We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Hotel Abbaruja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Abbaruja
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Olbia
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

It's a very nice hotel, only 10 min walking from the beautiful beach of Pittulongu. There are only two negative things to say:
- the Wi-Fi is not broad- but narrow-band;
- it's hard to find a good restaurant nearby as everything around is expensive in price and cheap in quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vorname N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    52
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
114
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karise, Denmark
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We - a Danish senior couple - stayed here mid August for 4 nights. This was such a nice little hotel in a family like atmosphere with care for the guests and their comfort. Roberto is great and the cleaning staff does such a nice job. Every day. Remember to give them a tip !!!! They deserve it.
We had a room with acces to the garden, which was nice, but there are first floor rooms with a balcony as well.
The beds are fine and the linen changed on a daily basis. Cleanliness is perfect.
Only a few minutes walk to Pittulongu beach where you also can find 3 good restaurants. Mama Beach is a nice place ad have good food. The third one, is a fish restaurant only, and the serve very good fish dishes.
We can only recommend this hotel and agree on the review below with all the good and practical information given there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlimut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights end of August. Originally booked for September but due to job commitments had to change dates. Wonderful Sara so helpful, rescheduled with no fuss. Family run hotel, 15 min drive from the airport,private taxi cost 35euros each way. If budgeting then bus no 2 or 10 from airport to Olbia town, then bus no 4 to the hotel. Ask the driver where to get off, 2 min walk to the hotel. All bus fares 1.50 euro per journey. Self contained double room situated on the ground floor amongst the gardens. Felt very safe as windows with grilles and double doors for security. Hair dryer supplied, Air condition that worked beautifully, very comfortable bed. Linen changed everyday and rooms cleaned impeccably, full marks to the chambermaids. Breakfast served Continental style, coffee & tea of your choice, served as requested. Free wifi in reception as well as in the communal room. Thanks to the wonderful Roberto for his guidance, always smiling and very helpful. Our Italian was limited but Roberto & Sara so eager to help, talking to us in english.
Beach about 5 min walk, white sand & crystal clear water. If you need umbrellas for the beach, hotel quite happy for you to borrow theirs. Couple of cafes on the beach with reasonable prices. Couple of restaurants down the road from the hotel as well as a little supermarket. Larger supermarket called Dettori, 10 min bus ride away. All in all a relaxing & quiet place, will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is located in Pittulongu, which is about 15 minutes outside of Olbia centre. It is a short walk away from Pittulongu beaches. The rooms at the hotel are good sized, and comfortable, with nice bathroom. The owners are great people, very helpful and kind. Though we spoke little italian, they were able to give us advice about various things in English. Roberto made perfect capuccinos, and this accompanied an adequate typically italian breakfast which was usually full of lovely Sardinian pastries and sweet treats. The decor is very traditional and homely, and the garden is well looked after. The rooms were air-conditioned - a needed comfort in summer. On one occasion the air-conditioner appeared to be leaking, and though after 10pm, the owner (the lovely Signore) got his ladder out, and quickly resolved the apparent blockage. The AC worked well that night and we had no cause to be concerned after that. Very resourceful!

Though this hotel is near to the beaches in Pittulongu, in August it is extremely difficult to get a spot on the crowded stretch of sand. The beaches throughout Sardinia are packed with vacationing Italians. The area of Pittulongu has a few restuarants, which are moderately costly. Other than this there is little else to do in this quite residential area. We rented a car when we realised this, and spent most of our time exploring the north-eastern coast and the archipelago.

Probably best not to go in August if you want to feel peaceful at the beach, otherwise, a wonderful place and beautiful environment. This hotel was a great base. The owners are beautiful people, and extremely helpful. They treated their guests like family and friends, and were honest and hardworking. The rooms were thoroughly cleaned and tidied daily. A lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Though we had a room on the ground floor, I imagine the rooms on the second floor would offer lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonTiamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

A beautiful little family run friendly hotel .Kind and attentive staff. Spotlessly clean. Beautiful gardens and a two minute stroll to a beach that will take your breath away .The cleanest, cheapest, air conditioned and easiest to use bus service will take you to Olbia city in ten minutes. Close to the hotel are fantastic small restaurants both by the beach and within the location of Pittulongu itself. Try, Mareturismo and il Tetto Rosso fantastic food.I would highly recommend this hotel and location to anyone wishing to experience a little taste of Sardinia. Great time to visit May, June and September....July and August fantastic but very very hot...sea still warm in September. Go on! You know you want to! Diverti !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank George1207_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Hotel Abbaruja is exactly what I look for in holiday accommodation. The layout of the rooms in the hotel is excellent and gives the sense of staying in your own private apartment. It is surrounded with beautiful flowers and trees and has a lovely view of the sea in front and mountains behind. The main feature of the hotel is definitely its staff. Wonderfully accommodating people are happy to assure that your stay is more than comfortable. It is a very well-situated hotel, within walking distance of a local shop, many restaurants and a few bars. Be wary of other hotels though, as they charge extortionately for outside guests to have dinner. The beach is a two minute walk away, and just as a beach should be with white sand and crystal clear water. There is also a little bar on the beach which also rents out pedalos, parasols and gives you the opportunity to have lessons in windsurfing. The area itself is not built upon tourism and is the perfect island getaway, ideal for relaxing. For us, the hotel was our cherry on top and we would love to go back and would most certainly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very nice clean and friendly hotel at great price
I booked this hotel on the reason that it is close to the Olbia airport and affordable, my wife and I thus accommodated the hotel upon arrival Sardinia and the night before leaving after a 14 day Sardinia roundtrip by rental car. Comfort and hospitality was thus not on our mind, as this should just only be a two night sleep over. However, the pleasant hosts, clean rooms and great breakfast, and surrounding garden with secure parking available under the trees, we regret that we didn't planed to stay there for more days. The front yard of the hotel is a very nice place to relax.
There are at least two very good restaurants in walking distance from the hotel. The beach is not very far from the hotel and it fabulous with crystal clear water. There it is nice to be lying reading a book or just look at the cruise and ferry traffic to Olbia harbour.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trolvag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Olbia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stefania Boutique Hotel by the Beach
3.7 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 40 in Olbia
698 reviews
3.7 mi away
Jazz Hotel
Jazz Hotel
#2 of 40 in Olbia
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mare Blue
Hotel Mare Blue
#10 of 40 in Olbia
152 reviews
3.7 mi away
Speraesole
Speraesole
#14 of 40 in Olbia
541 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pelican Beach Resort & Spa - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abbaruja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbaruja

Property: Hotel Abbaruja
Address: Via Sa Minda Longa 1 | Località Pittulongu, 07026, Olbia, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Olbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Olbia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Olbia
#4 Family Hotel in Olbia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Olbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abbaruja 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Abbaruja is surrounded by well-kept grounds, only 500 ft from a beautiful, white-sandy beach, 5 miles outside Olbia. It offers air conditioned, rooms with bathroom, air conditioning, satellite TV, fridge, safes. Breakfast is buffet style and includes sweet and savory food, espresso or brewed coffee, cappuccino, milk, hot chocolate and 7 different tea blends. Just 650 ft from Hotel Abbaruja you can seven restaurants and pizzerias, a grocery store. Other shops and ice cream parlor are half a mile away, while a large shopping center is easily reached by the number 4 bus. The Abbaruja Hotel is close to many popular tourist destinations, including Porto Rotondo, 9 miles away, and Porto Cervo, 16 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Abbaruja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbaruja Hotel Olbia
Hotel Abbaruja Olbia, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing