We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, quirky small hotel”
Review of Hotel Miramare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Miramare
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Cagliari
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Perfect location, quirky small hotel”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Overall I loved this hotel and would stay again but I did have one major gripe - the hotel is up 6 flights of stairs and you can't rely on the lift (as mentioned in previous reviews). When we checked out I asked if we could use it for our two heavy cases but it is apparently 'not working'. And I wasn't offered any help with getting them down to the street, despite the fact that we were both female and I am in my late fifties. In fact, although the service was efficient, it was somewhat brusque and when I asked for help I was made to feel rather a pain. Shame because everything else was lovely. One other thing - I wish my booking had included breakfast because it didn't and it costs 23 euros per person.

Room Tip: Other reviewers have said that rooms at the front are noisy but we thought our room was very quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceCristal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    105
    17
    8
    12
See reviews for
27
183
26
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend (aged 24-25yrs) stayed here last week.It was amazing, I'm writing this from home and wishing i was back. It hit everything on a perfect note. When we arrived we were tired and had spent a lot of time searching for the place in the dark.....we passed by all these fabulous old buildings facing the harbour and i thought they were a bit too perfect and central for where i expected the hotel to be....but sure enough our hotel was there. I saw the entrance and wondered whether maybe it was going to be a bit hostel-ly, as the building was quite old but headed up the stairs...when we got to the second floor i got a sense that this was far from a hostel.....it was AMAZING.its like a boutique hotel, old yet modern, incredibly full of character with old ceilings and chandeliers. They clearly had an interior designer with stylish and funky taste. We were greeted by a nice man that brought us into the lounge where there was slow music playing and an old school black and white movie on the big flat screen. there were jars of biscuits and sweets out and flowers and books, they somehow managed to combine old and new in a very tasteful way. He asked us to relax and advised us he would be back in a few minutes, we thought he may have just been doing paper work for us.... he arrived back and showed us to our room whereby at the door he advised us we had been upgraded to a complimentary junior suite....IT WAS FABULOUS!there was a little entrance with a terrace beautifully decorated off to the right, the entrance had chairs and a table under a chandelier, this followed into a wardrobe area with a large bathroom to the right and then into the bedroom where the window overlooked the harbour, he had it lit with old lanterns,it was very romantic and had slow jazz music playing with our suitcases propped up on their stands....he was very slick,it all seemed so effortless and cool.he was brilliant i only regret that we didnt catch his name to recommend him more formally.Thank you Miramare for a great start to a magical trip to sardinia.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocosananas3218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sardinia, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed here for one night, but wish I could have stayed much, much longer and will definitely be back! The decor is quirky and stylish, the rooms really well equipped and the staff delightful. Breakfast was fantastic, with a great range of choices to suit all tastes and the charming staff took the time to show me around a few of the rooms (I'm nosy like that) and all of them were divine, each with a unique theme complemented by a tasteful mix of antiques and modern art. The location right on Via Roma is unbeatable, with great restaurants, boutiques, galleries and museums right on the doorstep and next time I hope to bring a group of girlfriends as this is the perfect place to come for a long weekend break, even out of season. I can't recommend it highly enough, it's now my favorite hotel in Cagliari!

Room Tip: They're all fabulous... the suites are extra special, and if you can get one, go for the rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SardiniaVillaCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We arrived after a day of hard travelling from Corsica without having made prior bookings at any hotel. We tried the Miramare as it was centrally located and not far for us to drag our bags. We were able to secure a room at an excellent price as the season is quiet. We can't emphasis how good the hotel was - our room was the Flower room- beautifully decorated, a great shower, very comfortable bed. The small lift up to the hotel only added to its charm.
The whole hotel has wonderful, tasteful touches e.g fresh fruit, coffee making facilities, lollies etc in the communal sitting area. Andreas , who worked on reception assisted us with printing out tickets for flights to Sicily. He was a very pleasant man who spoke very good English.
We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

The central position of this hotel is ideal, with wonderful views over the marina and easy strolls to bars and restaurants. In line with other reviewers, I would recommend anyone with heavy luggage to leave it at the bottom of the stairs and walk up to reception, check in, and then use the little private lift. We were allocated a twin room with amazing fish cartoons on the walls and a huge bathroom. (If you accept the fact that this is a very old building with 18 inch thick walls, then you will be relaxed about a slightly smaller bedroom and a rather large bathroom.) We had no problem with the complete lack of view from our window as we were only staying for 3 nights and the breakfast room has a lovely sunny view anyway. The breakfast is excellent with everything from fresh fruit, yoghurt, rolls and bread, cereals, hard boiled eggs and meats and cheeses. The waitress is lovely and everything is clean and nicely kept.
The reception gentleman recommended a trattoria and a nice restaurant for two dinners and booked a table for us each time.
Completely by accident, we noticed on our second morning that a small room had been allocated for massage and treatments. When we asked, the receptionist was happy to book a massage for us and it was both professional and pleasant. (It is pretty expensive, but we decided to treat ourselves.)
We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

In addition, the two restaurants were Lillicu, and Luigi Pomata. The first, (the trattoria), is casual, with long, communal tables and you must simply trust the waiter as there's no menu! It is seafood and pasta and all delicious at about 20 euros each.
The second is smart, and the chef trained under Marco Pierre White. The food is again mainly seafood and nouvelle cuisine but bigger portions! It's dear at 45 Euros a head, but worth it if you want a treat.
A final note; we went by bus to Poetto beach which was really quite easy. We bought our tickets at the green booth by the bus station and bought two each (there and back at 2.80 euros each), as we intended to be at the beach for more than 90 minutes. (You can use the same ticket if you return in less time than that.) Make sure you don't offer a large note as they always claim to have no change! At the beach, there is a clean white cafe restaurant (with nice loos!), offering everything from a drink to a 3 course meal. We sat on the loungers and were not asked to pay. (That may be because of the time of year.)
Given more time, we would have used buses to visit places such as Pula, but we'll save that for another visit!

Room Tip: Rooms with a marina view are a bit noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This is a lovely place if you want a central place to stay in Cagliari - everything is within walking distance (depending on the heat!) We were there for 5 nights & the service was great & the room very comfortable. Highly recommended but when you arrive do check out the lift which is not available until you check in so do leave your luggage downstairs and walk up a couple of floors!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senorita22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We were looking for a B&B or hotel in Cagliari, but everything seemed full or some B&B did not pick up the phone and we got a little tired of finding a place to stay. I saw the Hotel Miramare, felt that it probably will be too expensive for what we planned to pay. Fortunatly they gave us a special "last mintue" rate an even upgradet us to a junior suite. WONDERFUL, after a long day travelling and walking around we enjoyed this boutique hotel, great service and advice of where to eat dinner. The best hotel we had in Sardinia.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReginaCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagliari hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Fanny
Hotel Villa Fanny
#2 of 35 in Cagliari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regina Margherita - Cagliari
1.2 mi away
T Hotel
T Hotel
#3 of 35 in Cagliari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Nautilus
Hotel Nautilus
#1 of 35 in Cagliari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Ambasciata Hotel de Charme
0.3 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#6 of 35 in Cagliari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramare

Property: Hotel Miramare
Address: Via Roma 59, 09124, Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cagliari
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cagliari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miramare Hotel is an exclusive hotel. It is located at the second floor of the beautiful old Palazzo Devoto (one of the grandest period palaces of the end of 1800), in the Via Roma, in the very centre of the town, in front of the harbour, 200m away from the main station, from where trains and buses reach the whole Sardinia. The small Miramare Hotel is a charme structure, with 18 rooms and 4 suites, each fitted with TV, air conditioning, minibar, satellite, private bathroom, telephone set. The Miramare Hotel has a charming view over Cagliari's Harbour and at the seaside. Wonderful sunrises, invaluable sunsets: a unique experience, in the heart of La Marina district, for a stay, which will be arranged until the smallest detail. Only for travellers, not for tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramare Hotel Cagliari
Miramare Cagliari
Hotel Miramare Cagliari, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing