We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Miramare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Miramare
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Cagliari
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Cheap, but rather nice decorations. The rooms very simple. We rented a room with sea view - the cost was 260 euro - absolutely way out too much for the standard you get!

The entrance, on the third floor, was a little bit hard too find. A very small lift to which you had to have a key....

We left the hotel, although we had to pay for one night, and took another one!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Claes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    105
    17
    7
    11
See reviews for
27
181
26
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival call the reception to sed the elevator as you have to go up to the second floor for the hotel. Surprise: little flowered interior courtyards, nice staff, very délicate and stylish decoration. i stayed in a suite overlooking the habour with original Art Deco furniture, really beautiful. Also loved the breakfast room in a large period room and an exquisite choice of local products and tasty cakes. Hotel is located in the heart of the old town close to shopping and lots of great restaurants. It takes 15 minutes by cab from the airport. I will be back

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RudyMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night in early July 2013. The staff were very attentive and the décor and art in the hotel is very novel and original. Each room is decorated in a different style by a different artist, and the corridors, reception area and other common areas have lots of curious touches.

The room was very comfortable and although it just looked into an inside courtyard, this was actually a good thing since it eliminated any traffic noise. The hotel is expensive, so if you're travelling on a budget you might want to limit the duration of your stay (as we did), although we also preferred other parts of Sardinia to Cagliari (that's not the hotel's problem, of course!)

The only thing to watch out for is the parking: don't pay extra for the "free parking" because this just means being directed to the opposite side of the street where anybody can part for free - if they can find a space!

Room Tip: Probably less traffic noise on inside-facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidg6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel's main building entrance and the lift made us wonder whether we made a mistake in booking the hotel. The reception is on the 3rd floor and you need a key for the lift. So one of us had to go upstairs to get someone's attention but you can also call for them to come help. Once we were received by reception staff we started to realise what a great hotel this is. We booked the Eleonora suite and I highly recommend it. Really cool, lovely view of the port, not noisy despite location, and more importantly, very comfortable and nice. The staff were very welcoming and hospitable. When you check in and they invite you to sit for a drink, take the offer and relax. They are taking your luggage to your room, setting the ambience, and setting up a nice little welcome treat for you in the room. The treat of fruit and local suites was delicious and you will find that the produce on this island are not to be missed. For those that worry about sleep, the bed was very comfortable and we had a great night sleep. The breakfast was lovely too. The staff were always ready to help and are there 24 hours. Yes it's a bit expensive given the basic entrance but I think it's worth it for the unique and lovely experience in the room and for the location. We would go back and stay there again. Yes the parking on arrival on Sat night was very tough, but try to find something in the port itself and ask the hotel for instructions before you arrive as that is needed. Basically, the message here is don't let the minor quirks of this place deter you from staying here because you will have a very enjoyable stay. Go for a suite when in doubt. Once you are settled walk to a tiny place called Gocce for gelato, absolute best in the city. Unlike any other gelato place in town. For lunch we loved Sa Osa (try the fish and try the ravioli) and for dinner Milestone was amazing. All walking distance. You basically don't need a car to explore Cagliari. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Areej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at this Hotel. We were very happy with the friendly staff who always helped as much as they could. Generally a very clean hotel with all the necessary amenities. We had a great time in Cagliari and were always happy to come back to the hotel for some rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We had very high hopes based on previous reviews and current status, but we found Miramare pretentious and very overpriced. Yes, the location is good and it has the cutesy, quirky appeal. But the rooms are small, the aircon was very noisy, we had a view of another building and, above all, were given completely wrong information from the concierge re getting to and from Mandas to connect with the Little Green Train. This left us having to pay for two very expensive cab rides and being one of Sardinia's great tourist attractions, surely the info should have been correct and immediately to hand? They were also unable to change a 50 euro note, saying they kept no money on the premises (a four star hotel not being able to change money?). Also the only recommendation for dinner was the expensive tuna restaurant which seems to be the only one they have recommended to previous guests. Sadly Miramare does not deserve its current rating.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TTD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiramareBotiqueHotel, Direttore generale at Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Sir,
thank you for your review.
I'm so sorry you've been disappointed in the stay at the Miramare Hotel.
I tried to understand and deepen the problems you mentioned in your review because for us it’s absolutely crucial to meet all the guests and understand their needs.
Going to order, rooms at the Miramare Hotel have clearly not all the sea view, also the dimensions are different for each room, in fact we also have very large rooms that vary according to the category. The allocation of room’s view and the dimension will vary based on room category booked by you, but if we have availability, we always pleased to offer to our guests an alternative to their liking for any problem.
Regarding the indications given at the reception I'm sorry you had problems, if you write to me, I’d like to have some details to understand better what’s happened.
About restaurant we usually give many different advice because the Hotel is in the city center, then we are surrounded by hundreds of restaurants.
The restaurant that we recommended is considered one of the best of Cagliari for quality and customer reviews, in fact all the guests are always satisfied.

I am very sad that you have not liked some aspects of the stay at the Miramare Hotel and I invite you to contact me privately because I would like for you to come as our guest to propose an alternative that may be of greater liking.
Warm regards.

General Manager Hotel Miramare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We loved this hotel even though it was a bit of a nightmare for someone with mobility problems. Lots of loose rugs, steps, and a minute lift. But we'd stay there again. Really pleasant and helpful staff, lovely room, great sitting room, and delicious and very generous breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fictionwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagliari hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regina Margherita - Cagliari
1.2 mi away
T Hotel
T Hotel
#3 of 35 in Cagliari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Nautilus
Hotel Nautilus
#1 of 35 in Cagliari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#5 of 35 in Cagliari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cagliari
Holiday Inn Cagliari
#12 of 35 in Cagliari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Due Colonne
Due Colonne
#11 of 35 in Cagliari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramare

Property: Hotel Miramare
Address: Via Roma 59, 09124, Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cagliari
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cagliari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miramare Hotel is an exclusive hotel. It is located at the second floor of the beautiful old Palazzo Devoto (one of the grandest period palaces of the end of 1800), in the Via Roma, in the very centre of the town, in front of the harbour, 200m away from the main station, from where trains and buses reach the whole Sardinia. The small Miramare Hotel is a charme structure, with 18 rooms and 4 suites, each fitted with TV, air conditioning, minibar, satellite, private bathroom, telephone set. The Miramare Hotel has a charming view over Cagliari's Harbour and at the seaside. Wonderful sunrises, invaluable sunsets: a unique experience, in the heart of La Marina district, for a stay, which will be arranged until the smallest detail. Only for travellers, not for tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramare Hotel Cagliari
Miramare Cagliari
Hotel Miramare Cagliari, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing