We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”
Review of B&B Castiglias

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B Castiglias
Ranked #92 of 261 Alghero B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Ok, so cool, rainy weather didn't help, but can you excuse no hot water at any time during the stay despite asking especially for this as was so cold, absence of staff to ask for help, uncomfortable hard bed, thin walls so you can hear your neighbours talking, at 70 euros per room, per night. Also, little attention to detail- no floor mat for shower, cheap breakfast, without any homely touches. Would have been nice for example, to have lit the fire in the communal room as it was cold and one could not sit outside. Views would have been lovely if weather better, pool covered as one would expect in end April, convenient for airport and Alghero, but for car driver only. Looking at previous reviews (over 2 years), the suggested improvements have not been made.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indypin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 59 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2010

I have just returned from B&B Castiglias in Sardinia a few days ago with my boyfriend. We both had a lovely time and the B&B was perfect, very clean and tidy and a peaceful setting. The staff were very pleasant and we would certainly recommend to friends & family.

The pool was clean and in a great spot to catch the sun, the bedrooms were basic but had all the things you need, they were cleaned every day, however the bathtowels were not replaced every day I personally prefer to use towels over a few days but some people may not.

Having a car is important as it is a few minutes drive from the main town of Alghero.

Alghero is not my favourite destination, however we did enjoy the old town and found a great fish retaurant on the sea front.

Most places close around 1pm and don't reopen until 5 pm. we did find this a bit of a hassle, in the four days we were there we couldnt get a pizza anywhere.

Some friends who were also staying in Alghero had a guild book, i would recomend you get one too as it has so many good tips, particularly for eating out.

We drove from Olbia around the coast to Costa Smerelda and Porto Cervo.... AMAZING! the drive through Tempio to Alghero has some beautiful roads, i would recomend you hire a car and go out for a drive with a nice picnic basket and explore rather than stick to the main beaches in Alghero as they are very busy during August.

We hired a car from sixT online, it was the best price we found £100 for 4 days!

All in all our trip was really nice, i would recommend you hop from town to town rather than staying in one place, however if you visit Alghero you should stay at B&B Castilias, great value for money and a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyndarose1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Plus: comfortable rooms, terras, nice swimming pool, location ony 5 km away from airport or Alghero

To improve: friendliness staff, breakfast

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaronT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Castiglias is in a stunning rural setting, but only a 5 to 10min drive out of Alghero. Staying in the countryside is a must in Sardinia - it's just so beautiful. At Castiglias you get to enjoy your breakfast on the deck looking out to the fields and the Rio Barca with Fertilia in the distance. The rooms are a generous size, with a nice bathroom. Everything is new and the decor is neutral. The pool is lovely, and with so few people staying it is rarely busy. They have plenty of sun umbrellas and some sun loungers also. Breakfast is simple, but fine....yogurt, bread, ham cheese, juice, pastries, cereal....and sometimes freshly picked figs from the garden.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goochieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

This place is one of a kind. Staff were down to earth and very firendly and helpful in all aspects. Breakfasts served were deliciously enhanced by the breath taking morning sunrise and the nights were chrystal clear as we gazed into the stars enjoying salami and wine on the veranda. My wife and I enjoyed nearby local olive oil, formaggio (cheese) and wineries. This is a must if you go to Alghero! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We've just returned from B&B Castiglias- and don't get me wrong, we liked it a lot. However, we couldn't help but feel some people are over-hyping it a little. The setting is lovely, with great views over the fields and the river, and the pool is a real bonus. The rooms are also decorated to a good standard, with decent beds etc.

But, on the downside- you are a little way out of town- so a car is pretty essential. Not a problem I suppose if you go expecting this but a couple of other small niggles:

a) The thickness of the walls between rooms- we could hear the peope talking in the next door rooms and their coming and going pretty clearly
b) It wasn't made clear to us whether the lounge area was for guests or not. On some nights when Gabriel was using it we felt like we were intruding on their personal space.
c) Breakfast was nothing to write home about- I don't expect a grand breakfast when in Italy but the opportunity to perhaps toast the bread, or some fresh fruit or pastries once in a while wouldn't have gone amiss.
d) While bins were emptied and the room was very clean when we arrived I didn't get the sense the floors were being swept each day, and we made our own bed. The former got a little irritating after five days when there's the inevitable build up of some sand after days spent on the beach.
e) Solar powered water heating- meant on the rainy day that we had while there we didn't have any hot water.

Don't get me wrong, all of the above were niggles and I still think it'd be a great place to stay for a few days or go for a long weekend- but I don't think I'd want to be there for a week or longer or some of the things listed above would have begun to bug me.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Middler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

At Castiglias I felt at home from the moment I arrived. Partially due to the stunning sourroundings and the great comfort I enjoyed here, as well as the warmhearted reception by the owners family. Filippo and Gabriele know how to guess their guests every wish in an unobtrusive way. Their help with discovering the multifaceted city and region was also much appreciated. It was this unique mix of a tranquil environment and the spirit of generosity and kindness I experienced here which made me wonder if I had actually arrived in paradise. The only difficult part was leaving...

    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeMichael88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alghero hotels
3.9 mi away
Hotel Angedras
Hotel Angedras
#2 of 49 in Alghero
1,086 reviews
6 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
994 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Alghero 4u
Alghero 4u
#139 of 261 in Alghero
79 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#8 of 49 in Alghero
697 reviews
5.3 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
#10 of 49 in Alghero
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Castiglias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Castiglias

Address: Localita La Rucchetta 67, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 261 B&Bs / Inns in Alghero
Price Range: $100 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castiglias B&B is a beautiful villa that rises on the little high ground in front of Rio Barca, precisely in the area next to the Porto Conte’s natural park. It is immersed into the typical Sardinian flora, only 3km from the city of Alghero and 5 km from Fertilia’s airport. Thanks to its beauty, services and the enchanting view, Castiglias offers the right ingredients to someone wants to spend relaxed holidays, but also to someone, who doesn’t forgot the thousands attractions of the Catalan city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your B&B Castiglias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Castiglias Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing