We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and simple” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Balear

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel El Balear
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Alghero
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Quiet and simple”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel. It is ideally located at the water front and close to the old town. The rooms are quiet and we had a very good sleep. The furniture looks quite shabby but the rooms are clean. The staff is very friendly.We liked the sea view during breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thoiry01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    69
    42
    22
    11
See reviews for
23
76
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

I stayed in El Balear a week ago and I was quite surprised. I did not expect the I would feel quite cosy here especialy becouse I had a great sleep and the rooms were clean, quiet and the staff was extremely friendly. Its true that hotel is not the newest but it is well maintained and I liked it a lot. However I think they could do better with dinners, breakfasts were ok. I give it 4 stars becouse of good location, price and cosiness.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Popotnik11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed on night in two very small rooms hidden away in a courtyard.
The rooms where clean and light but very small - the shower was almost just a kids shower.
It seemed a quiet-hotel, meaning that you had to be extra quiet. We had three children and they had no problems here.
Extremely nice personel always helpful

Room Tip: Make sure you get seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hartelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

We arrived 'on spec' and they found us a room - it was clean and the bathroom was very small (tiny 'hip' type bath with shower over) and a side sea view. After two nights they happily moved us to another larger room on the top of their newer block (No 41), which was very clean, had a lovely large balcony and overlloked the sea. The staff were lovely and friendly, which was what made us decide to stay for a further two nights. The breakfast was a bit limited but adequate - would not want it for a week! Position is good; quiet but near the old town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sardines10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

We liked the location on the seafront and the pleasant stroll into town along the promenade. Alghero is a great place to spend time, very relaxed with good cafes and restaurants. The hotel is really basic, but the staff make a great effort to make your stay a pleasant one. I think I would skip any meals at the hotel and just eat in town. I was very impressed that one of the reception staff phoned me to let me know I left a memory stick in the room and he mailed it on later. It confirmed my good feeling about the service.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lackavra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

We had prebooked this hotel for one night based on its location close to the centre of town. It did the job but is seriously lacking in sex appeal and pzazz. Rooms are spartan and basic '80's 2 star and the shower rooms need updating. There is a pleasant courtyard in the centre of the building and some rooms have (restricted) sea views. Parking can be tricky. Breakfast was very ordinary and we didn't sample the restaurant which didn't appear particularly inviting in a town full of good eateries. Reception staff were helpful and obliging. A totally forgettable experience, Alghero is a great town to visit though.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank housered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solna, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2009

We stayed here last night on 1-week trip to Sardinia. Just walked in a got a double room on third floor with partial seaview.... Overall decent 3-star hotel, nothing to write home about even though I am not so pessimistic about the bathroom as some earlier reviews... Maybe they have updated some...

Nice bed and great balcony with evening sun... Breakfast was ok with both the usual sugar rush products, but also bread, cheese and ham... we paid 100 Eur incl breafast for double room, which was their off season price... they charge extra for children, but waived that when we asked if we really needed to pay extra for our 4-year old...

We tried the dinner in the hotel and 20 Eur/pers was overpriced for the crap they served... So stay away from eating here for dinner... there is several restaurants on the road into the old town or 10min walk into the old town...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnus_Solna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alghero hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Alguer
Hotel Alguer
#14 of 51 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Soleado
Hotel Soleado
#33 of 51 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#13 of 51 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Margherita
La Margherita
#47 of 51 in Alghero
3.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Piras
Hotel Villa Piras
#26 of 51 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Balear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Balear

Property: Hotel El Balear
Address: Lungomare Dante, 32, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Balear 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Balear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Balear Hotel Alghero
El Balear Alghero
Hotel El Balear Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing