We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ollastu Residence
Nearby Hotels
Jazz Hotel(Olbia)
$115
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Speraesole(Olbia)(Great Value!)
$90
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$254
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$246
$130
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Daniel(Olbia)(Great Value!)
$61
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$428
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$104
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
120
59
28
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
59
28
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel beachfine hotelisland restaurantlittle touchesquiet atmospherewedding cakesmall carset menusmall bottle of watertavolara islandmain restaurantcakesstandard roomsun loungerselenaeurossardinia
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 225 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a fine hotel in a beautiful location, but our family visit for three nights was seriously marred by the hotel management disputing that our second night's evening meal was chargeable at the very high regular price rather than the rate agreed the previous evening by the front desk manager who clearly confirmed that this second dinner would be at the same preferential rate offered when booking in May as the first night's price. I asked him twice and he confirmed that the same rate would apply. Could not have been clearer!
Unfortunately after the meal, the hotel insisted no such deal had been agreed, proceeded to charge full price AND charge my credit card without my approval. Their attitude spoilt what should have been a relaxing Summer break. Instead the hotel continued to deny what had been agreed and having taken the money for the meal, knew that they had the upper hand (wrongly and incorrectly). No apologies were offered. The customer was wrong!
A poor reflection on how this hotel is managed and treat their paying customers.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a sea-view! The hedging blocks the view. Air con not the quietest either.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PJL62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have just returned from a 9 day stay at this beautiful Hotel (half-board). It looks exactly as it is advertised on the website, clean and fresh looking. When we arrived the hotel was quiet so we a had a good few days of peaceful tranquillity. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was amazing, we had 4 course meals every night which were cooked to perfection. There was a choice of 3 dishes for every course and all presented as if they were cooked by professional chefs, dishes included Angler fish, Octopus, Skate, mussels etc, small portions but very filling. Most of the menu was seafood choices with the occasional meat dish but they were flexible with the children. The Sardinian wine was also lovely. The pool area was all grass which was great considering everything outside the hotel was dry as a bone due to the heat. The beach is a 20 minute walk, or the hotel will drive you down for free, I wouldn't recommend the hotel beach as it was very crowded and you had to pay for the umbrellas, if you walk further round along the cliff tops there are lots of private beaches and coves which are great for snorkelling and are out of the way of the crowds, but lounging around the hotel pool was good enough if you didn't fancy the beach. Unfortunately we decided not to hire a car in the end but would recommend one because most places were a good drive away if you don't want to attempt the public transport. We managed to hire a boat for 130 euros + fuel for the day and sail around the islands, drop the anchor and do a bit of snorkelling in the sea which was brilliant, the hotel will arrange the boat hire so you don't have to worry about that.
All in all it was a great holiday if you want to escape the rat race, great for families and couples alike. It was a classy hotel so if you want loud music and bars everywhere this is not the place for you! The only niggle I would say is that the drinks are very expensive, water is 3.50 euros for a bottle and when you have 2 children it can become very expensive so we bought our water from the supermarket and kept it in the minifridge in the rooms, which were air conditioned at no charge, and you will want air con if you go in August because its baking hot! Oh and the breakfast buffet was amazing!

Room Tip: We didn't pay extra for a sea view and our room was just fine, save your money for the wine!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SarahP235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ollastu, Front Office Assistant, Daniela Sanna at Hotel Ollastu Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you to share your experience about your stay at the Hotel Ollastu.

We hope to see you again at Hotel Ollastu.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have been looking for a hotel in the Porto San Paolo area and I was lucky to find the Ollastu Hotel. I am lucky because there are not too many hotels in the specific area I was looking at and also because to make reservations that really fit our needs can be pretty tedious at times. I want to thank Mr. Carlo for making the reservation process very pleasant and fast. Everytime I emailed the hotel with a question, Mr. Carlo would reply right away and straight to the point. I am very excited about my visit to Sardinia and I am looking forward to staying at the Ollastu.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Indrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ollastu, Front Office assistant, Daniela Sanna at Hotel Ollastu Residence, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest ,
thank you for taking the time to write your experience.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
kind regards

Daniela Sanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have just returned from an incredible 7 night stay at Hotel Ollastu. The hotel is in traditional Sardinian style, and is family run. This gives the hotel a wonderful, intimate and peaceful feeling in comparison to some other larger hotels on the island. The food is out of this world - we ate in town several times and whilst good it didn't compare to the food at the hotel which my husband describes as being 'Michelin standard'! The hotel is conveniently located close to two small towns 5 mins drive away and though the airport can neither been seen nor heard from anywhere in the area it is only 10 mins drive away. It's 1 hour drive to Porto Cervo which is a nice trip to do in the day. The views from pretty much all areas of the hotel are amazing and overlook the island of Tavorla. The rooms are lovely, in traditional style with each room individually decorated but with totally modern wet-room style showers. The hotel beach is beautiful and quiet, with crystal clear sea. And there are some larger beaches in the area that are equally stunning and the hotel will transfer you to them for a small fee. The pools and sun loungers are also to a really high standard and always kept spotless. In fact, during the week we were always seeing the hotel staff at work, gardening, cleaning, painting, generally keeping up the maintenance at all times. The hotel hosted our wedding as mentioned in the below reviews. However, I would like to say that our wedding was unusual for a wedding abroad. I know there was a wedding earlier in the week and it seemed a small party and we barely noticed them. Our wedding included 70 people and so I would say this is quite unusual and made the hotel louder than usual. I've visited the hotel twice before our wedding and both times the hotel was peaceful, with few guests - the perfect place to relax. They staff here deserve all the credit we can give them, not only for an exceptional hotel with great food and wine but for their service throughout the week and the wedding itself. They are always helpful, always smiling and willing to go that extra mile with any requests. One example is the wedding cake that the wonderful chef Elena made..I was expecting 3 tiers and she brought out a 5 tier masterpiece that blew me away! Worth noting as well that next year the hotel will be opening a spa and wellness centre - I'll be booking again in time for that!

Room Tip: The best rooms are the luxury ones set high up with sea views. The luxury one near the tennis court has the best bathroom - it's huge!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

As with Hershamboy, we booked with Voyages Prive/Sardaturs but we were lucky and avoided the weddings which were on the day before we arrived and the day after we left! It is a popular wedding hotel and it would be wise to check with the hotel in advance before confirming your holiday, after all wedding reservations will be made well in advance of most people's booking times. UK booking agents would not be aware of wedding dates.

This hotel ticks all the boxes for a relaxing holiday in my opinion. 15 mins from the airport and not on the flightpath, 2 pools with plenty of sun beds and shady areas to relax in, family owned and run with the owners and their son constantly present, personal and friendly service from all staff, spacious rooms all with veranda/sunbeds/tables & chairs, terrific views of azure sea and the island of Tavolara from many rooms and public areas, free WiFi in the rooms and excellent dining options whether on half board or a la carte. An example of their helpfulness was their willingness to reschedule their Sardinian Evening which they were not planning to do on our week.

Car hire collection at Olbia Airport was indeed chaotic but only for Europa Hire Co. We got a bargain rate with Avis by booking car hire with Sardaturs as well as an unsolicited upgrade.

Extras are pricey - E4.50 for a coke at poolside, cheapest wine E30, 75cl mineral water E3.50 etc.

In summary - a great smallish hotel for holidayers not looking for large chain mega-resorts, in an area of beauty without hordes of tourists.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room, they are similar in size to standard rooms but have a bigger veranda with view and let much more light into the room
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom_Traveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews