We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Place Cagliari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Place Cagliari
Certificate of Excellence
Hoeselt, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The welcome by Luca was great. Service more than ok. Very friendly owners. The location in the Via Efisio is also good, very centrally located and not far from the parking lots on Via Margherita. Very highly recommended and price / quality ratio is very good, not expensive for a beautiful city like Cagliari! I had requested a surprise to care for my partner's birthday, which went extremely well, even more than that! We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ludovic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    84
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
18
224
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great little B&B right in the centre of things, close to old town, within easy walk of everything. Couple who own it are very helpful, knowledgeable and know the good places to eat. Room spotless, breakfast excellent, free wi-fi which works well. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
780 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Place is located 10-15min from the airport being charged 20 euros one way (although I think the locals simply pay around 10 euros for a taxi) in the historic part of Cagliari, so having everything some 10-20min walk around.

Sant' Efisio where The Place is located, is a small road and you enter The Place with the reception/breakfast area on the right, a room on the left and stairs leading to the second floor where you have two rooms on the left and a massive suite on the right, stopping on the first floor where there is a similar layout.

I chose The Place purely because of the rooms' decoration as I wanted to stay in a typical Sardinian house - what I did not realise is that I will be having the usual Sardinian noises. The owner clearly paid lots of attention to each room's decoration but did not deal at all with the noises between the room. What is most annoying is that despite exchanging so many calls and emails telling him how light I sleep he insisted on taking the Golden room situated on the first floor saying is the ony one available, to be shown the room on the ground floor upon arrival despite telling him in advance that I found that very claustrophobic and eventually to be given the room on the top (second) floor overlooking the street saying is a very quiet room!!!!!!!!!

Unless you are a man who sleeps and snores, trust me, no way you cannot sleep in that house without hearing everything, as other women confirmed ,who just like me they were woken up whilst their partners slept undisturbed. An array of noises coming from the cats on heat at the nearby derelict house coupled with dogs barking furiously at them all night long, then having the peace of the street disturbed by cars or motorcycles every hour, plus somebody who sounded like the milkman early in the morning and these were only the sounds of the street. Inside you can hear everything from your neighbour walking in the suite near yours, moving the doors, flushing the toilet or the toilet business he is having, the running of the water besides even understanding word by word the language they are talking. Plus hearing the noises made by some Italian woman when walking on the bare floors on the massive suite on the other side of the staircase that passes throught the middle of the building.

1. The rooms are beautifully decorated but what a pity there are no carpets or even sleepers on the cold floors, therefore affecting my delicate back, no kettle to have a cuppa after the long day and only a rather tiny shower and not a bath to soak in.
2. There is though a small fridge to put your water or milk, as most of the place is taken by their 3 Euros 330ml beer or 2 Euros 330ml water or juice!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3. For early November the room was rather cold and the closing of the shutters did not help as the air con was too noisy to leave it throughout the night.
4. But you have a small TV with channels only in Italian if you are woken up (trying to rest after a long day) after 7pm by the arrival of a new guest on the ground floor and with the owner speaking ever so loud all the time. He should have known better, but hey, he is the same guy who looked at me over the shoulder when I asked for 3 extra shampoos to wash my hair (I got only one extra) and then turning to say to some guests something that didn't sound like it was a nice thing. Maybe because it was less than 24h since my arrival and he already charged my credit card as I discovered later. I only thought it was polite to pay when he asked me upon my arrival!!!!!!!!!!! but surely to you, just the way it sounded to me at the time, this is very strange indeed.
5. The breakfast runs between 8-10am and you are brought a glass of juice at the table, together with the hot water for your tea or coffee. The rest of the breakfast is displayed in a small cabinet and is A salami/ham/cheese/small tomatoes probably to minimise the expenditure. Plus some varieties of croissants, porridge, fruits but nothing fancy.
6. During the day, up to 6pm seems to be the quietest, so you can return at The Place and have a nap just like the rest of Sardinians who seem to be complaining the economy is so bad, yet they close all the shops, churches, museums etc with the exception of multinational chains of shop.

Conclusions: This is the first and the last time I will ever stay in a place like this, more important that being in a place nicely decorated, I prefer to stay in a place where I can try to have a decent sleep. And to have a feeling that a tourist is not good until he/she pays and the situation changes afterwards.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TERRAvelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sprimont
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great situation in the center of Cagliari -
Perfect welcome with all requested information as to what to see, where to eat. Spotless rooms , amazing suite Regina. And home made cakes for breakfast , really excellent stay!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welsh212220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volos
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Nice bed and breakfast in the center of the historic center. Great breakfast, very friendly team. The only bad thing is that the rooms are a little bit noisy. Also there is no telephone in the room. But there is a wi-fi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Lucca waited for our call, when I reported to him our flight was a late one, he sent by email his cell number -- when were lost he guided us on phone till we saw him, he parked our car for us and made us feel very at home .... great room, very modern, just what we needed for a stay overnight beforfe travelling to meet cousins further in Sardania. He gave us a map of the city and made suggestions of where to go in the city.
Recommend highly!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing back of building for the ultimate quiet! beautiful rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

After driving around the centre of Cagliari a few times we decided to park the car and locate 'The Place' on foot not realising that we had parked our car about 10 meters from the hotel! Hidden away at the end of a narrow street, this is a rare little gem of a boutique hotel.

What we liked:
- The Location: Very central and in a ittle laneway with old buildings and churches. Central to all attractions, great restaurants and transport.
- The Hotel: Everything about 'The Place' screams boutique hotel; from the fit-out to the decorations and the location.
- The Staff: The manager, Luca was great. Very friendly and helpful with recommendations, logistics and creating the boutique atmosphere.
- The Room: Decent size and well furnished. The only negative was the lack of a view - we were overlooking a walkway inside the hotel.
- The Price: Great value. And Luca didn't charge us for half the mini-bar we consumed.

What we didn't like:
- The Breakfast: Ok for the price but fairly basic. Fresh orange juice would have made all the difference.
- The Stairs: There's no lift and we had two 25kgs bags. Not fun.
- The Shower: An unecessary space age shower which encloses you in a capsule and is supposed to play music and provide mood lighting. The music didn't work, the shower fogged up and leaked.
- The Wi-Fi: Free but only available in the common areas. Sitting on the stairs to check email is not ideal.

Overall, a great little boutique hotel and highly recommended for anyone staying in Cagliari. Try to avoid rooms on the top floor if you have a lot of luggage.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatnBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagliari hotels
0.8 mi away
T Hotel
T Hotel
#3 of 35 in Cagliari
1,845 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Regina Margherita - Cagliari
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Fanny
Hotel Villa Fanny
#2 of 35 in Cagliari
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#5 of 35 in Cagliari
193 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Nautilus
Hotel Nautilus
#1 of 35 in Cagliari
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Ambasciata Hotel de Charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Cagliari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Cagliari

Property: The Place Cagliari
Address: Via Sant'Efisio 59/61, 09124, Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Cagliari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Place Cagliari 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place Cagliari, with its exclusive rooms and suites, opens its doors to those wishing to stay in an elegant and discreet atmosphere and to enjoy a unique refinement. Located in the old town of Cagliari, on the slopes of the ancient Castle, The Place, is an old nineteenth century building carefully restored to its former glory. The Place is a perfect destination for those staying for business or tourism. Its strategic location makes it prime location for day trips to the most beautiful beaches in the south of the island from Villasimius to Chia. In the nearby Piazza Matteotti are bus stops for the various seaside resorts and for the Poetto, the famous beach of Cagliari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Place Cagliari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place Cagliari Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing