We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect late Sept break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il Giardino Segreto
Ranked #70 of 262 Cagliari B&B and Inns
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the perfect late Sept break”
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We hunted high and low to find the perfect place for a late Sept break in Europe.....and we found it...not only a beautiful city but also the perfect B&B. Close to the heart of the city and run by Maurizio and Silvia who both make you feel very welcomed. Beautiful rooms, homemade breakfasts and as helpful as you could want including recommendations for some great restaurants. We had the perfect weather with sunny days in the mid 20's and enjoyed a very relaxing break.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    27
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
17
41
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Our first trip to Cagliari / Il Segreto was last September (2009). Well we loved it so much, we decided to return again this year. Il Giardino Segreto is THE perfect place to stay in Cagliari. Aside from the great location, the clean, comfortable and SPACIOUS rooms -- it's the hospitality that sets them apart. We can't thank Maurizio and Silvia enough for creating such a warm and welcoming environment. On our last visit, they even surprised us with an upgrade to their private suite. It was like having our very own apartment in Sardinia! What more can you ask for?

Consider your accommodations settled! :) Spend the rest of your research reviewing Cagliari's countless DELICIOUS restaurants. (Our favourite by far was Crackers by the way!) Happy travels!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

A great place to stay. Central yet hidden away off the street. Silvia and Maurizio are extremely pleasant and helpful. Lovely rooms and excellent breakfasts. Absolutely no complaints at all.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carols33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

We were treated with "The Suite" (too nice to be shown on their Internet presence?) with separate door and it made our jaw drop.
Wonderful half timbered room, a spacious bathroom, flat TV on the wall (a little manual would enhance for the non techies but once you get it running you have some 400 channels...)
Breakfast (we were told it´s great, but...-Home made marmelade and yoghurt, just to say)
Furniture so lovingly and tastefully. More a classic concert than a "hotel room".
Last but not least your anticipation should go to Maurizio and Silvia, two hosts we will never forget. So helpful, tipps for local amenities, they even brought tourist guides (in our -german- language. Situated within walking distance of everything -train station, harbour, city centre, restaurants, touristical sights (and there are far more we had expacted from Cagliari)
So, if back in Cagliari, we´ll know where to stay. We only wish Silvia will once whistle-blow the receipe of that cinnamon-? marmelade. .o))) Mille grazie a tutti!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Niagara2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
254 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Quality ‘Bed and Breakfast’, excellent hosts, Sylvia and Maurizio. They waited up for our late night(early morning) arrival, and happy to provide sightseeing and restaurant suggestions. Both speak English. Location is very good, 5 or so minutes walk to Piazza Yenne and 10mins walk to the bus station for airport etc. It’s close to lots of restaurants many within 5 mins walk. Quiet, tucked away about 150/200m from Botanical gardens entrance.
Our room was very well furnished with lovely large comfortable bed, plenty of space for luggage and in the wardrobe. The shower / toilet room is small but very well equiped, good space for bits and pieces, great shower and a hairdryer. Only downside was that it overlooked the entrance walkway, although secluded it meant we were unable to leave the curtains open, open the window or look at a view, having said that we didn’t spend a lot of time in the room.
Breakfast of juice, yoghurt, honey, home-made bread and cakes, coffee of course is served to your table in the small breakfast room where free internet access is also available.
Cagliari is a really interesting City to visit, whilst there are tourists its still largely a real working City, some English is spoken but expect to have to use Italian. We stayed 4 nights and walked all over the City. We took the Green bus tour on the first day. It leaves from Pizza Yenne, and it lasted about 1hr 15mins and took us outside the main City area taking us down to the beach and Lagoon area with the Pink Flamingos.
We also saw the view from Via Europa that inspired us to walk back there for a 2nd look.
We were unlucky arriving after midnight in torrential rain so took taxi from the airport, we shared with another couple which helped with the cost (20euro) but beware very few taxi’s and long queue, airport bus is 2euro and takes about 15mins into town, bus station is by Mcdonalds near train station opposite side near Port / Marina end of Via Roma.
Definitely recommend this B&B

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller0065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Excellent Bed and Breakfast.Sylvia and Mauritzo are very kind and offer a very warm and friendly reception.Rooms are excellent,our only criticism is that the shower cubicle is not very spacious.We stayed 4 nights two of these were in the appartment which we loved.Location is excellent for exploring on foot.Botanical Gardens well worth a visit.Thankyou to both our hosts for a very enjoyable stay. Special thankyou to Sylvia for the lovely breakfasts. We would thoroughly recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YahooEnglandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

il Giardino Segreto is located within walking distance to restaurants, shops and points of interest, so you do not need a car. Maurizio and Silvia were warm, friendly and eager to please. Silvia served delicious bread, cakes and yogurt, all home-made. The rooms were very clean and equiped with flat-screen t.v. and mini-bar. The cost was very reasonable. Our hosts were the best feature, outshining the property.

Lodging in Sardinia, for the most part, will not meet the needs of travelers seeking upscale and luxurious hotels and B & Bs.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlowTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagliari hotels
0.1 mi away
Sa Domu Cheta
Sa Domu Cheta
#62 of 262 in Cagliari
104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Onda Marina B&B
Onda Marina B&B
#22 of 262 in Cagliari
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Antica Via
B&B Antica Via
#26 of 262 in Cagliari
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bellezza Suites Luxury Rooms
Bellezza Suites Luxury Rooms
#69 of 262 in Cagliari
29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Birkin Castello
Birkin Castello
#97 of 262 in Cagliari
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Arco
L'Arco
#88 of 262 in Cagliari
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giardino Segreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giardino Segreto

Property: Il Giardino Segreto
Address: Viale Fra Ignazio 16, 09123, Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 262 B&Bs / Inns in Cagliari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Giardino Segreto is a boutique hotel that offers a charming welcome with its rooms furnished with the typical Sardinian furnishing including textiles weaved with traditional looms, ceramics and iron. Located in the heart of the historic district of Stampace, in the city centre, it is closed to all the major attractions of the city, all reachable by foot, including the tourist harbour, the railway station, archaeological sights, hospitals and clinics, shopping roads and all the places to eat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Il Giardino Segreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Giardino Segreto Cagliari, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing