We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in a beautiful Sardinian street”
Review of The Place Cagliari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Place Cagliari
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem in a beautiful Sardinian street”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights August 2013 and was delighted. Very helpful owners who go the extra mile for you with suggestions of places to eat and tours to do. Breakfast is a good spread and value for money and we felt we were in the heart of Caglairi but down a quite street so only 2 minutes to get away from the bustle. Wonderful room and excellent en suite, our room had 2 balconies looking out in to the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peasnrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    86
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
19
231
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

The Place is a hidden treasure! Would recommend it to everyone who enjoys beautiful rooms, friendly hosts and great location in this beautiful part of Cagliari. Close to The Castello, the Marina and to Piazza Yenna! Would you like to go to the beach - I recommend La Pailotte in Calamosca:) Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights in july and were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. it has a very central location within walking distance to the main plaza in cagliari. staff were very friendly and went out of their way to assist with restaurant and recommendations for local beaches. rooms were spacious and comfortable. breakfast was more than adequate by european standards with fresh pastries, fruits and cold meats and cheeses. would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kurtm85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in France
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The location was perfect, within walking distance of everything, but in a quiet street. The Marie-Christine suit was extremely comfortable and the jet shower was an added bonus. Luca, the owner, was there to meet and greet us and provide us with information and map of the city. I would definitely return and recommend it to friends.
Personally, I would have liked the option of brown toast and muesli, and for the cappuccino to have been stronger - but I understand everyone has their own preferences for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happywanderer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here recently with my husband for a mini break, 4 nights. Luca and Christina made us feel very welcome and helped us with anything we needed. Our room Maria Christina was large, spotless, and very comfortable. We will definitely return next year, the location is superb , could t be any closer to the sights and local "must go" places!

Room Tip: We had the Maria Christina suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPGCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzogenaurach, Germany
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Place is a little butique hotel in the very center of Cagliari. Lot of attention was paid to the details in the room and all the equipment in the bath is of good quality.
The hosts are very friendly and helpful.
All in all - I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: As it is a liitle hotel, it can be a bit loud, but what we could see all the rooms are very lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Petra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed on the Regina suite, very chic and spacious. Very tastefully refurbished building in oldest part of the city, lots of narrow cobbled streets below castle district but within striking distance of centre and marina too. Breakfast room disappointing but not really a problem as you can have room service at no extra cost and have exactly the same. Owners Christina and Luca very nice and helpful. Ideal for 2-3 days sight seeing or quiet romantic break. No frills but no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iansanciuedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagliari hotels
0.8 mi away
T Hotel
T Hotel
#3 of 34 in Cagliari
1,927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#6 of 34 in Cagliari
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Regina Margherita - Cagliari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Fanny
Hotel Villa Fanny
#1 of 34 in Cagliari
122 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cagliari
Holiday Inn Cagliari
#13 of 34 in Cagliari
637 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#10 of 34 in Cagliari
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Cagliari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Cagliari

Property: The Place Cagliari
Address: Via Sant'Efisio 59/61, 09124, Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Cagliari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Place Cagliari 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place Cagliari, with its exclusive rooms and suites, opens its doors to those wishing to stay in an elegant and discreet atmosphere and to enjoy a unique refinement. Located in the old town of Cagliari, on the slopes of the ancient Castle, The Place, is an old nineteenth century building carefully restored to its former glory. The Place is a perfect destination for those staying for business or tourism. Its strategic location makes it prime location for day trips to the most beautiful beaches in the south of the island from Villasimius to Chia. In the nearby Piazza Matteotti are bus stops for the various seaside resorts and for the Poetto, the famous beach of Cagliari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Place Cagliari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place Cagliari Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing