We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Camping La Mariposa
Ranked #102 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Alghero
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great family holiday”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We returned again for a family holiday at the end of May , we stayed in the vilini which is a small two bed chalet type accommodation. It is well kept and clean. The staff are very helpful . It's located right on the beach . There can be a lot of seaweed in alghero , however this year it was spotless!! , the beach is very safe for kids , shallow water, not much current. There is kayak hire and windsurfing etc , available at the campsite , and the instructor is very good . Excellent English. The bike hire on site is great to get around as the bus service doe sent seem to run to a timetable!! , it's a great place to stay for a lovely relaxing holiday

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    60
    43
    39
    26
See reviews for
57
71
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

My boyfriend and I visited in the second week of September 2013. We found the staff welcoming, friendly and always helpful.
We stayed in a 2 person Bungalow costing 34Euros (for the two of us) per night + 10Euros final cleaning fee at the end of the stay. But this is still a very reasonable price for those on a budget.
Inside, the rooms are basic, with 2 bunk beds (linen included), a wardrobe, cupboard with all kitchen utensils and bedside table. Outside in the covered patio/kitchen area there's a fridge, 2 gas burners, patio table + 4 chairs; this provided all what we needed. Although there is no direct water access in Bungalows - but services area is only 2 seconds away! Just a warning, when it rains you'd probably be best to cook outside and then eat inside - especially if it's raining a lot!

Onsite there is a small cafe/restaurant selling usual pasta/pizza, coffee and also yummy sweet things in the morning! There is also a mini-supermarket onsite selling all sorts of items, including fresh bread fruit/veg, dairy products, pasta, toiletries, in fact most things you'd need for your stay, all at reasonable prices. However there are a handful of larger supermarkets just a short walk away along Via Don Minzoni and/or around Alghero Centre. There's also a great fish/meat and veg market in the Centre - check this website for details: http://www.alghero-turismo.it (see "shopping for flavours).

The campsite facilities were always tidy, clean and functional. Cold showers = free. Hot showers cost 0.50Euros each time and last for ~5mins. You can also hire towels for 0.50Euros and Wifi is free(?) (for limited time period) in the services area - just ask for the password.
There are plenty of basins/sinks around to do any washing/dishes (but bring a dishcloth and tea towel!)- though it's cold water only.
There is a small stretch of private beach belonging to the campsite, but this tends to get a bit crowded. If you head about 10mins up the road and there's plenty of room on the sandy beach, and it's a bit quieter too (in September at least)!
You can also hire bicycles and Mopeds from a small vendor on the campsite at reasonable rates. We hired bicycles for a day and found it was a great way to get around and see a bit more of the area.

All in all we enjoyed our stay here - this is a very practical and functional place for those who are on a budget, and are not fussed about certain creature comforts (e.g. A/C, en-suite, TV etc). Good quiet location with great facilities and friendly staff. Will be booking here again, for another great little budget holiday!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The staff was very unfriendly, they made fun of us when we asked questions. Also they sell us tukul as bungalow (too much to pay for it!!!). It was like a dog house with 4 beds. You have to pay extra for cleaning. Are you kidding? For 3x2 meters for 2 minutes of cleaning. "Bungalow" doesn`t have water or sink and bin! And there smelled as mold in our "bungalow". Also there was no bathroom. You have to pay extra for shower which are outside. Also extra pay for wi-fi (not only you have to order a drink, you have to pay extra 2 € for it). Their market was expensive. Overall not good experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laritaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alghero hotels

Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

If you look for a place to stay close to the beach, a place which has excellent facilities (including quite a good bar) and are not too concerned about noise around you, this is the place. The camping is very conveniently located, has friendly staffing and is a one stop place for almost everything. However, the noise of the road and in general, the camping itself, might destroy your nights of sleep.

Room Tip: There are needle trees (low ones) in the middle of the camping which drip awfull sticky stuff on you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HansLaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

too full. they do not give assistance, crowded bathrooms and showers have to pay 0, 50 € for 3 minute shower. due to overcrowding the only receptionist in a bad mood. difficulty obtaining electricity had.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longhi328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
135 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed here for a night before flying out from Alghero airport. The site is convenient for both the town and the airport, although if you want to leave the site between 2300-0700 you'll need to park offsite as the gates are locked between these times. As the campsite's just on the beginning of the one way system it's a good idea to do this so that you don't get caught in the morning traffic.

Two of us stayed in a bunkroom this time and found it a good, cheap and convenient way to crash for a night whilst sorting out some very wet camping gear. The staff seem to have hit the ground running a bit more this year and things were in a better state than this time last year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 904TravellingChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
135 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Camping La Mariposa is situated on the coast north of Alghero. It is the closest campsite in this area in terms of Alghero itself and is a walkable distance from the town. It is sandwiched between the beach and a busy road so it can be noisy. There are various accommodation options but we camped as a group.

Unfortunately we stayed very early into the season and the whole place didn't seem to be fully up and running; he staff were OK but couldn't answer many of our questions, the ablutions were left in a pretty poor state and the shop wasn't fully stocked.

I would stay here again rather than stay even further out of town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 904TravellingChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alghero
0.3 mi away
Residence Buganvillea
Residence Buganvillea
#41 of 49 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.5 mi away
Camping Village Laguna Blu
Camping Village Laguna Blu
#35 of 138 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villaggio e Campeggio Nurral
Villaggio e Campeggio Nurral
#104 of 138 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Campeggio Villaggio Torre del Porticciolo
18.9 mi away
Camping Villaggio Golfo dell'Asinara
0.1 mi away
Alghero For Holidays
Alghero For Holidays
#61 of 138 in Alghero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping La Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping La Mariposa

Property: Camping La Mariposa
Address: Via Lido 22, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camping La Mariposa 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and PitchUp so you can book your Camping La Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping La Mariposa Hotel Alghero
Camping La Mariposa Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing