We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Maiorca - lovely apartment in perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Maiorca Apartments
Ranked #79 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Alghero
uk
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Casa Maiorca - lovely apartment in perfect location”
Reviewed May 2, 2010

We stayed in the second floor apartment, which comfortably sleeps 4. The apartment was very clean and useful items such as beach towels were provided. The location suited us perfectly in the heart of the old town, overlooking a bustling square. Beaches, port, rocky coves and parks all in easy walking distance even with young children.
Caterina was extremely helpful (speaks excellent English) and is quick to respond if needed.
The apartment was an ideal base for our very enjoyable holiday in Alghero.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjcsjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We spent 6 nights in this apartment, husband and I and 2 teenage daughters. We all loved the apartment and its location bang in the centre of the old town. The constant buzz from the piazza down below was fun, but at nighttime it was just to shut the windows, switch on the aircon and you didn't hear a sound. Our 15 year old could be left to read and sit in the square until nearer midnight, and it felt so safe. A real family destination and obviously very popular with the Italians who made up about 90% of the tourists now in July. We highly recommend taking the AO bus to the beautiful, pine forest beach, Maria Pia. 5 mins by bus. Bringing our eldest daughter with us also for a few days in norwegian autumn holiday and can't wait to come back to Alghero, our favourite restaurants, gelaterias, and of course, - Casa Maiorca!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OlsenOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2009

We rented the big appartment on the 2nd floor from the owner Cate. She speaks fluently English and was so very nice and helpfull. She even picked us up in alghero and directed us to the lovely Casa Maoirca.
The apartment is very clean and everything you needed you can find. A nice little kitchen, good comfortable beds and a perfect central place in Alghero old town.

The apartment is lovely renewed and has 2 bathrooms.

It is big enough for 4 adults, but I do not recommend it for 6 adults.
Although, if you travel with children, you can use the sofa couch for 2.

For sure we are coming back to this lovely apartment and we thank Cate for her hospitality.

Daisy
Holland

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desireeHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2008

Your stay starts with a warm welcome by the charming and perfectly English speaking host Catarina. We booked the studio Minorca. We are a family of three (fourth coming up shortly) with a 17 month old child.

The studio was newly renovated and although small, everything was in place and very clean. With two or three persons you have everything you need. The view is magnificient, overlooking a small square in the middle of Alghero's beautiful old town.

We were delighted by the fresh fruit and Sardinian cookies Catarina left at the kitchen table and the toys our daughter got to play in the sand.

The harbour is around the corner and the sandy beaches are a 15 minute walk away, crossing the old town. A bakery is at 50 metres and all the restaurants, bars and shops are on your doorstep. Check the waiter at the 'Jamaica Inn' (yes that's a funny name for an Italian restaurant). He is funny and loves his job. The food isn't that good but he makes up for that!

You can really live the Italian or, as you wish, Sardinian life there. We did! And than you should also take some disadvantages into account: like some noise from the doorway beside, a power cut-off and some noise from scooters and construction works in the street. It didn't really bother us, we like this kind of life!

Marc, Wendy, Juultje.

Eindhoven, The Netherlands

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Noise from nextdoor
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DUB67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

This apartment, in the Old Town of Alghero, is an ideal base for exploring the town. It is comfortable and well laid out and Caterina provided a bowl of fruit as well as a selection of local pastries. She is an excellant host, who after telling us where the local shops etc were, left us to explore the town with the offer of any assistance should we need it. While we visted Alghero in the off season, there was a good selection of restaurants open, offering very good value.

  • Liked — Central, well laid out
  • Disliked — The steps up to it
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Vincent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lericester, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2008

The apartment far exceeded our expectations and was located in a great place in the heart of the old city in Alghero. Owner was very friendly and helpful and the apartment was exceptionally good value for money and beautifully furnished and decorated. Alghero is a charming town and there is an excellent bus service for exploring further afield. I would highly recommend this apartment to anyone wishing to visit Sardinia.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairynufff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2008

Casa Maiorca is a great place to stay in Alghero. The charming apartment was spotlessly clean and had a very well equipped kitchen. The location can't be better.
I would really recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank K_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#12 of 49 in Alghero
661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Margherita
Casa Margherita
#62 of 141 in Alghero
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Sol Calent  Bed & breakfast
B&B Sol Calent Bed & breakfast
#104 of 269 in Alghero
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Palau De Rosa
#46 of 141 in Alghero
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Appartamento Nonna Giulietta
0.1 mi away
Ottocento Guest House
Ottocento Guest House
#49 of 141 in Alghero
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Maiorca Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Maiorca Apartments

Property: Casa Maiorca Apartments
Address: Via Maiorca 24, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartments are located in one of the three main streets of Old Town Alghero, among shops, restaurants and bars, in the same building consisting of only two apts: Studio Minorca and Casa Maiorca. The building faces Piazza Sventramento, a square at the corner between Via Carlo Alberto and Via Gilbert Ferret. The renovation was completed in June 2007, keeping the rustic charm of wooden beams mixed with all modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Maiorca Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Maiorca Apartments Hotel Alghero
Casa Maiorca Apartments Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing