We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly personal service, excellent food”
Review of Il Malandrino

Il Malandrino
Ranked #83 of 1,202 Restaurants in Cagliari
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $25
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: cucina mediterranea con prodotti a km 0. Vasta varietà di frutti di mare crostacei e
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

We approached this place just out of curiosity (lunch tome weekday) and were approached by such a friendly hello by our elderly server!
All staff was courteous and helpful, well trained and spoke English (moderately!) but enough
Food was very fresh and homely, not too oily and greasy but full of flavour.
We shared the mussels and clam soup and had grilled fish and stuffed ravioli
All the dishes were tasty and our server even carved the whole fish for us!!
Pricing was fair, compared to other fancy places around but quality and customer service was not compromised...
Loved the whole experience... definitely visit this place

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Nandita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 585 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2018

We had the misfortune of visiting this place after being spoiled with many great restaurants in Cagliari. It was the worst experience we had and we were so sorry we spent an evening there. The service was slow, unfriendly and they just seemed to be uninterested in us. The dishes were average and were a far cry from other nearby restaurants we've tried (the fish was served with 3 cherry tomatoes and half a potato; the salad came with dry rotten leaves; bread was stale). However the worse thing was the price. We were surprised with an inflated bill which the waiter tried to justify on the basis of the weight of the fish they recommended us, but that simply could not have been true. When we disputed the bill, the reaction was overly aggressive and the waiter (perhaps owner) shouted at us in front of other guests. No one deserves to be treated this way. There's lots of nice restaurants in Caliagri (Mondo e Luca, Trattoria L'infinito, Sa Domu Sarda - to name a few...). Do yourself a favour and avoid this one.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GRN1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farwes, Proprietario at Il Malandrino, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018
Google Translation

L'unico inglese che ho avuto nel mio ristorante che ha fatto storie sul prezzo, dopo aver ordinato un cappone da 850 grammi fatto vedere al tavolo, e avendolo pagato 42,50 euro, prezzo scritto nel menù 5 euro all etto, si è permesso di accusarmi di aver gonfiato il peso per fargli spendere di più. Adesso, con tutto il rispetto per i miei colleghi che ha citato nella sua recensione, sin sicuro che il pesce pescato locale lo vendono molto più caro( e fanno bene) tanto se incontrano un morto di fame come lei non c' è prezzo che vada bene!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

We've been there for diner during the week. Service was very kind. A bit long to get the main dishes but at the end everything was good. Lobster pasta was amazing and generous. You can also try the local pasta: Malloredus.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Maxetrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2018 via mobile

But unexciting.

My wife and I chanced on this place for lunch while we were visiting Cagliari. Friendly enough greeting and service and decent seafood but the saucing was a basic tomato confection which inspection suggested was applied to most dishes. House wine at 5 euros for a half-litre was not too bad.

Decent value for money but not worth a detour.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank dunsmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2018

Good service, wide variety of seafood - had two different types of preparation of lobster; booking important

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank 434philipg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Malandrino also viewed

Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
 
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
 
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
 

Been to Il Malandrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing