We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Ghirlanda in Cagliari”
Review of La Ghirlanda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Ghirlanda
Ranked #51 of 259 Cagliari B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 24, 2012

A very nice B&B that is well located in the centre of Cagliari. The room is very clean and decorated with really good taste. We also found the owners to be very friendly. Most certainly a place to recommend

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 145 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2011

La Ghirlanda's rooms are truly beautiful to look at and clean. The location is terrific. But, unfortunately, there were a few problems. One was communicating with the very gracious hosts who speak French or Italian. This is fine, as long as you're aware of it going in. I think it's a stretch to call this a B&B when the sweet roll and coffee breakfast is served at a cafe down the block by a surly waiter. But more importantly, I was unable to sleep well. The front room that I was given was too noisy from street sounds. The second night, I was offered a back room which turned out to be airless, hot and smelly. When I asked to turn on the air conditioning unit in the room to circulate the air and cool down the room, I had to surmise (because I couldn't understand) that it only ran for certain hours. I've never had such an unpleasant stay, gratefully for only two nights.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juniemoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

My girlfriend & I, had a 3 knight stay at the hotel. The Hotel is located in the center, just a few minuttes to the harbour, mange great restaurants and shoping.
The host couple at the hotel are the BEST !! So kind, friendly and helpfull. Almost like you' re at home. The rooms are spacious and clean. Only paring at Via Roma is free and can be challeging.

Best regars and hopefully
Martin from Denmark

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mielko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Amazing little hotel! Breakfast was served at cafe Roma which is a classic place and amazing for people watching. Very nice couple who own the place and always ready to help!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Lovely B&B, tastefully decorated, ideal location right in the middle of the historical centre of Cagliari, opposite the port and near the shops. The owners are very welcoming and friendly. Reasonable prices. We highly recommend it and would happily go back there. Rita, Patrizia & Antoinette

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rita170372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

This is probably one of the best picks in Cagliari. Conventiently located in the centre, yet off the main noisy streets, La Ghirlanda is an oasis of peace in Sardinia’s lively capital. The hosts are very welcoming and only too happy to offer tips and advice on Cagliari and surroundings. As for the rooms, spacious and well decorated are two adjectives that come to mind naturally. I would even add somehow classy, and prepared with delicate care. After one day driving across the island, la Ghirlanda was just the perfect haven and touch of Sardinian hospitality we needed. Price is more than decent and includes breakfast at a nearby café, with "pasta" (croissants or similar), "spremuta" orange juice and a cappuccino. What better way to start your day ?

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobTrotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

A few steps away from the port, bus (to airport, notably) and train station, in a very nice old building. Pleasant reception, the owners are a "mature" (don't you love PC-lingo?) couple, he speaks some english, she good French. Rooms are clean, Bath room good (I liked the rolled towels, nice touch), very good value for the money (and location), perhaps a tiny bit cramped, but then who wants to stay inside in Cagliari?

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dieu_Vivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagliari hotels
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cagliari
Holiday Inn Cagliari
#13 of 33 in Cagliari
668 reviews
1.2 mi away
T Hotel
T Hotel
#3 of 33 in Cagliari
2,038 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Fanny
Hotel Villa Fanny
#1 of 33 in Cagliari
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Nautilus
Hotel Nautilus
#2 of 33 in Cagliari
317 reviews
1.9 mi away
B&B Sa Babbaiola
B&B Sa Babbaiola
#1 of 1 in Pirri
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regina Margherita - Cagliari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ghirlanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ghirlanda

Address: Via Lodovico Baylle n 7, 09124, Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Cagliari
Price Range: $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Ghirlanda" guest house, at the heart of the historical city centre of Cagliari, enjoys a fantastic location at the corner between via Baylle and via Roma, the town’s vaulted promenade. The port, railway station, bus and air terminal are all a few steps away, just as most of the town’s restaurants and bars. "La Ghirlanda" offers 2 triple and 2 double rooms, each furnished differently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your La Ghirlanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ghirlanda Cagliari, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing