We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the middle of the old centrum,unique atmosphere.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Francesco
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location in the middle of the old centrum,unique atmosphere.”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Located in the middle of the old centrum,and breakfast only(which the hotel has)is no problem as there are plenty of places around to eat.The rooms are all based around a two floor courtyard,where breakfast and special occasions take place(breakfast on the second floor).The place is very unique and the old cloister really represents Alghero's classic buildings and style.The breakfast is very simple,which I personally enjoyed,but some people may not.I stayed with my family(my wife and two kids)for three days,while we visited Alghero.While we were at the hotel,there was a piano concert in courtyard to late at night.We watched and even our kids throughly enjoyed.The rooms are good,clean and are moderately spacious.

It is very difficult to get to the hotel by car,as there are no parking spaces nearby.You will have to walk into the old centrum,and park outside.But all in all,I would definantly recomend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFineReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    52
    32
    17
    4
See reviews for
14
78
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in June 2013. It is in the heart of historic Alghero, 5 minute walk from the Bastioni and the seaside. Wonderful little street. The staff is friendly and helpful. The building is a 15th century franciscan monastery, renovated into a hotel. The rooms are quite simple, a little bare, but functional. Noting charming. The breakfast room is in the internal cloister, a complete treat to be able to eat in a 15th century cloister. The breakfast is nice, though it could be better if they had more natural ingredients (better jams, honey, yoghurt) and better espresso/capuccino. All in all, a great stay for the price. Had they done a better job with making the rooms more charming and upgrading the breakfast, this place would have been truly amazing, (though the price would be higher too of course). We were very happy we stayed there regardless.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmbrupry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Wonderful location in the heart of the old city. Parking was never an option, yet a 5 minute walk to Piazze Pace just north of the port lead to ample free parking (in the centre, not along the 2-hour only outer ring).
The staff were friendly and gave advice on dinners and sights. Unfortunately, both recommended restaurants were full and not particularly friendly, although we discovered a gem in Al Vecchio Mulino and this made up for it fine.
Wonderful sunset spot just south of Piazze Sulcis along the promenade with a few bars/benches to suit your taste.
Breakfast was in a beautiful cloister, with delicious barrista coffee (on demand if you chat to the server and smile).
Room reasonable size with clean bathroom and strong aircon. Quiet depending on which direction you face.
Negatives - shower extremely small, bathroom door thin, some religious images in the passages which may dissuade any amorous behaviour at night!
All in all, amazing value and location. Room more than adequate for a base in the heart of the old town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great place to stay to discover Alghero's old town. The hotel staff is very welcoming and helpful with anything you need, from room issues to recommendations for trips and food. It's a lovely building, the rooms are very clean and although rather spartan they have all you need. May be a little noisy if your room looks to the street, very peaceful during the day but quite lively at night!
A bit expensive for what you get, especially if travelling solo, but worth it considering location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

A clean pleasant hotel with friendly staff in the middle of the old town. Quite expensive for the facilities offered but in a very quaint setting of an old monastery. Rooms very basic, and breakfast which was also quite basic(pastries,juice and coffee) could have been better.

Room Tip: All similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeoverend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a couple of days at the end of August. So if you want a peaceful stay with some added extra’s and a wonderful location, this is the place. We stayed a few different places in Sardinia, but this was both our favourite hotel and town, there are so many positives I don’t know where to start.

There is no TV in your room, but if like us you have the internal view from your room (which I recommend) you get a free classical show, although if you have a street room, then just go along to the internal walkway where you eat breakfast. It’s just so idyllic reading a book to the sound of Chopin.

The hotel couldn’t be better located and you really are right in the middle of things, but I would also suggest going to the promenade on the opposite side from the harbour as there are some really lovely restaurants and bars there too. The parking is the free port side parking and isn’t too far to pull your case and at least there are no steps etc.

The staff at the hotel are great too and you can get drinks other than at breakfast, the room are sparse, but have everything you need and our room had a shower, not sure if any had baths. Air con worked great and it was good to get the shutters and windows open too. Breakfast has everything you will want and it’s where you can catch up on the news on the TV.

We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room looking over the internal courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pollie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The San Francesco is more of a guest house than a hotel: there are no public rooms of a conventional kind, and there are notices in the bedrooms requesting guests to vacate their rooms in the mornings for cleaning. However, the second-floor cloister, overlooking the court, is available to guests, and is a noble and tranquil retreat if you want to read or use the web in rainy weather or if you are in Alghero on business.

Visitors to the San Francesco will have very different experiences according to whether their bedroom faces inwards to the cloisters or outwards to the street. The narrow street that runs past the hotel ought to be a quiet lane. But Sardinians share the one imperfection of the Italian nation, in that they are unable to do anything quietly. So guests in bedrooms facing the lane will be wakened by very noisy garbage collection and other activities during the night, whereas those in bedrooms facing the cloisters will enjoy a religious calm.

We found the staff at the hotel very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euchromatopsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.2 mi away
La Margherita
La Margherita
#45 of 49 in Alghero
295 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Piras
Hotel Villa Piras
#14 of 49 in Alghero
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#12 of 49 in Alghero
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alghero City Hotel
Alghero City Hotel
#30 of 49 in Alghero
540 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Domomea
Hotel Domomea
#3 of 49 in Alghero
516 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Angedras
Hotel Angedras
#2 of 49 in Alghero
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francesco

Property: Hotel San Francesco
Address: Via Ambrogio Machin No. 2, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francesco 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francesco Hotel
San Francesco Alghero
Hotel San Francesco Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing