We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay ; great staff , but location a let down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Olbia
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Olbia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good stay ; great staff , but location a let down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stay here with my wife this summer and dont really write reviews on hotels but I thought it right after my stay this summer. The location is in the middle of nowhere but close to airport. The room was nice to my taste, carpet, modern etc. the pool area again good, but why I am writing this review was because of the staff. I am lucky enough I've been on a few hoildays and stayed at great hotels worldwide but I must say the staff were the best I ever met especially the barman. I so bad I forgot his name but he was the bar manager at the time and he was simply great. Recommended food, drink we had chats and just a great man. I remember he also lived in London before and was so proud of Sardinia. The check in staff were great as well. It's just a shame of the location but I would stay again for a couple of days. Overall good hotel great staff (and food I thought) , good atmosphere and the best barman I met. Well done mate

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandeep654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona C, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Olbia, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

Our staff live up to high expectations are we are glad that our guests can see the pride we take in our hotel and our work. See you soon again in Olbia!

Kind regards.
Doiubletree by Hilton Olbia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    274
    56
    23
    13
See reviews for
79
300
22
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Offers a good branded option when in Olbia - the rooms are excellent. If there out of season the service suffers as clearly staff are stretched and at base levels . Is not really walking distance to the main town so is quite isolated but is only 10 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djenk_moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Olbia, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate all feedback on our hotel. The surrounding area is part of an interesting future development project. We hope to see you back once it is completed.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

It feels like the sort of place that has been built in anticipation of other developments which have yet to materialise. It's virtually surrounded by a labyrinth of roads and waste ground that leave you slightly concerned at night as to what might be lurking out there.

Once inside the hotel it's a bright and airy modern hotel, I was treated to a larger room on the top floor and it was very nice indeed. The staff in the restaurant and bar deserve special mention, they are as helpful as can be. Likewise the housekeeping staff who always seemed to have a smile for the guests.

Reception staff fell a bit below the standard set in other departments, they didn't seem to know for example if room service was available or not. They cheerfully told me where to order it, but then later insisted that room service wasn't available "out of season".

The wifi is pitifully slow and seemed very unstable (Isn't it always the way when it's free?). Colleagues on other floors all shared my experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinnieVX7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in this hotel 2 nights. Hotel is quite new with modern and clean rooms,complimentary wi-fi (ask reception for the access code).Our room had a queen size bed and a large bathroom, Bathroom was full of water after taking the shower, because the showers doors were installed wrongly. Hotel has a big free parking. In general it is typical Doubletree. It is good for business not for family travell.
The view from our window was to the highway... not very nice for me.
Location is outside the citycenter so the car is the must (or you will need a cab to reach the center). Looks like hotel was built before the crisis and there were planned a few other buildings, but everything stopped.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamanenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Doubletree in September for 5 nights.

Staff were friendly without exception.

Breakfast was buffet style and I was able to order an omelette and fresh latte daily.

Rooms were modern and very clean.

Plenty of free parking.

Free wi-fi, get the code from reception.

We paid extra for a balcony, but we only used it to dry our swimming gear, so could have done without it and used the money we saved for a couple more of Samuele's fantastic cocktails (he is such a great asset for the hotel - polite, great at his job & good knowledge of the island).

AC wasn't great.

The hotel is maybe a mile out of town, but that wasn't a problem at all.

I hope to return again very soon.

Room Tip: No need to fork out extra for a balcony if you're out all day seeing the island
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rüsselsheim
Level Contributor
796 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were landing in Olbia Airport when it got dark. So we have had some trouble to find the hotel outside the citycentre. Because the signpostings are not quite exuberant.But the hotel was nice.Modern, tidy rooms, parking inside the hotel area. Our room was funcional equipped.Wonderful the large bathroom and the big bedroom. The bed was a little bit short, but for one night ok.If you want to eat. The restaurant has good meals, but the service is not quickly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wfritschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I travelled on my own and stayed for 8 nights. I was very well looked after by all members of staff, who knew me by name and even the bar man at flamingos bar, despite my lack of italian! Very helpful and respectful staff and always happy to assist with any questions or queries. The hotel also offers a tour guide which was also very good. The room was spacious and very clean and the food at the restaurant is very good quality. Due to exceptional service and friendliness of the hotel, I will be definitely visiting again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ppyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olbia
1.7 mi away
Jazz Hotel
Jazz Hotel
#2 of 40 in Olbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 40 in Olbia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Stefania Boutique Hotel by the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Speraesole
Speraesole
#15 of 40 in Olbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
11.6 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Lughente
Hotel Luna Lughente
#7 of 40 in Olbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Olbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Olbia

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Olbia
Address: Via Isarco 5/7, 07026, Olbia, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Olbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Olbia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Olbia
#12 Family Hotel in Olbia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Olbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Olbia 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern Doubletree Hilton offers a free swimming pool, free Wi-Fi access and a beautiful view on the Sardinian coast. Olbia's historic centre is just a 10-minute walk away.Hilton Doubletree's air-conditioned rooms all have an LCD HD TV with Sky channels and free tea and coffee-making facilities. Most have a furnished balcony overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Olbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Olbia Hotel Olbia
Doubletree By Hilton Olbia Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing