We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, centrally located hotel with very helpful staff”
Review of Hotel De Plam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel De Plam
Ranked #61 of 76 Olbia B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 18, 2009

We managed to book this hotel at a reasonable rate, £51.00 a night and that's about how much it's worth.
We arrived about three hours before the stated check-in time, but this wasn't a problem and we were able to go to our room immediately. The concierge asked us straight away if we wanted a room facing the back of the hotel or one with sea view, pointing out that the back of the hotel faced other buildings and that the sea view comes with noise from the main road that passes just outside. We chose the sea view and although you do notice the traffic noise, the nice view of the bay makes up for it.
The room and the bathroom were a nice size and spotless, although the decor and furniture needs updating to justify the price they are normally charging.
Although the staff were all very helpful and spoke English, don't trust their local knowledge. It was scatty.
The hotel has a terrace just outside the entrance with a nice little seating area.
The hotel is centrally located with a five minutes walk to the centre of town, where there are plenty of cafe's and restaurants. There's also a supermarket nearby.
The most positive aspect of the hotel was the cleanliness, the least positive the noise from the road outside

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank namalzir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Hotel De Plam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 188 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2007

The De Plam hotel may be next to a road... it is also next to the heart of Olbia. It may be a 3 star... but it has welcoming staff (who have a better grasp of English than I do Italian) and reception; and immaculate clean rooms with a great shower. Breakfasts are basic yes but not unpleasant. The road the hotel overlooks is busy yes, but it is hardly a motorway and there is also a lovely harbour to see from the window.

The hotel restaurant is not the best in town, but there are some very *very* good places to eat in town. It is however, a good place for Italian/Sardinian food at great prices. I would recommend this hotel as the base for a holiday in northern Sardinia. You will need a car to see all of Sardinia though, yet I would absolutely recommend the De Plam as a sound central base.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank facemunkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2006

First night of holiday and initially the hotel seems fine apart from getting a room that over looks the motor way. Not a problem with the aircon and windows closed. A big problem when they decide every night to shut the air con off from 1am until 6am, in the height of summer. Managed to get moved at 3am, after alot of complaining, to another room where I could open a window. Not the most relaxing of starts.
In the morning there was no apoligies, they told me it was only for a short time, and it had to be switched off as the system could not handle being on all day and night. Managed to get a small very small discount, but still got charged for water we had to drink because of the suffocating heat in the room.
Would not recommend very rude and not 3 star.... Go to a hotel in the old town.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2006

The staff were very helpful, we found in general that the people in Olbia spoke little or no english, however there were several receptionist during our stay at the De Plam and they all spoke and understood acceptable English.

The hotel was kept very clean and the remaining staff were polite and helpful. The front of the hotel does face onto a busy highway which can, at times be noisy, that said the view from the rooms at the front more than compensates for this. The breakfast offered is basic and not on the same level as other European destinations, it is croissants, ceral, bread rolls and sweet biscuits with butter, jams and cream cheese. Fruit juices, tea and coffee are also available.

The De Plam is about 2 minutes walk from the town itself so not too far to go. We hired a car and another great plus is that it has its own underground car park, which is a blessing as parking can be a nightmare and have you seen the way the italians drive!! . When you stay at the De Plam remember it is a three star hotel but in our opinion it was great value for money

Stayed: May 2006
2  Thank Nikkipen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2005

Having decided on a wimp to go to Corsica via Olbia, I only have myself to blame for this hotel and location. I would have been better off sleeping on a bench at the airport. The Hotel is located on what can only be called the nosiest location in Olbia right on a motorway under construction. The staff was not helpful so if you are trying to find out when the next bus or train leaves Olbia - make sure you bring it with you. For the price it was too expenses and you can probable get a better deal in a much better location than this one - All in all I will not be returning to Olbia :-(

12  Thank jokereke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank SullivanRb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reginagassner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Olbia hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Demar
Hotel Demar
#15 of 40 in Olbia
213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colonna Palace Hotel Mediterraneo
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#23 of 40 in Olbia
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Maxim
Hotel Maxim
#28 of 40 in Olbia
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel For You
Hotel For You
#7 of 40 in Olbia
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cavour
Hotel Cavour
#21 of 40 in Olbia
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Plam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Plam

Address: Via De' Filippi 51, 07026, Olbia, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Olbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Olbia
Price Range: $64 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Plam 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De Plam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Plam Olbia, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing