We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, beautiful rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Marina
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hostel/hotel is located right in the middle of the old town of Cagliari. The rooms are spacious and tidy. Great service is provided, an okay breakfast as well. The only thing is that there are no beaches closeby, you'd have to get there by bus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisevanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    75
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
7
23
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
138 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed there for 5 nights and must say that it offers a comfortable stay. I had booked a single room. It had a private bathroom, a cupboard, two beads and a small desk. The breakfast is included but they always provide the same croissant, bread everyday. The reception people are very friendly, they helped me with the bus timings of Pula and some other local places. The hostel is just 10 minutes away from Pizza Matteotti. There are so many bars, coffee shops, restaurants with local pizza, pasta, cappuccino, gelato etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoumyaKDatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Great Location. I only stayed one night. the 6 bed dorm room was HUGE and 2 bathrooms!!! Nice that it had a courtyard, The bar was closed when I enquired for a drink but he offered to give me one anyway. Breakfast: Delicious machine coffee!!! I would stay here again if I returned to Cagliari. They recommend a restaurant called Cafe Barcelona, I went and it was not as good as I thought.

Room Tip: No tips needed, it all depends on if you are in a dorm or a private
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaverleyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is probably one of the best hostels i have stayed in, it is so close to everything, the staff were helpful and friendly.

the rooms were large and airy and very clean, the courtyard around the back that is where breakfast is eaten is an amazing start to the day, and as it doubles up to a bar in the evening end to the day.

While we were there it was an international film festival which i think added to the character of the hostel and made for a better visit.

all in all i would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuie_T2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I LOVED this hostel!! It's close from everything, always clean and the girls from the staff are so nice!!! The rooms are really nice, clean and comfy. The best thing is the back yard where they have a bar!!! So good to have breakfast there...specially in summer time! I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dany597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I haven't stayed at this hostel but I just wanted to commend them for their excellent customer service. I had to sort out urgent accommodation for a friend who was travelling and had no access to the internet. They have been courteous and extremely helpful and all in English. Many thanks Hostel Marina.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PipLeahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech Republic
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

one of the better hostels I have stayed in...as far as being modern, clean, offering a decent breakfast, service etc...was in a 8 bed dorm but only 5 people..two bathrooms/showers was nice to have....a fridge in the room. plenty of wardrobe space/cabinets...balcony to sit out/ dry clothes.... a courtyard to eat breakfast or hangout, a nice big reading area with a few couches.
room had heavy shutters in order to shut out the bright/morning sun light

very friendly/helpful staff

only concern was the luggage room...it was a room off the courtyard with the laundry drop and was pratically exposed/easily accessible..... no real control or saftely measures-simply relying on the trust of others not to take/pilfer your bags/luggage (no problems but it could easily become one)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tejashombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cagliari
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cagliari
Holiday Inn Cagliari
#12 of 35 in Cagliari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grillo
Hotel Grillo
#15 of 35 in Cagliari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
9.0 mi away
Agriturismo Su Leunaxiu
Agriturismo Su Leunaxiu
#6 of 64 in Cagliari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Al Solemar Bed & Breakfast
Al Solemar Bed & Breakfast
#22 of 254 in Cagliari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sardinia Domus
Sardinia Domus
#38 of 254 in Cagliari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
127.2 mi away
Villaggio Costa Paradiso
Villaggio Costa Paradiso
#2 of 4 in Costa Paradiso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Marina

Property: Hostel Marina
Address: Piazza San Sepolcro 2, 09124, Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Cagliari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Marina is an amazing hostel in CagliariOur Hostel is an ancient building located some beautiful steps in the heart of the old city, surrounded by churches, museums, medieval age towers, picturesque squares and breathtaking viewpoints. Marina district is also well known for local restaurants and pubs preparing typical dishes to be tasted with Sardinian flavours.Built in the XVI century, the Hostel was a monastery. A couple of years ago it was completely renewed and refurbished to be adapted to the modern requirements of a hotel, while retaining its historical charm.The first hostel in Cagliari, it is officially affiliated with the International Hostelling Network.Our young and dynamic staff welcome guests of any age and from all over the world, offering efficient services for all customers’ needs: different types of accommodation in spacious rooms with private toilets, free wifi and equipped meeting rooms.All public transports are five minutes from the hostel and this makes the main South Sardinian attractions really close to be experienced: spectacular sandy beaches, the hinterland Nuragic ruins, wild paths, Golfo degli Angeli creeks, Sella del Diavolo cliff, the pink flamingos oasis and much more ...Join us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Marina Cagliari, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing