We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MTV ruins romantic meal out.”
Review of Hermaea Restaurant - CLOSED

Hermaea Restaurant
Price range: $29 - $59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“MTV ruins romantic meal out.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

On the last evening (tonight), we went for a meal in the 'gourmet' restaurant on site. It opens at 7:30pm and we walked in and thought (ooh looks lovely) until they turned the televisions on and pumped out MTV music with semi naked women convorting and pumping away to rap music.
The other patrons were over 40 years old and didn't appreciate it either.
The food was just OK - it filled a hole. 30 euros for 2 pizzas, 2 tiramisu, 2 cokes and 1 water - so not bad.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James_and_Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    14
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Expensive and a bit confused - weird ambience”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We decided to go here on our first night's stay in the Mercure Hotel, as we were quite tired and hungry, but didn't want to risk eating a rubbish pizza elsewhere.
I'd have thought that the restaurant would have been in the large "lower deck" of the hotel on the beautiful mosaic floor, but it wasn't.
It's tucked away to the side of this, in a very strange brightly lit room.

The restaurant itself seems very very confused to me.
The lighting is such a contrast to what you walk through the hotel from. It's brightly lit with loads of neon glass with water bubbling through it. There's huge TV's in each corner, dominating the room showing MTV. When there's a massive TV in the room, you can't help but watch it, and we didn't like that.
The service seemed reasonably attentive, but did seem pretty stuffy (filleting fish at the table etc) and geared more towards the 5 course fine dining experience.

I'm not especially into "fine dining" but do enjoy quality food and good restaurants, and have visited many in London.
This restaurant is trying to be a fine dining experience, with a modern twist, but it genuinely just comes across as reallt confused. The ambience is all wrong for me - It reminded me of an upmarket curry house in Bradford - Over the top lighting an massive TV's, and everything decorated in white.

The Italian way is to eat many courses and make a big deal of things.. Lots of the restaurants in Sardegna are like that, but it's just something that we don't do in Britain as such, and so we often opt for a pizza, a beer and an espresso, which we did in this case.
The price of the pizza was reasonable (€6-€10) but I thought that price of the mineral water was pretty ridiculous €4-€5 for a bottle of water and €5 for a beer from memory.

The pizza itself was fantastic (apologies for the photo of the half eaten pizza, but we just got stuck in!) You could tell that the quality of ingredients was good - also there was buffalo Mozzarella on it, and not just a mass of cheese all over the pizza like many others we'd had in Sardinia.
This was one of the best quality pizza's we'd had on our holiday, and the closest to Neapolitan pizza I'd tried here.

All in all, it's good pizza but they should turn down the lights as it's super cheesy in there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdotpasq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good quality service and excellent food”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We dined here during our stay at the hotel, the food is of a very high standards as is the service. Good menu to keep children and parents happy and quality Sardinian wine too. Thoroughly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sophylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spalding
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Modern dining”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were staying at the Mercure Hermaea Hotel and decided to eat at the restaurant one evening instead of heading into town and were not disappointed. The setting is very modern, the service is very professional, friendly and efficient. The menu included a good range of food of excellent quality, imaginatively prepared and presented. We enjoyed the whole experience. A high class dining experience in a modern setting. If you want to eat simply, there is also a range of pizza at very reasonable cost, although we did not sample these so can't comment on these.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeccu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had dinner and wine at the restaurant and the food was excellent for the price and the service was outstanding.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank EUROPEEXPERT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermaea Restaurant also viewed

Pittulongu, Olbia
 
Olbia, Province of Olbia-Tempio
Olbia, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 
Olbia, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing