We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent view wines and food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ristorante Calamosca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ristorante Calamosca
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Cagliari
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent view wines and food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is on the coast road 10 minutes outside Cagliari. Quite complex to get to airport. Amazing location, wine and food. Rooms shabby, lack lustre, Art Deco, not been kept to any standard. This is a genuine Italian hotel with genuine Italian staff, food, standards and prices. Dinner and wine were to due for however.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineHugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    45
    41
    36
    50
See reviews for
35
78
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

we stayed here in late October at the end of the season with the GB youth windsurfing team. The rooms on the ground floor have all been refurbished and many have fridges ; the first and second floor rooms are more basic but clean and functional. If possible ask for a room with a sea view as these are more pleasant and catch the evening sun. It is worthwhile noting that internet access is free for your first hour then is charged at 2 euros/ hr thereafter and is only available in the hotel lobby.
The hotel restuarant serves a 2 course menu with choice at 2 euros, but they also have a wide variety of pizzas to choose from off the main menu.
The staff in the hotel were all very helpful and worked hard to make our stay as pleasurable as possible , allowing us the use of the large fridge to keep our packed luch supplies. The rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard and fresh towels every day.
It is also worth noting that late on on the season the beach bus service does not run and it is quite a walk to get anywhere. Local taxi's can be expensive and will often charge for luggage.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor with a sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mogs10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester
Level Contributor
194 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

Stunning view, clean comfortable room, pleasant and helpful staff, good food.
Fantastic value, would still be worth it at twice the price!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InnesDorchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trieste
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

It is a very shabby hotel, the structure is old and really in urgent need of restoration. Just outside Cagliari (reachable by car) is in a superb setting, overlooking a beautiful cove. Suitable for those who move around Sardinia by car and want to spend a few days in Cagliari: If you are not picky in matters of cleanliness and structure you can enjoy breathtaking views and get lulled by the sound of the waves at night: really superb. Breakfast is poor, better move to town for a coffee with some typical sweets. The staff is very kind.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetleggedcoroner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking UK
Level Contributor
130 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

Like most reviewers, I'd have to say the Calamosca is a little tired and worn around the edges, but that said I certainly wouldn't say "don't go".

The sea-view was wonderful, the rooms clean , the staff friendly enough, the bedlinens spotless and the white bath towels were the amongst the softest and most luxurious I've ever come across!

The hotel isn't in town, so unless you like to hike, a car, a Vespa or lots of cab fare is required if you want to see anything more than the hotel. (Actually, there's a bus service into town too). The lack of transport only proved to be an issue at night when it came to eating. The hotel has a restaurant and a pizzeria, but there are no other eateries (that we could find) within walking distance, thus forcing you to eat at the hotel. The menu in the restaurant and pizzeria was the same (oddly enough), and whilst the choice was fairly good, the service was fairly lacking. One evening, it took us three hours to have a two course meal! Not that we were slow eaters, just the wait staff seemed to be overly busy rushing about doing ... who knows what. Now, I know - it's Italy - relax! But there eventually comes a point where you just want to shout at someone!!

Restaurant aside, the plus points also included a nice sun deck for lounging and a clifftop terrace bar for after dinner drinks.

Overall, I'd say it was pleasant stay, but wouldn't rush back there.

  • Liked — Views, bathtowels
  • Disliked — Limited eating facilities
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SurreyTraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights on our 3 week round-the-island trip by rental car. The hotel is located on a small bay a short distance from the bustling city of Cagliari. Driving directions are tricky however, especially when driving back into the city from the hotel. But there’s plenty of paid and free parking right at the harbor (or Marina) within close range of the restaurant district in the old quarter.

The hotel’s location is quiet with a large garden and comfortable sun chairs. There’s a small sandy beach as well.

Sea view rooms, which cost extra, have a balcony and offer a wonderful panorama of the bay guarded by a lighthouse perched on the top of a small mountain.

The reception is friendly, helpful, and mostly English speaking. There’s plenty of free parking in front of and surrounding the hotel. There are 3 floors but no elevator. There’s no pool either.

For Italy, the breakfast “buffet” was adequate, but not outstanding. There’s a restaurant onsite, but we didn’t use it since there are so many good trattorias in the city. Don’t miss Lillicu on Via Sardigna 78. You’ll need a reservation for both lunch and dinner.

Our room was large enough, but with no coffee maker, fridge, or hair dryer. The TV is small with only a few Italian channels to choose from. TV reception was not very good even though it was hooked up to a cable. The bathroom and the shower were fine. The room was clean and maid service was very good.

The hotel, while repainted on the outside, is worn and a bit run-down. It’s obvious that the management has not been reinvesting money to keep it up. The bed was comfortable but the pillows felt very hard. A couple of mosquitoes made it into the room so we slept in our portable mosquito tent for the last 2 nights.

Our room was not cheap costing E 94 for a double in May. The hotel was only partially full when we were there.

Despite the somewhat run-down nature of the building, we still found the hotel to be a good value, primarily because of the convenient, quiet, and relaxing location on a beautiful bay only a couple of kilometers from the city. The view is wonderful and the garden is a good place to enjoy the afternoon sun. The free parking, decent breakfast, and helpful reception were also plusses. We recommend this hotel to other travelers, but be prepared for the fact that it’s a bit worn around the edges.

  • Liked — Location and convenience
  • Disliked — Slightly rundown nature of the building
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rmitgoteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
242 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

Cagliari was the first stop on the trip around Sardinia that my wife and I took in 2007, and this was one of the most difficult places to decide on a hotel. I have to say this is probably the first and only time that I had a different opinion from the reviews I read on TA at the time. The main reason why I picked it was that it was the only hotel I could find in Cagliari right in front of a beach. When I got there, at night, I found the hotel in very, very bad shape, with very simple rooms with no comfort at all. When my wife and I got there, we looked at each other and remembered that we were only going to be there for one night. It was way more expensive than it should have been for what it is, and I have to say that I didn't go to the beach in the end. We left early to hit the road and try the many beautiful beaches in southeast Sardinia.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Room was less than average
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Frederico N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cagliari hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagliari hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Sveva
Hotel Villa Sveva
#13 of 36 in Cagliari
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Grillo
Hotel Grillo
#14 of 36 in Cagliari
3.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nautilus
Hotel Nautilus
#1 of 36 in Cagliari
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
T Hotel
T Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cagliari
4.5 of 5 stars 1,693 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Regina Margherita - Cagliari
2.9 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#5 of 36 in Cagliari
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante Calamosca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Calamosca

Property: Hotel Ristorante Calamosca
Address: Viale Calamosca 50, 09126, Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Cagliari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ristorante Calamosca 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a wonderful beach-sidelocation, Hotel Ristorante Calamoscaprovides an elegant and tranquilsetting for your stay just outside thebustling centre of Cagliari.You will instantly feel at home at thisfriendly hotel on the Bay ofCalamosca. The sea view isunforgettable.Your air-conditioned guest roomcomes with a private balcony. Thehotel features a TV lounge, a bar,and an internet point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Calamosca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calamosca Hotel Cagliari
Hotel Ristorante Calamosca Cagliari, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing