We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish menu”

Ristorante Sa Schironada
Ranked #89 of 1,011 Restaurants in Cagliari
Price range: $24 - $53
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reading
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great fish menu”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We liked this place as it was excessively hot in Cagliari that evening and we wanted to eat inside. I was a bit annoyed as there was a big screen showing MTV and my kids were very distracted from the food. The food as per previous reviews was the set menu which was good as you are just provided with the typical food in sittings. The food came out quickly which is excellent when you have kids. The only issue is that we felt a bit under pressure to keep eating and the staff were a little blunt. The idea is that with the set menu you start eating and they just keep bringing you food. Of course the bill gets bigger and bigger as well as your tummy, so you have to ask them to stop. I would recommend it though but keep that in mind. This restaurant is linked with Su Cumbindu and is very similar except for this one specialises in fish the other specialises in meat.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Berkshire45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    317
    131
    77
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Menu boards outside, ask if they have it.”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I was a little suspicious of the garish menu boards hanging outside, usually the only two things that put me off more is a waiter hustling for work outside and the chef sitting outside with the rest of the staff. But I went in anyway and was early enough to bag a table facing a big screen showing football. They do have menus inside unlike Su Cumbida which shares the same business card and some reviewers may have muddled the two. The sliced Bottarga salad probably contains too much fennel for most peoples taste. The salad is a do it yourself of celery, vine tomatoe, radishes and more fennel, this comes with Sardinian bread, water and a pitcher of wine as part of the meal. The Boar stew came on a wooden curved platter and was actually very moist and tasty, rosemary potatoes too small to be roast properly. The service was brusque at first but mellowed after I had ordered, the waiter had a very lairy crowd on a nearby table to deal with, but had time to fetch me more wine. Sardinian sweets and sweet wine with coffee to finish. It seems I had the €25 menu.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Criticalparanoiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Horrible tourist trap”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The owner is rude. After noticing that we could not eat the entire plate, He threw the rest of the dish in my boyfriend's plate...with an angry face, saying : finish! Si! But we couldn't. The typical food was tastless compared to all the places we've been. The quality of the wine was so poor, i could not drink it. The bill was at least 15% higher then in an other place. Worst meal of the trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Flo-from-brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, just eat and do not try to order!”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Don't expect menu cards here, just see what they bring. Rich choice of Antipasti and red wine that are brought without further questions, then, if you can, decide between primi and secondi courses. If you stop after the antipasti (fish and meat, sesonal products), the Dolci desserts with sweet Moscato wine are a must. Good quality food, menus staring from 16 Euros

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilovesardinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic lunch”
Reviewed October 23, 2010

We came here by incident, they served different menu's we, chose the 13 euro menu, my friend is vegetasrian, me I eat fish. The waiter gave us not very much choice, so we thought: oke, suprise us! How good it was: an appetizer: roasted very good bread with garlic an lots of good olives, then a primi of exeptional quality (Sardinian pasta with fruti di mare) after that, fresh made fruit, and then a great postre with 4 different great fresh cookies with nice Dessert wine, and after that a perfect espresso! did I mention that we had an half ;litre of white wine with it? this cost us only 13 euro a person!!!! incredible. This is the real Italian cuisine, trust the waiter, don't ask foar the menucard. Absolutely great !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lekkerevreter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Sa Schironada also viewed

Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
 
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
 
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
 

Been to Ristorante Sa Schironada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing