We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shabby hotel in a superb setting with breathtaking views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ristorante Calamosca
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Cagliari
trieste
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“shabby hotel in a superb setting with breathtaking views”
Reviewed November 19, 2009

It is a very shabby hotel, the structure is old and really in urgent need of restoration. Just outside Cagliari (reachable by car) is in a superb setting, overlooking a beautiful cove. Suitable for those who move around Sardinia by car and want to spend a few days in Cagliari: If you are not picky in matters of cleanliness and structure you can enjoy breathtaking views and get lulled by the sound of the waves at night: really superb. Breakfast is poor, better move to town for a coffee with some typical sweets. The staff is very kind.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetleggedcoroner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    58
    51
    41
    57
See reviews for
41
96
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking UK
Level Contributor
130 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

Like most reviewers, I'd have to say the Calamosca is a little tired and worn around the edges, but that said I certainly wouldn't say "don't go".

The sea-view was wonderful, the rooms clean , the staff friendly enough, the bedlinens spotless and the white bath towels were the amongst the softest and most luxurious I've ever come across!

The hotel isn't in town, so unless you like to hike, a car, a Vespa or lots of cab fare is required if you want to see anything more than the hotel. (Actually, there's a bus service into town too). The lack of transport only proved to be an issue at night when it came to eating. The hotel has a restaurant and a pizzeria, but there are no other eateries (that we could find) within walking distance, thus forcing you to eat at the hotel. The menu in the restaurant and pizzeria was the same (oddly enough), and whilst the choice was fairly good, the service was fairly lacking. One evening, it took us three hours to have a two course meal! Not that we were slow eaters, just the wait staff seemed to be overly busy rushing about doing ... who knows what. Now, I know - it's Italy - relax! But there eventually comes a point where you just want to shout at someone!!

Restaurant aside, the plus points also included a nice sun deck for lounging and a clifftop terrace bar for after dinner drinks.

Overall, I'd say it was pleasant stay, but wouldn't rush back there.

  • Liked — Views, bathtowels
  • Disliked — Limited eating facilities
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SurreyTraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights on our 3 week round-the-island trip by rental car. The hotel is located on a small bay a short distance from the bustling city of Cagliari. Driving directions are tricky however, especially when driving back into the city from the hotel. But there’s plenty of paid and free parking right at the harbor (or Marina) within close range of the restaurant district in the old quarter.

The hotel’s location is quiet with a large garden and comfortable sun chairs. There’s a small sandy beach as well.

Sea view rooms, which cost extra, have a balcony and offer a wonderful panorama of the bay guarded by a lighthouse perched on the top of a small mountain.

The reception is friendly, helpful, and mostly English speaking. There’s plenty of free parking in front of and surrounding the hotel. There are 3 floors but no elevator. There’s no pool either.

For Italy, the breakfast “buffet” was adequate, but not outstanding. There’s a restaurant onsite, but we didn’t use it since there are so many good trattorias in the city. Don’t miss Lillicu on Via Sardigna 78. You’ll need a reservation for both lunch and dinner.

Our room was large enough, but with no coffee maker, fridge, or hair dryer. The TV is small with only a few Italian channels to choose from. TV reception was not very good even though it was hooked up to a cable. The bathroom and the shower were fine. The room was clean and maid service was very good.

The hotel, while repainted on the outside, is worn and a bit run-down. It’s obvious that the management has not been reinvesting money to keep it up. The bed was comfortable but the pillows felt very hard. A couple of mosquitoes made it into the room so we slept in our portable mosquito tent for the last 2 nights.

Our room was not cheap costing E 94 for a double in May. The hotel was only partially full when we were there.

Despite the somewhat run-down nature of the building, we still found the hotel to be a good value, primarily because of the convenient, quiet, and relaxing location on a beautiful bay only a couple of kilometers from the city. The view is wonderful and the garden is a good place to enjoy the afternoon sun. The free parking, decent breakfast, and helpful reception were also plusses. We recommend this hotel to other travelers, but be prepared for the fact that it’s a bit worn around the edges.

  • Liked — Location and convenience
  • Disliked — Slightly rundown nature of the building
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rmitgoteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
255 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2008

Cagliari was the first stop on the trip around Sardinia that my wife and I took in 2007, and this was one of the most difficult places to decide on a hotel. I have to say this is probably the first and only time that I had a different opinion from the reviews I read on TA at the time. The main reason why I picked it was that it was the only hotel I could find in Cagliari right in front of a beach. When I got there, at night, I found the hotel in very, very bad shape, with very simple rooms with no comfort at all. When my wife and I got there, we looked at each other and remembered that we were only going to be there for one night. It was way more expensive than it should have been for what it is, and I have to say that I didn't go to the beach in the end. We left early to hit the road and try the many beautiful beaches in southeast Sardinia.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Room was less than average
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Frederico N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cagliari hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2008

Spent four days in Sardinia, two of which at the Hotel Calamosca.

Wasnt sure what to expect following a number of mixed reviews but with hindsight it was definately the right choice!

im not sure how old the building is and it is a fair comment to say that they need to spend a bit of money of updating it but that kind of adds to the charm. The rooms are basic but clean and the overall feel is quirky with a slight feeling of an italian Fawlty Towers but all of this pales into insignificance when you see the view from your balcony!

A brilliant view at almost Travellodge prices. Definately recommended. The restaurant next door is pretty good as well. Would love to return in summer.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Shower could have been bigger
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ed_uk_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2007

We found the reviews of this hotel to be broadly accurate. Nice spot, good public areas, relaxed but rooms a bit battered. But to clarify a few points. The facilities of the hotel are effectively bar/pizzeria/restaurant with large terrace leading to private rocky beach. There is a public beach next to the hotel which is small, sandy and very popular. Little in the way of English speaking tourists. We found it easily from the airport-follow signs Cagliari, Via Roma and then Calamosca and hotel are advertised

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GRIFFYGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, CA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2006

For vista and peaceful location you can't beat the Calamosca, but the hotel is a little "tired" (a three-star hotel with a five-star view). We had a lovely room with a balcony and sea view; the staff were welcoming and the dinner in the affiliated restaurant was delicious. The included breakfast was, as others have said, spartan. But the fresh coffee was excellent! Our bathroom definitely needed renovation, as did other details in the hotel. Still, we felt we had chosen well for a one-night visit.

  • Liked — The view and the park right on the water, the sense of privacy
  • Disliked — the bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — You must have a car to make this hotel feasible.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MtDiablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagliari hotels
0.6 mi away
Chentu Lunas Hotel
Chentu Lunas Hotel
#15 of 36 in Cagliari
40 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nautilus
Hotel Nautilus
#1 of 36 in Cagliari
263 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Sveva
Hotel Villa Sveva
#14 of 36 in Cagliari
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hotel Grillo
Hotel Grillo
#17 of 36 in Cagliari
187 reviews
2.9 mi away
L'Ambasciata Hotel de Charme
2.9 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#9 of 36 in Cagliari
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante Calamosca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Calamosca

Property: Hotel Ristorante Calamosca
Address: Viale Calamosca 50, 09126, Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Cagliari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ristorante Calamosca 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a wonderful beach-sidelocation, Hotel Ristorante Calamoscaprovides an elegant and tranquilsetting for your stay just outside thebustling centre of Cagliari.You will instantly feel at home at thisfriendly hotel on the Bay ofCalamosca. The sea view isunforgettable.Your air-conditioned guest roomcomes with a private balcony. Thehotel features a TV lounge, a bar,and an internet point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Calamosca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calamosca Hotel Cagliari
Hotel Ristorante Calamosca Cagliari, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing