We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alghero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MoreMare Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #106 of 260 Alghero B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 2, 2009

We spent at Anna's B&B 6 nights and would definitely come back there! Anna is a very nice person, smiling all the time, willing to help in any case. She found a time to tell us where to go, recommended great restaurants, beautiful beaches and best ways to spend the time in Alghero.
MoreMare is situated quite close to the old town (close enough for us - especially as we rent bikes;)). In the surroundings there are many pizzerias, two big markets. To get to best beaches you have to take a longer walk, but it's worth it.
The room that we were staying in was very comfortable, finely decorated and tidy (and so was the rest of the apartment). Mediterranean breakfast was always waiting for us just when we woke up.
To sum up, I would definitly recommend this place to anyone that is coming to Alghero. There is really nothing to complain about. We had a great time at MoreMare!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank D0r0ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
There are newer reviews for MoreMare Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 20 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2008

We really recommend you to visit Alghero on the North West of Sardinia!
A lovely place with a beautiful and interesting historic downtown, where the common language is a Catalan dialect. An amazing bay with an endless white sand beach and a crystal water clearer even than the Tropics, I swear! All this is at a walking distance, or if you prefer you can ride a bike through the panoramic biking trail.
We choose to stay at one of the many B&B in town, the Moremare, a very lovely place, not far from the historic downtown. A very clean and friendly place with a touch of Art, where the owner Anna spend a lot of time with us to give tons of information about the area around the city which is plenty of beautiful beaches, archeological and historic sites and most of all, about bar, restaurants and events, impossible to be founded in the hotel receptions!

We really like it! And we are going to plane to come back next summer to discover more, that time it wasn't enough!

We really like it! And we are going to plane to come back next summer to discover more, that time it wasn't enough!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler6972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2008

Stayed 5 nights. Liked Alghero but couldn't decide if the Moremare was in a slightly 'dodgy' area. I am veering towards thinking that it is. On arrival on first night were a bit unsure if we should stay but decided to do so as we were only there 5 nights, didn't want the hassle of dragging bags around to find another B & B.

Good points -
Rooms nice and spacious
Bathroom very clean
Landlady friendly

Bad points -
Breakfast very poor (even on 25 euros per night its possible to provide better quality and still make your profit)
Reception/entrance area - not really a reception area at all, insufficient.

Landlady very stressed - dashing about all the time, mobile phone never stopped ringing - didn't have time to advise on area - yes we read leaflets and called at Tourist Info but in the B & B trade, a good local knowledge is required to inform your guests. Don't get me wrong, what she does in her personal time is not our business but when you are running a business with paying guests, you should make sure you have time to deal with things adequately. We didn't expect the Landlady to be tied to us but we would have liked a little more attention to our queries.

Some of her family members arrived on our last night which was fine. However the next morning they left all their dirty place settings and an unwiped table full of crumbs (had 2 children so no need to explain about mess!) which I thought was very ignorant as they were fully aware we would be following them to the breakfast table. As the Landlady was not present, this was not cleared up before we had our breakfast. I have never experienced anything like that as a paying guest in any B & B,

In summary, poor service, not good enough and I definitely would not recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank discovery43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

- Breakfast very poor (even on 25 euros per night its possible to provide better quality and still make your profit)
We serve for breakfast: coffee, decaffeinated, barley coffee, instant coffee, milk, tea, chamomile, orange juice, marmalade, butter, cookies, croissants, fruit, cereals, toasted bread and Yogurts.
English Breakfast is available freshly cooked at 7 Euros per as per any English Cafe in UK.


- Reception/entrance area - not really a reception area at all, insufficient.
Moremare is a B&B where a local artist share her live/home with others that love to get involved with Alghero history, culture and life: we personally did not think the reception area was a main factor because the last think we wanted to build was an hotel atmosphere but make our guest feel like at home.

- Landlady very stressed - dashing about all the time, mobile phone never stopped ringing - didn't have time to advise on area - yes we read leaflets and called at Tourist Info but in the B & B trade, a good local knowledge is required to inform your guests. Don't get me wrong, what she does in her personal time is not our business but when you are running a business with paying guests, you should make sure you have time to deal with things adequately. We didn't expect the Landlady to be tied to us but we would have liked a little more attention to our queries.

Do not really know what to say: Phone rang because B&B very popular and lot of enquiries arrive daily. In reference to the local information, we provide a leaflet and a local map for places to visit and most of the positive feed back we receive (in here too) is thanks to the kindness we offer to our guests

- Some of her family members arrived on our last night which was fine. However the next morning they left all their dirty place settings and an unwiped table full of crumbs (had 2 children so no need to explain about mess!) which I thought was very ignorant as they were fully aware we would be following them to the breakfast table. As the Landlady was not present, this was not cleared up before we had our breakfast. I have never experienced anything like that as a paying guest in any B & B

Never mix family with business, I have learned on my time in UK :-) :-) :-).

People stayed at the B&B were paying clients (old customers), and unfortunately they mess the place up:

People come in our B&B on holiday and we understand that they love to wake whenever: This is the reason why we do not tied up our customers on Breakfast time but we leave the freedom to have breakfast from very early in the morning till 1 pm. This the reason why when I ask clients if they expect my presence at the time when they weak up they prefer to do it them self because they can have it on leasure: the condition to the above is that they need to leave the table clean (give and take rule).
I am so sorry if in this case did not happen.

We allways ask people if they want
I am so sorry because it happen, it is the first time because normally we underline to all our clients that kitchen need to be left us they find it

In summary, poor service, not good enough and I definitely would not recommend.

piaciuto di più — Lovely spacious and clean bathroom - Landlady friendly
piaciuto di meno — Poor quality breakfast items, sitting down at breakfast table with someone else's mess.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2007

Stayed 10 nights. And liked Alghero. Not a great deal to do but the beach is great. Plenty of bar/cafes and restaurant's which are priced similar to the UK.

The Moremare B&B is a bit out of the way. To get to the decent beach is 1.5 miles. And the main part of town is just under a mile. (I looked it up on "gmap-pedometer") So we were walking approximatly 5 miles a day. Thats a total of 50 miles walking on our hols in flip flops!!!

Good points for the Moremare....
Great price 25 euro's a night with 1 night free.
Bathroom kept very clean.
Anna (landlady) helped out with a few places to go.
Anna booked our taxi both there and back.

Bad points for the Moremare....
A bit out of the way.
Towels never changed (we found them ourselves)
Sheets never changed (we found them ourselves)
Floor never cleaned. (we'd have done it ourselves but no mop)
Bin never emptyed. (we did it ourselves)
Bathroom shared between 3 twin rooms (bit of queueing)
Aerobics class downstairs very noisy between 18:00-20:00
Air conditioning present but didn't work.
The hairdryer tripped the fuse one night. Couldn't find the fuse box (in the dark) so we went out half showered. When we returned we were told we should've called her as other guests had complained!!! It should've been us complaining (but we didn't).

Summary.........
Alghero would probably suit someone who is retired. For a relaxing break with good weather, plenty of restaurants and decent beach. Therefore we wont be visiting for another 30 years or so. And if we ever did no matter how cheap the Moremare was we wont be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Firstly I would like to thank you for visiting the More Mare B&B and to apologize for the late reply:

In reference to the Bad points you have underline please find to follow answers:

- A bit out of the way.
The B&B is located in one of the most populated area of Alghero, 10 minutes away from the old town and only 5 minutes away from the closest sea where Sea Chairs and Sea Ombrellas can be rented.
The cost is made of plain rocks but you can still swim in one of the best sea of Sardinia. If your taste is instead a white sand beach, than the closest one is 15 minutes walking but easily reached by local transportation with 2 Euros return.

- Towels never changed (we found them ourselves) Sheets never changed (we found them ourselves)

In order to have the B&B classification the Italian law state that you have to change the , Towels and Sheets once a week: We normally do it every 4 nights. In you case the misanderstanding was because you did not read the B&B rules and instead you have decided to open draws and search for Towels and Sheets your self: Actually, the B&B rules clearly state that for an eaxtra change of sheet and Towels cost 5 Euros but because we beleave on be kind with our clients we have decided to leave it (we would like to underline that we did not change the Towles and Sheets on the 4th day because you did it your self but we did it after the 8th night as per our rules).

- Floor never cleaned. (we'd have done it ourselves but no mop) - Bin never emptyed. (we did it ourselves)

As per the Towels and Sheets, we clean, mop and empty beans on the room every four days. Beans and local area are clean every day as per the bathroom.

- Aerobics class downstairs very noisy between 18:00-20:00

Italians normally tend to go to bed a little be later than 8 o'clock but next time you'll visit I will make sure dancing school will close by 3 pm :-) :-)

- Air conditioning present but didn't work.

Air condition is an option and rates of the B&B are made taking in consideration that some people travel on a budget and prefer to save money on extras but, if required, can be available at a small charge

- The hairdryer tripped the fuse one night. Couldn't find the fuse box (in the dark) so we went out half showered. When we returned we were told we should've called her as other guests had complained!!! It should've been us complaining (but we didn't).

We are sorry about the power cut but it is very hard to us to prevent when this will happen: the only think we expeceted was for you to contact us immediately (like the other client on the other room did and we have solved the problem immediately - This is the reason why when you went back lights were working).
P.s.: The other guest did not complain, he simply called and "INFORMED ME" and I was very happy to solve the problem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2007

We have just returned from an unforgettable weekend in Alghero! we have lodged in B&B MOREMARE, It's furnished with personality and style between modern and vintage, beautiful the pictures present in every space, a truly special atmosphere like one small art gallery, realizes , to our surprise, by the nice owner, Anna! The beds are really comfortable : I did not sleep as deeply for a long time. The bathroom is large, luminous and clean. The breakfast was optimal and rich we have made it comfortably in late morning! ... the most important, the price: only 25,00€ per person on night for the offered service. I have been there with 3 friends also have truly appreciated (2 of them have already reserved for the end of June ). The B&B is close by the center, in fact we have left the car parked at home and have caught up the evocative and characteristic historical center, where you can smell the Mediterranean cousin. We walked on the great and hold wall, who faces a beautiful transparent blue sea, it's was a beautiful day temperature was perfect we had a beautiful summer feeling, unforgettable! …this was just a small part of the beautiful vacation we had in Alghero, we really suggest to stay at Moremare to enjoy the city, Anna is just the best!
[--]

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank annblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alessio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alghero hotels
3.6 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
686 reviews
6.7 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
953 reviews
6.2 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
#11 of 49 in Alghero
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Elios
Elios
#108 of 260 in Alghero
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Wave
Blue Wave
#55 of 260 in Alghero
53 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#7 of 49 in Alghero
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MoreMare Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MoreMare Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via Ennio Porrino 44 | 07041 Alghero SS, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Alghero
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
MoreMare Bed & Breakfast Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing