We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little More Attention to Detail Required But Still Good”
Review of Hotel Due Colonne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Due Colonne
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Cagliari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2011

The hotel cannot be faulted for service or location. The staff speak excellent English and are very helpful with regard to restaurant suggestions and bookings. The location is ideal being within walking distance of all the main sights and also restaurants. Via Sardegna is one of the many roads which have restaurants offering excellent value-for-money trattorias. Despite this the hoel is very quiet.

The hotel is expanding and will be offering new rooms. At present there are some factors that require attention. The bathrooms would benfit from a couple of shelves being added so that it would be possible for two people to put out their toiletries without them spilling into the sink. There is free wi-fi for 30 minutes in the lobby but this is renewable so it does not cause any problem. Breakfast is excellent although the "juice" seems to be made from a cordial rather than being packaged. otherwise the fresh, warm croissants more than offset this disappointment as do the coffees.

All in all this is friendly place that will improve further. It is worth a stay

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueKot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 220 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2011

Excellent location in pedestrian street, just off Via Roma. Plenty of good restaurants nearby. Large high-ceilinged quiet room. Large bathroom. Good breakfast. Air conditioning noisy but effective.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salmoneater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We booked a junior suite. Room was ok, but not the two separated pieces as mentioned on the booking site. It was rather one large piece
We askef for a baby bed and received a box which we shoud build up ourselves. I presumed this went automatically, but the one click system did not work.
When I asked the reception for assistance, he couldn't really help me. Too bad
The room was indeed keeping the street noise outside, so we had a comfortable sleep after all

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SooLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights in July 2011. We are 2 Canadian females in our 30s, here to explore Sardinia's beaches.

We chose this hotel because of the great reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed!

It's a very clean hotel with friendly reception staff who speak decent English. Check in was good - we had requested 2 beds so they gave us a room with one double bed and a double pullout couch. We were pleased, after having spent the previous week sharing a double bed in a much smaller room!

A/C in the room worked well. Like many European hotels, you can only turn on the A/C when the room keycard is plugged into a slot on the wall. And they only give you one, so you can't run it while you're out. No big deal... the room cools quickly.

We were pretty impressed by the size of the room, compared to the 2 other hotels in Italy we stayed at. The bathroom was large with a marble counter and large stand-up shower. We were in room 201. There was no view to speak of, just city streets, but 2 large windows. It was a bit noisy at night since we are right in the heart of the city.

Wifi was 5 euro for 12 hours (you can log in and log out so it lasted us for 4 days). This is pretty reasonable. It worked ok in our room, but I got the feeling from the concierge that on higher floors the signal would be weaker.

Breakfast was quite good. Pastries, yogurt, fruit, cereal, meats and cheeses... standard European breakfast fare. Coffee and espresso drinks on order. Breakfast was included in the price of our room (110 euro per night).

The location is really fab. It is a 3 minute walk to the train and bus stations. Right next door to a nice department store (clothing, jewelry and cosmetics... there were some great sales - 50% off - while we were there, and we took advantage!). Also situated right on a pedestrian street with oodles of restaurants with indoor and outdoor seating. There is a bar next door that we went to one night when we wanted to eat light (if you go to a ristorante they expect you to order full meals)... we had antipasto and french fries which were delish!

I don't have any complaints at all about this hotel.

Room Tip: If wifi is important, stay on lower floors. However, be prepared for some nighttime noise from the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

A lovely hotel in a very good location in Cagliari. Staff were very, very helpful. Would most definitely return here!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed in this hotel as well as the T Hotel. Both top drawer, and couldn't be more different. The Due Colonne is located in the epicenter of high-energy Cagliari, yet sits serenely on a quiet street, lined with fabulous restaurants. The service was impeccable, with exceptional recommendations for food and activities made by the charming staff. We rented a junior suite, and found it spacious and elegant (415). Beyond that, the complementary breakfast was lovely, served in a room with a perfect sense of ascetic design and balance. Would unquestionably return, were we to re-visit Cagliari.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heyps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the bus and train stations and is surrounded by restaurants, cafes, and shopping. Our room was on the small side but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was nice, as well. Breakfasts were very good and included yogurt, cereals, pastries, etc. My only complaint is the lack of wifi in the room, although the receptionist helped us find a way to get on the internet. The staff was very professional and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayteeMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagliari hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#9 of 33 in Cagliari
594 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cagliari
Holiday Inn Cagliari
#13 of 33 in Cagliari
668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Ambasciata
Hotel L'Ambasciata
#4 of 33 in Cagliari
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Fanny
Hotel Villa Fanny
#1 of 33 in Cagliari
161 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Nautilus
Hotel Nautilus
#2 of 33 in Cagliari
317 reviews
2 mi away
Sardegna Hotel
Sardegna Hotel
#10 of 33 in Cagliari
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Due Colonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Due Colonne

Address: Via Sardegna 4, 09124, Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cagliari
Price Range: $87 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Due Colonne 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Due Colonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Due Colonne Cagliari, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing