We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely reasonably priced restaurant”
Review of Antico Caffe

Antico Caffe
Ranked #403 of 1,254 Restaurants in Cagliari
Cuisines: Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were expecting this restaurant to be very expensive because if it’s location and history but we were pleasantly surprised to find it was reasonably priced compared to other nearby restaurants

The food was delicious and the service excellent.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Janetfarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent location and very good service ( thanks again to Andrea!).

Vast choice of different foods for every palate!

Looking forward to the next time!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Giancarlo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you like to wait for at least 25 minutes to order it’s the place to go. The service was really slow and the personnel ignores the customers.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 031johan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019 via mobile

We were a bit uncertain about this restaurant because of the reviews here on google. Our Airbnb host recommended it to us and so we thought we want to go here.

First of all, I have no idea what these bad reviews here should point out. They are quite the opposit of what we have experienced!

We were here for dinner and yes, we had a reservation. Please dont post bad reviews if they can't get you a place on the evening when you just stumble in. It is a frequently visited restaurant around here. It's like if you go for dinner in your favorite restaurant in your hometown you will mostly reserve a table.

You can email them to make a reservation.

Food:
The food was really, really good. As antipasti we had prosciutto with melon. As primi we had lasagne à bolognese and canelloni with ricotta and spinach. As dessert we had a tiramisu which was the topping of a really great dinner!

Service:
I don't know why so many people on here criticize the service. We were served by a really friendly man and also a really friendly woman. They saw what was missing, we never had to state that something would be missing. What you have to consider - after our two week trip here in sardignia the clocks just dont tick like at home. Somethings here just need a bit more patience.

Also they were all speaking english. We have tried to use our best italian, but mostly they recognized that we're struggling and helped us in fluent english.

Location:
What should I say. It's a beautiful place at the bottom of the Bastion St. Remy. We just liked it.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank LucasS8694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019

A cup of tea after a short walk from our hotel and we chose the outside are of this quiet Caffe. Nicely served and very cheap! Best tea in lovely square (Japanese) mugs with a lid.
Good selection of breakfast pastries at the counter inside and what a beautiful caffe and room with double vaulted ceilings.
We went back the following morning and a skilled guitarist who also sang was just accrss the street. Marvelous!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank 45thAnniversaryMeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antico Caffe also viewed

Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
 
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
 
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
 

Been to Antico Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing