We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Sardinian food with a creative twist, fab location, great G&Ts”
Review of Niu Restaurant

Niu Restaurant
Reserve with
Niu Restaurant is not available through our online partner for your requested time.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 1,188 Restaurants in Cagliari
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $68
Description: Niu Cagliari is located inside the ancient cloister of the "Convento di San Francesco in Stampace", in Piazza Corso Vittorio Emanuele II, the new pedestrian center of Cagliari. The Convent of San Francesco di Stampace was built 1.260 D.C. from the "Francescani" monasters. Every element of the design incorporates a combination of tradition and modern. Niu is a contemporaneity regional Italian casual life style restaurant with a strong identity from the island of Sardinia. Niu means “nest” in Sardinian language. It represents the heart of the typical “Campidanese House” (Southern Sardinia region) where people used to catch up to make pasta, brad and cakes for all around the village community. The restaurant focuses also on guest needs to fell immerse in an authentic cultural experience with traditional handcraft skills, handed down from generation to generation. Guest at Niu watch the pasta/bread/cake production onsite with in a heady mix of colours, aromas, history and tradition.
Restaurant details
Description: Niu Cagliari is located inside the ancient cloister of the "Convento di San Francesco in Stampace", in Piazza Corso Vittorio Emanuele II, the new pedestrian center of Cagliari. The Convent of San Francesco di Stampace was built 1.260 D.C. from the "Francescani" monasters. Every element of the design incorporates a combination of tradition and modern. Niu is a contemporaneity regional Italian casual life style restaurant with a strong identity from the island of Sardinia. Niu means “nest” in Sardinian language. It represents the heart of the typical “Campidanese House” (Southern Sardinia region) where people used to catch up to make pasta, brad and cakes for all around the village community. The restaurant focuses also on guest needs to fell immerse in an authentic cultural experience with traditional handcraft skills, handed down from generation to generation. Guest at Niu watch the pasta/bread/cake production onsite with in a heady mix of colours, aromas, history and tradition.
Reviewed March 6, 2019

I just love this place. It has a great atmosphere, staff is friendly and yet professional, Marcello one of the bartender, makes the best G&T in town. The most traditional Sardinian dishes are presented in a creative and elegant way, and always served with a smile. My absolute favorite are Grand Plateau di Mare and Tallarinus al nero di seppia, so yummy! Five star, no doubt.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AmbuSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niu-Restaurant, Direttore generale at Niu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2019

Dear Guest,

We thanks a lot for your beautiful review. It's a pleasure to read your words,and we hope you will come back soon to visit us.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 449 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2019

Either you want to try delicious and innovative dishes linked to traditional Sardinian cuisine or simply sipping a sophisticated cocktail, Niu is the place to be!
I have been several times and every time been treated like a king!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andreascarax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niu-Restaurant, Direttore generale at Niu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at Niu.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Let's be short about this.. This is kind of wannabe fine dining restaurant. The interior is nice, thanks to the building it self. About food. I don't know if we where unlucky or something, because for the first we ordered lobster to share, and I'm more than sure it was out dated by the smell and taste of it. And then comes the service.. When we asked him if it's supposed to smell so bad, they said yes, it's normal. But it was more more than clear that it was old. And the waiter disagreed. It's kind of disappointing and shame when staff try to prove they point even if they are wrong. No salt and pepper on the table. So what kind of place is this. Asking for a bill and even then you need to wait 20 minutes for it with another 3 tables in restaurant.
The second course was mixed fried seafood.. But you can't go wrong with fried things... Right.?! It was okay. But obviously big disappointment on first course almost ruined the night. Good thing there is wine.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Aigarzs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niu-Restaurant, Direttore generale at Niu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for this review because we are interested to understand what it didn't work. Please, believe us if we say we've never thought to be a "wannabe" restaurant, we opened few years ago and the whole staff try everyday to grow here, especially through the costumers constructive criticism. We are really sorry about what's happened.
And we'll do everything possible to solve it.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

Lovely building, attractive interior, very pleasant staff. But sadly, the food was nothing special. Our potatoes arrived way after the fish and beef dishes we ordered, the sauce and (very few) vegetables served with the fish dish were cold. The fish I found unpleasant but perhaps that was personal taste. We ordered 2 desserts - the tiramisu was good, the semifreddo described as being garnished with fresh fruit was only accompanied by a few chunks of melon.
The restaurant was very busy with 2 large parties - perhaps this is why it felt there was a lack of attention to detail with the food. By this time we were glad the second bottle of water we requested never arrived so we could go! All in all it ended up being too much to pay for an inconsequential dinner.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank bevelledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niu-Restaurant, Direttore generale at Niu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to let us know your opinion. We are really sorry about your experience and, even if the restaurant was full, isn't our way to welcome the customers.
We hope to have the opportunity to change your mind in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

This restaurant is just beautiful.
We had seen it earlier in the day and decided to go for some early dinner as we were flying out the following morning. Outside it said opening hours 11 am - 2 am, Monday to Sunday. We arrived at 6.30 asked for a table for two inside to be told by the young waiter "we are shut", good job I questioned him, because what he actually meant was the kitchen didn't open until 7 pm. I think they should be clearer on their signage. So we had a drink on the terrace and asked him to get us a table as soon as they were open.
We watched as he showed 3 other couples who just arrived to tables before he got to us.
Now the important bit, the food is absolutely out of this world, with the flavours so deep. We were near the kitchen so could watch the chef plate up with all the care you would expect in a Michelin Star restaurant. We shared a platter of ham and cheese to start and then had the bass stuffed ravioli with tomato and mussels sauce, oh my God, superb.
Sorry to bang on about this one waiter, but he was seriously bad, I never got to try the wine, he just pored it and he never served us wine again, we had to top up our glasses each time. I know, no big deal, but indicative.
At the end of the main course I asked to see the menu again and in true Faulty Towers style, I got "What !"
So to sum this place up, the best building ever, some of the best food I have ever had anywhere in the world, just a bit spoilt by a young waiter

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fatty14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niu-Restaurant, Direttore generale at Niu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are glad that you apprecied so much our typical dishes and tradition.
We are really sorry about the misunderstanding with the waiter, maybe it was caused by the language, but thank you for your precious advice because it's important for us to have a satisfied customer.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Niu.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Niu Restaurant also viewed

Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
 
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
 
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
 

Been to Niu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing