We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply perfect and delicious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Ammentos

Ristorante Ammentos
Ranked #19 of 948 Restaurants in Cagliari
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simply perfect and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We went there to celebrate my father's b-day, the restaurant is not very big but small and cosy (better to book in advance). The atmosphere is the real Sardinian one and the food is delicious. We went for the menu of 30 euros each one and it was worth!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kunefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    462
    325
    104
    44
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Typical Sardinian food, reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by the Manager at our Hotel and we very much enjoyed the food. We chose the fixed priced tasting menu which was extremely good value and very tasty, would definitely eat here again next time I am in the city.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeJenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Chosen by the locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

A very good friend of Cagliari booked this restaurant for a dinner to welcome us with good and genuine products, respect of the local tradition, care and warmness. Everything was delicious from the very beginning with Sardinian ham, sausages, different types of cheese to the local pasta with escargots or esh sausage to the porceddu and the traditional pastries. Good wine and moscato. Also the vegetarian of the group was treated with great respect by local pasta with cheese and abundacy of fresh and cooked vegetables. We were accompanied by kids and the staff was extremely kind and attentive to their needs. Nice atmosphere, warmly advised if you want genuine local food. We spent around 25 € per person for water, wine, starters, bis of pasta, main course, vegetable, biscuits and moscato.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cmala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wow!! I would fly back just to eat there (and probably will)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We found Ammentos by looking through the reviews on trip advisor, this wasn't number one so the ones above it must be something else because this was amazing.

The menu was really simple to follow, just a case of choosing which set menu you want and then deciding what dish.

The antipasti of cheeses, cold meats and grilled veg was excellent and we did not have to wait long for them to come out.

The pasta course was plentiful, far more than we expected to get and again tasted fantastic.

It was the meat course which really blew us away, between us we had ribs and roasted pork. I have not eaten pork that nice before, it just fell apart in my mouth, the crackling didn't look like it would be that tasty or crunchy but it was spot on. The ribs came in a broth that just added to their flavour and again the meat just came straight off.

The deserts were a selection of mini cakes, after such a large dinner I didn't want much more though had I not had the 3 courses before I may have been disappointed, as it was they were just right, and they came with a small jug of desert wine.

This was all followed up with a shot of mirto each, still an acquired taste but a good way to finish off dinner.

The staff were really helpful and friendly, fixing our wobbly table without being asked and genuinely looking pleased at our attempts at Italian rather than just taking the point at the menu approach.

It was certainly value for money as well, the 30 euro set menu may sound pricey but I've eaten out in Milan and spent that much and been nowhere near as satisfied, I will be certainly be returning here the next time I visit Sardinia.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mark201180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Proper Sardinian food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Lovely atmosphere, cosy and service spot on but more importantly proper Sardinian food. Even my sardinian wife was very impressed:) I'd certainly go back

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jcgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Ammentos also viewed

Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
 
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
 

Been to Ristorante Ammentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing