We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RE: Gambero just the name”

Trattoria "Il Gambero"
Reserve with
Trattoria "Il Gambero" is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 298 Restaurants in Olbia
Price range: $22 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“RE: Gambero just the name”
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

When I came in this restaurant with the name "Gambero" we'd expected to find a huge variety of dish with crayfish and seafood and fish, but that's not what we'd found just a little amount of dish we were expecting to find and tha ones that we took were not tasty, mine crevettes were like that ones that I see everyday in da supermarkt little and nothing of fresh, not even the taste... My love even didn't ate nothing! Blah! Just the antipasti was eatable.
How you can call a thing with a name that doesn't match?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtemPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimoeRoberta D, Proprietario at Trattoria "Il Gambero", responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear customer we call IL Gambero restaurant over 40 year but this not mean that our menù should be exclusively of fish,however it is for 80%.From a year now we have decided to eliminate expensive dishes while taking the high quality getting very good results since the value of wich she does not speak.Outside the restaurant is exposed to the menù that lets you decide whether to be our guests we are sorry not to have satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    217
    63
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Hero, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Best in Olbia”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

If you love fabulous food and a friendly atmosphere, you will love Il Gambero. My husband and I have been in town for 4 days studying at an Italian language school. We have tried several restaurants for lunch and for dinner. Il Gambero is the best! The food is typically Sardenian; fresh and delicious, local seafood. The waitstaff is friendly and accomodating...as well as calm at all times. Not only do we love the food, but we love watching the families interact and enjoy the delicious food. Thumbs up for Il Gambero!

Helpful?
Thank Windy5944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Food is Ok, waiting time is "forever".....”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I had a chance to eat at this restaurant twice. Food is Ok, The fish wasn't that fresh, it had a smell.
There is only two servers and be prepared to wait at least one hour before your food arrives.
The owner of this place should add at least another server, especially during busy hours.
Olbia is a run down place, it looks like a third world country. People are rude in general and most of them don't speak English. They are so proud of Italian language and if you talk in English, most of them will treat you like crap. Tourists go to Sardinia for the beaches, but the locals are rude. They always treat Italian tourists better than others. Next year i am going to Greece where the people are a lot nicer than in Italy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Dori V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Try it”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Having followed reviews, we went here.
Well, it was very good.
Waiter was veery nice, but it took some time to get our dishes. Well, it worth waiting! I especially advice you to try typical Sardinian dish and dessert!
Yep, there was also a veeeery good white wine!
Try it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank STr1t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot in London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our favourite”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We ate here 3 times during our stay in the area. The menu is not overly long but makes up for this with the quality of the dishes and the excellent prices. The seafood was always fresh and the antipasti and desserts were lovely. The service was also very friendly. A good mix of locals and tourists. Would highly recommend.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank YoungExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria "Il Gambero" also viewed

Olbia, Province of Olbia-Tempio
Olbia, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 
Olbia, Province of Olbia-Tempio
Olbia, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 
Olbia, Province of Olbia-Tempio
Olbia, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 

Been to Trattoria "Il Gambero"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing