We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a sloping street”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Regina Margherita - Cagliari
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Cagliari
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The hotel is located near the Bastion St Remy and the center of the city. It was very easy to walk around. There is a local bus stop nearby. The room was on the 4th floor with a nice view on the port. It was very clean with a large bathroom. The air conditioning system worked perfectly. Buffet breakfast (with eggs, smoked salmon sausage but specially excellent pastries) was included in the price.
The reception staff was very friendly at the check in and very unpleasant at the check out but it was not the same people!
Anyway, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniemayence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 862 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2011

Stayed for one night driving around Sardinia - best hotel on our stay, sound proofing could be better though.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterS_Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

An excellent hotel - staff were very helpful and efficient.They gave us an upgrade to a junior suite at no extra charge as we had our teenage daughter with us.The breakfast was excellent - scrambled eggs,smoked salmon even bacon! Plus the usual pastries,fruit,yoghurt etc.Free parking if you have a hire car.My only cripe was the outdoor terrace shown in the hotels website is now covered over and is a conference centre.Bit disappointing not to have any outside areas to sit and have a drink.It maybe a business hotel but it was perfect for a city/beach short trip.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buntys2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

First of all we need to admit that this hotel is in a perfect location, close to the main points of interest of the city, the lobby is really stunning and the furniture and the lighting chosen is really the icing of the cake.
Unfortunately for me I didn't enjoy so much sleeping in since the room was really noisy, that's because of the street underneath.
Not much choice of tv channels to watch, and also the toiletries was not comparable to the standard of this hotel.
I also met more than a few problems when I had to deal with the staff at the reception.
The kind of service given was not what I expected at all.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank ericamxpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

This hotel was located in a convenient spot to restaurants, shops, the marina and the old part of the city. However, the reception staff were the rudest and most unhelpful staff we have ever encountered in our last 33 years of travelling. They did not provide any service at all and treated us in an unprofessional and arrogant way. The breakfast was also mediocre. If you require a hotel which provides more than taking your booking then this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPM_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

I stayed here before and after a trip around Sardinia with a small group, somewhat longer than intended in the end thanks to ash-cloud situation. Everywhere in the hotel was modern and clean and everything worked, except the device for raising/ lowering the showerhead in my second room. I was amused that the chambermaid repeatedly undid my system for wedging it upright using the shower hose, but did nothing to get it fixed - not a huge problem as the shower cabin also had an overhead shower and "body jets", but sloppy for a 4-star hotel.
If you sleep with the window open, and want to sleep early/late, ask for a room away from Via Regina Margherita. And I would not recommend the half-board option (at least out of season when they aren't using the main restaurant - which seems to be mainly for functions), you can eat much better elsewhere for the same price.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qaminari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

This hotel is very modern and clean. We stayed here at the beginning and end of a holiday in Sardinia. It seems to be more used by business people rather than holiday makers but was in a good position for seeing all the sights in the city.Breakfast was the usual Italian fare. We wanted a drink from the bar in the early evening and had to wait for half an hour for the barman to appear in spite of being contacted by the people on reception.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfSnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagliari hotels
1.1 mi away
T Hotel
T Hotel
#4 of 33 in Cagliari
1,997 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Fanny
Hotel Villa Fanny
#1 of 33 in Cagliari
148 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Nautilus
Hotel Nautilus
#2 of 33 in Cagliari
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#12 of 33 in Cagliari
391 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#6 of 33 in Cagliari
261 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sardegna Hotel
Sardegna Hotel
#8 of 33 in Cagliari
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina Margherita - Cagliari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina Margherita - Cagliari

Address: Viale Regina Margherita 44, 09124, Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cagliari
#3 Business Hotel in Cagliari
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cagliari
Price Range: $122 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regina Margherita - Cagliari 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Regina Margherita is located in the real heart of Cagliari, in the street which runs down from the ancient fortified district of Castello towards the elegant walkway which leads to the port. On stepping out from the hotel you are met by the most beautiful shops, traditional and authentic bars and a captivating view of both the city and the sea. Regina Margherita is a modern and welcoming hotel which blends elegance and discretion and fuses design with the tradition of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Regina Margherita - Cagliari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Margherita - Cagliari Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing