incorrectly). No apologies were offered. The customer was wrong!
A poor reflection on how this hotel is managed and treat their paying customers.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a sea-view! The hedging blocks the view. Air con not the quietest either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PJL62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have just returned from a 9 day stay at this beautiful Hotel (half-board). It looks exactly as it is advertised on the website, clean and fresh looking. When we arrived the hotel was quiet so we a had a good few days of peaceful tranquillity. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was amazing, we had 4 course meals every night which were cooked to perfection. There was a choice of 3 dishes for every course and all presented as if they were cooked by professional chefs, dishes included Angler fish, Octopus, Skate, mussels etc, small portions but very filling. Most of the menu was seafood choices with the occasional meat dish but they were flexible with the children. The Sardinian wine was also lovely. The pool area was all grass which was great considering everything outside the hotel was dry as a bone due to the heat. The beach is a 20 minute walk, or the hotel will drive you down for free, I wouldn't recommend the hotel beach as it was very crowded and you had to pay for the umbrellas, if you walk further round along the cliff tops there are lots of private beaches and coves which are great for snorkelling and are out of the way of the crowds, but lounging around the hotel pool was good enough if you didn't fancy the beach. Unfortunately we decided not to hire a car in the end but would recommend one because most places were a good drive away if you don't want to attempt the public transport. We managed to hire a boat for 130 euros + fuel for the day and sail around the islands, drop the anchor and do a bit of snorkelling in the sea which was brilliant, the hotel will arrange the boat hire so you don't have to worry about that.
All in all it was a great holiday if you want to escape the rat race, great for families and couples alike. It was a classy hotel so if you want loud music and bars everywhere this is not the place for you! The only niggle I would say is that the drinks are very expensive, water is 3.50 euros for a bottle and when you have 2 children it can become very expensive so we bought our water from the supermarket and kept it in the minifridge in the rooms, which were air conditioned at no charge, and you will want air con if you go in August because its baking hot! Oh and the breakfast buffet was amazing!

Room Tip: We didn't pay extra for a sea view and our room was just fine, save your money for the wine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SarahP235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ollastu, Front Office Assistant, Daniela Sanna at Hotel Ollastu Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you to share your experience about your stay at the Hotel Ollastu.

We hope to see you again at Hotel Ollastu.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have been looking for a hotel in the Porto San Paolo area and I was lucky to find the Ollastu Hotel. I am lucky because there are not too many hotels in the specific area I was looking at and also because to make reservations that really fit our needs can be pretty tedious at times. I want to thank Mr. Carlo for making the reservation process very pleasant and fast. Everytime I emailed the hotel with a question, Mr. Carlo would reply right away and straight to the point. I am very excited about my visit to Sardinia and I am looking forward to staying at the Ollastu.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Indrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ollastu, Front Office assistant, Daniela Sanna at Hotel Ollastu Residence, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest ,
thank you for taking the time to write your experience.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
kind regards

Daniela Sanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have just returned from an incredible 7 night stay at Hotel Ollastu. The hotel is in traditional Sardinian style, and is family run. This gives the hotel a wonderful, intimate and peaceful feeling in comparison to some other larger hotels on the island. The food is out of this world - we ate in town several times and whilst good it didn't compare to the food at the hotel which my husband describes as being 'Michelin standard'! The hotel is conveniently located close to two small towns 5 mins drive away and though the airport can neither been seen nor heard from anywhere in the area it is only 10 mins drive away. It's 1 hour drive to Porto Cervo which is a nice trip to do in the day. The views from pretty much all areas of the hotel are amazing and overlook the island of Tavorla. The rooms are lovely, in traditional style with each room individually decorated but with totally modern wet-room style showers. The hotel beach is beautiful and quiet, with crystal clear sea. And there are some larger beaches in the area that are equally stunning and the hotel will transfer you to them for a small fee. The pools and sun loungers are also to a really high standard and always kept spotless. In fact, during the week we were always seeing the hotel staff at work, gardening, cleaning, painting, generally keeping up the maintenance at all times. The hotel hosted our wedding as mentioned in the below reviews. However, I would like to say that our wedding was unusual for a wedding abroad. I know there was a wedding earlier in the week and it seemed a small party and we barely noticed them. Our wedding included 70 people and so I would say this is quite unusual and made the hotel louder than usual. I've visited the hotel twice before our wedding and both times the hotel was peaceful, with few guests - the perfect place to relax. They staff here deserve all the credit we can give them, not only for an exceptional hotel with great food and wine but for their service throughout the week and the wedding itself. They are always helpful, always smiling and willing to go that extra mile with any requests. One example is the wedding cake that the wonderful chef Elena made..I was expecting 3 tiers and she brought out a 5 tier masterpiece that blew me away! Worth noting as well that next year the hotel will be opening a spa and wellness centre - I'll be booking again in time for that!

Room Tip: The best rooms are the luxury ones set high up with sea views. The luxury one near the tennis court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olbia
5.8 mi away
Jazz Hotel
Jazz Hotel
#3 of 40 in Olbia
1,042 reviews
5 mi away
Hotel Stefania Boutique Hotel by the Beach
6.7 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 40 in Olbia
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Cala Cuncheddi
Hotel Cala Cuncheddi
#8 of 40 in Olbia
312 reviews
71.8 mi away
Villa Las Tronas Hotel  & Spa
5.2 mi away
The Pelican Beach Resort & Spa - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ollastu Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ollastu Residence

Address: Loc. Costa Corallina, 07026, Olbia, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Olbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Olbia
#11 Family Hotel in Olbia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Olbia
#16 Romantic Hotel in Olbia
Price Range: $146 - $637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ollastu Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice resort with panoramic view on the magic Tavolara Island, two gourmet restaurants, gardens and realx areas, two pools and two heated jacuzzis, event area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Ollastu Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ollastu Residence Hotel
Hotel Ollastu Residence Olbia, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing