We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rats in the lounge”
Review of Hotel San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Marco
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Don't be fooled.
The hotel is filthy, bad service, staff with a bad attitude and rats are running around ind the lounge and around the pool.
And pool that has sides with running black oil. The beds are like boards. A guy is hammering on a horrible organ eeeeevery night til 00.00 so if you dont book with a direct sea view you will not sleep at all!!!!!!!
The beach is ok but there are better beaches alle over the island.
I have travelled a lot - this is the worst hotel EVER.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jumme67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomenicoC65, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

I am really sorry to see that some people do anything just to recieve a discount on prices in to day travelling.

This Client stayed in the Hotel omn High Season with more than 230 clients in Hotel.
How come with an full Hotel only this Client see this fantomatic Rat in the lounge on the day on his departure when he was going to pay for his nights and extras.
He was for a long time disputing with the Receptionists of prices discounts ecc.........
After not reciving the dicount he would like he go on trip advisor writing about Rats in an 4 star Hotel. It is sad that the client always have right this is absolutly correct but in some cases like this, persons who go on vacancy and holidays only to recieve discounts and money should stay home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Marco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 294 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

A little above an average typical beach hotel - with private beach access, piano player, huge lounge area, and private Tui reservationist (for the Netherlands, I believe)... So in saying that, it does come with very nice things. Staff wasn't overly friendly (but I think that's more of an Italian thing? Not sure... It seemed like the majority of the people there were not very friendly, but I'm going to chalk it up to it being a different culture. Although the owner of the little restaurant next door gaffed about her people being racist. Which was a little awkward since she only addressed my boyfriend who is white and I'm very brown). Anyway... the prices for Alghero hotels can be a bit steep so the money we paid was reasonable for this area. And I believe the hotel accomodations are all pretty much the same so shop around a bit because we saw loads of beautiful apartments which I thought may have been a better option since we weren't getting the great customer service anyway. Oh yeah... bed wasn't comfortable and there was one iron for the whole hotel? What is that all about?

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler_Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

location is perfect, beaches - not so perfect, hotel very friendly, food lovely, staff very helpful

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gofffamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

the hotel is in front of the beach and 20 min walking distance from the city center, Cleanliness of our room and all public areas was very good.The buffet breakfast had a choice of cereals, breads,cold meats, cheeses, juices etc much better than some of the reviews I read. The evening menu was of a high standard with excellent service and a good choice of food. Nice music in the evening. I Enjoyed the comfort of the lounge areas and friendly bar service. Reception staff were most friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katy Marie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

The building and location were perfectly OK, but the service is terrible. The first day our floor was not cleaned, so there was a lot of junk on the floor like pieces of plastic, which our baby could put in his mouth. It turns out that they charge for EVERYTHING. If you want to change your towels more than once a week you must pay 5 Euro/person; if you want airconditioning it is 7 Euro; if you want a place at the beach it is 12 Euro/person (or 10 if you sit farther back); internet is 10 Euro/day; in the end it turns out they wanted to charge us 5 Euro/day for a baby crib, but we refused to pay, since they did not inform us of this charge when we moved in. These above examples show that to get the same service you would get for free at a normal hotel, two people would have to pay over 50 Euro a day extra (10 for towels + 24 for beach places + 7 for airconditioning + 5 for crib 10 for internet = 56 Euros extra). We booked the trip through a Swedish charter agency, so it is hard to know the cost of the hotel, but I would estimate it was about 100 Euro per day, so if one pays the extra costs, the price increases by about 50%.

The breakfast was also very disappointing. The two "juices" offered had much more sugar than fruit in them. There was only one type of cheese, the meat usually did not taste good (except for the salami, which they stopped serving after a few days), there was no warm food, after the first few days they stopped including honey with the tea, etc. So after two weeks we were completely bored with the breakfast, which again was not the level you would expect from such an expensive hotel.

We tried lunch once. It was overpriced (12 Euro for a small portion of food plus a small drink and some bread) and add 2 Euro in service charges. My lasagne was so small I had to go and buy other food at a supermarket afterwards and it was also a bit burnt.

In spite of all this, the staff was friendly and soon you realize how to get around rules, such as by buying a fan for 15 Euro at the Billa Supermarket instead of paying for airconditioning or borrowing towels from the cleaning ladies when they are not looking, but that is not the way one wants to spend a vaccation. I can add that they do not clean at all on Sundays, so by Monday you feel like you are living with pigs in the barnyard rather than paying for a moderately luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rattvik90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This is a beach hotel and must be rated as one. This is not a high end business hotel, but a hotel where people walk in bikinis with sandy feets around the lobby.

Building standard is rather poor, and appartments are simple and poorly equiped.

Staff was nice, appartments were big, and if you use your days sun bathing this is the place to stay - this is the best location along the beach. The city nearby is lovely and is a 15 minutes walk away.

Restaurant has a good atmosphere, but only average food. Pool is rather large, but the pool area is not the best, but good for kidt I guess.

While city nearby is VERY lovely, the area gets simpler and poorer each km away. San Marco is in the wery last part of what may be concidered to be an acceptable area, 1.6 km away from city.

Room Tip: Appartments on the front is best, vith sea view - but note that sea view appartments in the center h...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SiggyOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Location
At the small beach road, where many locals from Alghero come in their free time.
The old town is just 20 mins walk away.

Service
Friendly staff.

Room
Basic, slightly dusty, quite small but we had a huge balcony towards the pool area (balcony chargeable).
The fridge worked, but the air condition was out of order during our entire stay (A/C chargeable at EUR 7 per day).
Bathroom. Hot water available all day, but the toilet needs a disinfection urgently.

Pool area
Small but in order.
Located in the back yard i.w.o. the restaurant.

Breakfast restaurant
The breakfast is very basic (continental type).

Restaurant ("La Terazza")
Indoor and outdoor.
Tried it once, not all the food was OK, and the house wine was certainly not a pleasure.
There are a number of good restaurants around, so it is not necessary to go to the old town.
Recommend "Alguer Mia" in Via Cipro, where locals come.
Turn right from the hotel and hit the second road on the right hand side.
Also recommend the snack bar "L'Ancora" next to the hotel.

Bar
Indoor only.
No atmosphere.

Beach
Excellent beach with adjacent snack bars outside the hotel.
The sun beds cost EUR 10 per day.
Public beach "Pineta Maria Pia" behind the pine trees a 10 mins walk to the right from the hotel is a good alternative.
Also small public beaches available abt. 1 and 5 min walk in same direction.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr-Traveller-In-Time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Soleado
Hotel Soleado
#33 of 49 in Alghero
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#16 of 49 in Alghero
477 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#21 of 49 in Alghero
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Buganvillea
Residence Buganvillea
#42 of 49 in Alghero
108 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alghero City Hotel
Alghero City Hotel
#29 of 49 in Alghero
556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#8 of 49 in Alghero
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marco

Address: Via Lido 57, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#18 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range: $101 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Marco 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel San Marco, situated directly opposite one of the best stretches of the Lido Beach. The white fine sand blends with the surrounding sea colours and gives all the emotions that one expects from the Mediterranean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marco Alghero
San Marco Hotel
Hotel San Marco Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing