We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant compromise”
Review of Hotel Panorama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Panorama
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Cagliari
Reviewed October 8, 2010

It is very hard to get a hotel room in the centre of Cagliari; this hotel is just out of the centre - it's an 8 Euro taxi ride to the museums etc. & a shuttle to the beach Driving in Cagliari is a nightmare, a warren of one-way streets, & parking is very difficult, so you will probably want to take taxis. The hotel has a few free parking spaces but there is enough free street parking opposite the hotel.
The hotel itself is comfortable, rooms are big enough, balcony, ask for a room facing in the direction of the sea; bed is fine; the staff are extremely helpful. The only problem/curiosity is the decor which is basically 1950/70s cream & tan with seemingly random blue & orange splashes. If you don't care about things like this, forget it; if you do, then the decoration is either a bizarre curiosity or downright awful! Take your choice..

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david-206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 336 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2009

This hotel was great.
Staff-friendly
Rooms- good size and a good balcony with good views,i was on the 5th floor.rooms were cleaned everyday with fresh towels.
Decor- a bit dated but ok
Food- good choice for breakfast,the usual stuff.Cafe was ok for a snack.
Location- on the bus route for the beach and the town,we bought a weekly pass for 6 euros.walking distance to town around 30 mins.did not walk to the beach as not a nice road.
Pool- excellent,sunny spots and shady spots.plenty of sun loungers and seats.
Did not find this hotel noisy with it being next to a busy road.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karin30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We booked into this hotel as we wanted to relax for the last 2 days of our holidays after travelling around, and it had a pool so we booked in. However, even though we apparently got "one of the best rooms" on the 9th floor, it looked like something out of "I dream of Jeannie" with 1980 non-functional buttons, mis matched furniture and lilac bathroom. It was clean enough, but the pool has limited space around it, and is right beside a main road so it quite noisy. There are buses to take you on a 5 minute ride into the centre which are handy. The cafe downstairs seemed to charge what it wanted each time, and the hot chocolate wouldn't even move in the glass! The staff seemed unhelpful and the breakfast was purely awful. We were told it would be on the top floor (10th) and yes it does have good views, but you can't really see them as everyone is expected to cosy together and share large tables that only reminded us of an old Butlins holiday camp. The food was inedible, table clothes were dirty and it was poor all round.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spickles13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

Stayed here for a holiday, having never been to Sardinia before.

Booked online, and contacted the hotel in advance of arrival to ask for a non-smoking, sea-view room, with a balcony. "No problem", they replied, provided we paid a small charge for the sea-view room. We agreed, as it wasn't a great charge....but arrived to find a smelly room, on a smoking floor, so our arrival consisted of almost an hours messing about as they tried to locate a non-smoking room (if you're a smoker, this would make no odds to you!), as they had confirmed for us. Not ideal, but it was sorted out for us.

The room we had was on the 7th floor, and was clean, pretty spacious with a decent-sized bathroom. Plenty of storage space, with a safe in the room. The balcony was a fair size too.

The breakfast wasn't great - for a four star hotel, you would expect a greater choice of hot food (there's a limit to the amount of scrambled egg anyone would want to eat on a daily basis). The scrambled egg, plus the cold ham, cheese, bread and croissants all ran out far too often and there weren't too many staff around to attempt to replenish the supplies. There was no juice available, just a vile concoction forced out of a machine; I'm sorry, but a hotel of this rating ought to be able to stretch to a few jugs of orange juice!

The hotel bar didn't appear to stay open late, and there wasn't much of an atmosphere on the couple of visits we paid - but then who wants to spend too much time in a hotel bar??

The hotel pool was good - big enough for a reasonable swim, but beware the rude guests who slope off for hours and try to "bag" their sun-lounger for when they want to come back to the pool by leaving their sweaty towels on them. Of course, there's an easy way to deal with this if you arrive and find nothing to lounge on - you move the offending towel. We did....

The hotel is located on a frequent bus route - handy to get about to town and to the Poetto beach. All in all, it's a decent hotel. Nothing special - but the outdoor pool is a bonus on a hot day, though!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruthL36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

I stayed here on a week's holiday in June 2009. I was travelling on my own, so wanted somewhere that was within easy reach of both town and beach so that I could keep myself entertained. The biggest problem with Hotel Panorama is its location. There's nothing very much around the hotel, so if you want to do anything, it involves a 10 minute bus journey (or a 20 minute walk into the city centre). In hindsight I would much rather have stayed either in the city centre or at Poetto Beach, which would have meant just a slightly longer bus journey when I wanted to get to the other.

That said, it's only a 10 minute bus ride to the beach, and 5 mins to city centre. And the hotel does have the compensation of a decent pool and pool bar, a godsend on hot summer weekend days when you can't be bothered to go to the crowded beach.

In terms of other amenities, the hotel also offers free wi-fi throughout, does a reasonable breakfast and a very decent dinner from an 8th floor restaurant with a wonderful view, my room was ok (if a little noisy from the main road, I'd recommend asking for a room that's not on the main road side), and the staff are mostly friendly and helpful, though some speak little English, and one rather surly chap seemed to think it a terrible imposition that I wanted to use the safe deposit box daily to store my laptop, even though the hotel literature in my room made it very clear that the hotel wouldn't take responsibility for the loss of items left in the room. (And there was no in room safe in my room).

The chambermaid service was also a little hit and miss. There was a cigarette butt on my balcony from the previous occupant that was there when I arrived, and still there when I left, even though my room had been serviced daily in the meantime. They also neglected to replace the plastic cups in my room for the last couple of days of my stay.

I had a perfectly pleasant stay here, but unless having a pool is a must for you (or you have your own transport), I would recommend looking at hotels that are either in Cagliari city centre, or at the beach, depending on where you anticipate you will spend most time.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samlowry1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Not the sort of person to write reviews of hotels, but this place really deserves one! The stay began with us having to wait for ages to check in, then being led into a room that smelt of urine and obviously hadn't been renovated since the 80s. The hotel staff seemed to go out of their way to be rude, and were generally unconcerned with providing any level of customer service. Although the place is on a bus route and is between the beach and the town, it's basically stuck on a main road and is certainly far from being the nicest part of this pretty island. I'm not usually fussy, but this place definitely isn't worth its four stars or the money they charge.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeenTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Just got back from a few days stay here and was pleased with our choice.

Location was good - short bus ride to the beach one way and town the other way. Could also get buses from one street up to different parts of town (number 6 to castello area for eg). We bought tickets for the bus (1 euro) from the shop nearby though as the hotel charged 2 euro for them!

Didn't go in the pool but it looked lovely.

There was traffic noise as it was quite a busy road, but it didn't bother us.

Our room was fine, nothing special but clean and comfortable. The chamber maid service was very good. The room wasn't huge and we had a smaller balcony than other rooms it seemed but the bathroom was huge with a good shower (no bath) and loads of towels, although as other review says the hairdryer was rubbish! There was a fridge/mini bar and tv (no english speaking channels).

Breakfast was nice - buffet of pastries, bread rolls, fruit, cereal, eggs, ham, cheese. We also had the same experience of food not being replenished, especially when there was a large group in, but when i asked for scrambled egg and they brought me my own freshly cooked plateful.

I found Cagliari to be a lovely town with friendly people. The old part of town, castello district was really nice. The tourist city bus (10 euro for an hour from piazza yenne) was good for getting our bearings and seeing the main sights. The cathedral was worth going in, and we enjoyed wandering round the narrow streets.

Would recommend caffe libarium on via santa croce for an early evening drink - its got a terrace with lovely views and drinks come with a plate of cheese and salami. Another place to try is caffe degli spiritu on the terrace of San Remy bastion - lovely setting and good pizza. We also enjoyed drinks and people watching at the outside bars on piazza yenne!

We went to poetta beach which was fab. Hired really nice sunbeds from a new cafe / bar just past the lido called Emersons (still building it but nice modern furnishings). Its mostly salads and paninis but we enjoyed lunch and the friendly good service there.

One last transport tip - taxis are expensive (10 euro back to hotel) and difficult to find, even at a taxi rank! Apparantly the trick is to ring the hotel and ask them to ring you one (at weekends anyway...we waited an hour for one!) A taxi from the airport cost us 30 euro (at midnight) but the bus from the main bus station on the way back was 2 euro, really frequent, and takes about 10 minutes. Can also leave luggage at the ticket kiosk for 1 euro per hour.

Enjoy cagliari....we did!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TaniaLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagliari hotels
1.8 mi away
T Hotel
T Hotel
#4 of 33 in Cagliari
1,983 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Grillo
Hotel Grillo
#16 of 33 in Cagliari
209 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Ulivi e Palme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Regina Margherita - Cagliari
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cagliari
Holiday Inn Cagliari
#14 of 33 in Cagliari
650 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sardegna Hotel
Sardegna Hotel
#8 of 33 in Cagliari
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panorama

Address: Viale Armando Diaz 231, 09126, Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cagliari
Price Range: $104 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Panorama 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A strategic position, only a few minutes away from the city centre and the wonderful Poetto beach. A first-class service and a breathtaking view over the Golfo degli Angeli make Hotel Panorama the ideal place to stay for anyone who wishes to spend some time in the city of Cagliari or visit the south of Sardinia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Cagliari
Hotel Panorama Cagliari, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing