We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total rip off”
Review of La Gobbetta

La Gobbetta
Ranked #756 of 980 Restaurants in Cagliari
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Total rip off”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Avoid this restaurant, it is a tourist trap.
Food is quite average, not at all worth the price.
My risotto with mushrooms tasted more like sweet rice porrige with 3-4 canned mushrooms thrown in. Mussels were ok, but got cold by the time the waiter brought us fries as side dish.
Personnel makes you wait and does not pay mauch attention to you, once you seated.
And as many other people, we had coperti and service charge in the bill, for the first time in two weeks in Sardenia. I looked at other bills lying on the table, some of them did not have service charge, which makes me think that it's only for tourists.
Just go some place else, don't waste your time or money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pupsola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    79
    84
    69
    123
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a ripoff, tourist trap, avoid this place.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We picked this restaurant above all the others in the same street because the pizza menu of 18 euro seemed quite a bargain at first because it had everything included: starter, main meal, drinks, dessert. Once we ordered, the disappointment started... The italian starter was very basic, pizza was okay, but after that the waiter suddenly tells us the tiramisu and chocolate mousse desert weren't available, although the lady next to our table receives one 5 minutes later. The waiter just blatantly lied to us trying to save costs.

The service is also horrible, it took ages to get our dessert and the bill. Moreover, there was another surprise when receiving the bill with 10% extra service costs while the menu said all charges included. This restaurant is a scam, avoid it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave9G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panevezys, Lithuania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Our decision to go to La Gobbetta was spontaneous, later we were sorry we hadn't looked around at the other nearby restaurants and tratorias - I am sure there were many better places to have dinner at.
Some dishes were better, some - worse but I am sure the food is not prepared on the spot. Besides, each customer is charged 2 euros "coperto" plus 10 per cent service fee. Not worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gintrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Avoid this place.”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This restaurant was terrible. Just avoid it. Plastic chairs, plastic table, tasteless food. The waiter was smelly, and i almost threw up after lunch. Portions were really small - we had spaghetti ai ricci which is allegedly a house specialty. At the end, a receipt of 35 euros which included "coperti" of 8 euros and 10% for miserable "servizio". This restaurant is a disappointment for Italian tourism. We would like our money back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cinquecento5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The pizza was huge and very tasty. Great atmosphere in the place. We were made to feel very welcome as the only English people in that night.It was full of locals watching a football match on the TV while they were eating.
The only downside was the fact that they charge 2 lots of service charge 2 euros each person and then 10% on the total of the bill ,so ours came to 6.50 euros just for service and it looks like they charge you 10% on the first service charge.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank brandysnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gobbetta also viewed

Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
 
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
 

Been to La Gobbetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing