We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Secret Garden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Il Giardino Segreto
Ranked #61 of 259 Cagliari B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The Giardino Segreto is not an hotel but an unusual guest house, with four rooms opening off a small kitchen/dining room where a (good, home-made) breakfast is served. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable (though hot, needing the air-conditioning) with a good bathroom. It is centrally and ideally located, tucked away in a courtyard below the Castello between the (lovely) Botanic Gardens and the Corso Vittorio Emanuele with its restaurants. The railway station is not far away down the hill. The "Garden" however remained a secret, as there were only a few large plant-pots in the bleak courtyard or car park.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Egregious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 98 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

Excellent location in the attractive and characterful quarter of Stampace, with easy access to the historic centre and the bus and railway stations (important for us, as we were without a car).
The accommodation was also excellent - clean, quiet and welcoming.
Breakfast was delicious, with homemade conserves on offer.
Our host was very friendly and helpful, and we appreciated being given a key to the property so that we could return during the day as and when we wanted.
We would certainly choose Il Giardino Segreto again. Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

This wonderful B&B is a true find in Cagliari. It is well-located and perfectly appointed. It retains the character of historic Sardinia yet with all of the modern conveniences of a new hotel. It is quaint and friendly and lovely. In fact, we stayed here upon our arrival and then returned at the end of our 7-day trip to stay again! Mauricio, his wife, and his wonderful staff are all so kind, thoughtful, professional and courteous. Also, they make and serve a delicious breakfast filled with specialties of the Island. I would definitely stay here again and, without reservation, recommend it to anyone looking for a true taste of Sardinia. Simply put, it is perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciaobella49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Marizio and Silvia are happy to help with any advice you need in getting around Cagliari especially if you are a first time visitor.

Room Tip: The two rooms I stayed in were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaureenH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We were at Il Giardino for six days, the weather was cold and rainy! However, we were saved by Silvia and Maurizio's restaurant recommendations. Our room was very quiet, even with the breakfast lounge outside our room, there were two doors so we really didn't hear a thing. Breakfast was a treat with bread hot from the oven, yoghurt with Sardinian bitter honey, jams, Nutella, and a delicious lemon scented cake, however, it would've been nice to have other types of cakes, or even the traditional Easter cake as we were there Easter Sunday. Our room had a terrace outside, it was a shame the weather was cold. Even with the extra bed for our teen there was space to walk around comfortably. The TV had a bilingual button so we could watch SKY in English. There is a PC in the lounge. Plenty of hot water in the shower. The hotel is on a quiet street, and if you walk towards the botanical gardens, you will find a supermarket on your left behind the Coop bookstore. There is an even larger supermarket(if you are a foodie) on Via Sonino, on the right side going up from the port. Restaurant Il Licciu is about five minutes by foot, and they have no menu, and you just eat what they bring you. They bring you five or six plates of appetizers(all good) and then you are asked which pasta(lobster, sea urchin, bottarga, langoustines, or clams...all good), then if you can still eat more, a variety of fish, or a deep fried cheese filled dessert, liquer, and coffee. The wine and mineral water is included in the set price...for lunch w/o fish it was 23E per person, and we were too full to eat dinner. We went back two more times, tried different pastas, at night it's slightly more pricey...however they also served the same appetizers, everyday for a week. The best seafood we'd had since Ischia and at 2/3 the price. The Sardinian traditional restaurant Silvia recommended was also nice, with a selection of prosciuttos and salamis, grilled vegetables, fregola pasta, and a beautiful presentation of cookies and the local liquer afterwards. The Segway tour was FUN and only 40E for 2.5 hours, the busses to Poetta didn't run on Easter so we took a cab 12E one way-the hotel there had a 38E Easter feast-all good. Only two flaminogoes in the estuary. We couldn't rent a car the last two days we had wanted to as Hertz and the others didn't have any to rent so we missed the UNESCO world heritage site near Oristano.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EnjoyingLife24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

This B&B is hidden away on a quiet street, but only 5 min walk to the main streets lined with cafes and restaurents, and only 5 min walk to the amphitheatre. The rooms are beautiful, luxurious, quiet, and spacious. Breakfast is lovely with freshly baked cake and bread, and home made jams.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaskNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

A superb and beautifully run bed and breakfast. The rooms were tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean.
it is extremely well positioned to enjoy the old town.
We enjoyed Maurizio's and Sylvia's restaurant recommendations. In particular Flora where we ate the most sublime fish.

Emma and Mark

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nettlestead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagliari hotels
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cagliari
Holiday Inn Cagliari
#13 of 33 in Cagliari
667 reviews
0.6 mi away
T Hotel
T Hotel
#3 of 33 in Cagliari
2,037 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Fanny
Hotel Villa Fanny
#1 of 33 in Cagliari
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Nautilus
Hotel Nautilus
#2 of 33 in Cagliari
316 reviews
1.2 mi away
B&B Sa Babbaiola
B&B Sa Babbaiola
#1 of 1 in Pirri
103 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Regina Margherita - Cagliari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giardino Segreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giardino Segreto

Address: Viale Fra Ignazio 16, 09123, Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Cagliari
Price Range: $68 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Giardino Segreto is a boutique hotel that offers a charming welcome with its rooms furnished with the typical Sardinian furnishing including textiles weaved with traditional looms, ceramics and iron. Located in the heart of the historic district of Stampace, in the city centre, it is closed to all the major attractions of the city, all reachable by foot, including the tourist harbour, the railway station, archaeological sights, hospitals and clinics, shopping roads and all the places to eat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Il Giardino Segreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Giardino Segreto Cagliari, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing