We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“IF YOU ARE GOING WITH A BABY...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Oasis
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“IF YOU ARE GOING WITH A BABY...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

PROS:
STAFF
Very baby friendly and professional especially the charming waitresses in the dining room who went out of their way to entertain my son and the other babies during the meal, they lavished attention on him, sang him songs and cuddled him, he adored them.They are a real credit to this hotel. Wanda and Maria Grazia - tante grazie!

ROOMS AND BATHROOMS
Very big showers - ample room for 3 with large removable shower head.(no baths in rooms)
Super king size bed ( 2 singles pushed together but was fine) plenty of room for our son who slept very well ( they charge extra for a travel cot)
Rooms and bathroom are spacious and very clean.

FOOD
Buffet style breakfast and dinner - lots of healthy finger foods for babies like boiled carrot sticks,
green beans, asparagus, cheeses, bananas, broccoli florets, melon etc. ( never any chicken on menu though, but lots of fish, pasta and veal)

POOL
Pool area very clean and secluded ( a real sun trap but with plenty of shaded areas) with a good sized paddling/ baby pool and 2 well kept play areas with lots of rides for all ages, you can play table tennis, pool and table football by the pool. There are also 2 very clean toilets by the pool as well as clean outdoor showers.
Beach is very close, literally across the road and is beautiful, turquoise water and white sand with dunes and pine trees.

CONS:
Dinner time is from 7.30pm which was late for our 8 month old
Pool doesn't open until 9.30am and shuts at 5pm. ( You can stay on loungers around pool until about 6.30 though but they close off the pool from about 5)
Main pool is very cold, ok once you are in. If it is hot weather - maybe more bearable. My son went in the main pool with wetsuit body warmer though and was fine.
No fridge in the rooms and you can't hire one we were told and then on the last day a receptionist just gave us a mini fridge for our room, frustrating that they didn't give it to us earlier, we wasted a lot of milk and had to use the bar and restaurant fridges. But you can get one if you ask, maybe speak to manager because not all of the staff seemed to know about it.

Bedroom walls are paper thin, you can hear a lot from rooms nearby. We had very noisy neighbours one night,very late and had to complain to reception who sorted it out straight away for us.

Becareful with poolside rooms as there is loud live music from July in the evening until midnight by the pool which is noisy (hotel told us that)
Beds very hard but we put a blanket under the bottom sheet as a mattress topper which made it more comfortable. Our baby slept really well in the bed anyway.
There is no kettle in the room, however we saw someone being given a kettle at reception so it is worth asking for one. Milton tablets worked a treat in the bathroom sink though for sterilising

Coffee is out of a vending type machine and dreadful , if you normally only drink filtered coffee, this is much worse than instant coffee. They do have a proper coffee maker but they keep it a bit secret until we discovered that you are entitled to have your first coffee at breakfast from the proper machine if you ask a waitress nicely. Excellent coffee in the restaurant on the beach over the rd ," La Conchiglia "excellent seafood here too, big portions and highchair.

Overall, this is a lovely hotel and we got a good deal through Thomson. Other guests all very nice, if you can excuse some of the smaller drawbacks, it has some redeeming 4 star features and is very clean inside and out. There is a mini market on site where you can buy fresh rolls everyday and they sell cheap inflatable water dinghy type toys for children and some emergency baby food in jars. Food is generally very good for a 3 star, whilst breakfast isn't amazing, they do do great eggs!
Teddy's Mum

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katrina79London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    245
    110
    35
    19
See reviews for
192
195
35
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Just spent a week at the Oasis at the beginning of the season so the hotel was fairly quiet which suited me. The staff in Reception, the restaurant, the bars and housekeeping were all so lovely. Nothing was too much trouble. Very professional, lots of smiles and always helpful.
The bathrooms have been updated and are very good indeed - big shower, lots of hot water. My bedroom furniture was a bit dated and I could hear noises from my neighbours but because the hotel was not fully occupied, this wasn't a problem. Everything is kept sparklingly clean.
I was booked in for half board and couldn't believe how marvellous the food was. Breakfast provided an enormous choice from egg, bacon and tomatoes through cold meats and cheese, cereal, different types of bread, fresh fruits, yoghurts, croissants, cakes, endless tea and coffee and fruit juice. Dinner was delightful every evening. Always a choice of soup, two or three pasta dishes, meat, fish, vegetables, salads and then desserts. The chef is an exceptional cook and the restaurant staff are attentive and charming.
The pool area and bar are kept incredibly clean though I must confess I didn't swim as the water was too cold for me!
The lovely beach is just across the road and through the pine trees - wide, white sand and clear, clean water.
Alghero is an easy bus ride away and within walking distance if you're feeling active. It is a delightful town with nice shops, lots of restaurants and interesting historic buildings.
I'd certainly go back to the Oasis.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joop51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

clean hotel, location not so good, around 3 km to centro. by walk is quite good. perfect beach front of the hotel, really clean. good breakfast. but...the walls in the hotel are really thin. We heard everything and couldnt sleep well. Our neighbour from next room snored every night. Real nightmagre!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dominica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We are almost finished our week in this wonderful place. From the start everything looked good. Reception check in was quick, smooth and friendly. Paulo and Luigi know what professional host mean! Thanks!
We booked apartment for 4 people (2 + 2) Very clean and spacious. Beds very comfy and I slept like a baby each night. The walls are thin, but there were no issues with it. Good sized balcony and very clean pool-though cold! Refreshing though! We really liked the quiet atmosphere around the pool area - no awful europop music blaring or animation teams bothering you!
Location good with centre of town 35 min walking or by bus AF 10 min for 1€. To the beach only 200 metres! And yes, this was great part of each day for our family! Clean crystal blue, not overcrowded ( yet)
Supermarket in about 900 metres distance. Mini market at the hotel.
We finally went for HB! Great choice but not so cheap. Wow, what a great selection and always something new at evening. Breakfast good choices too. Super welcome staff deserve for A++!
All in all, a great stay in a lovely place which I would happily stay in again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sabinka1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel gives a good value for money. We even chose to come back at the end our trip.

I chose this hotel due to the recommendations I read here, and must say it was very refreshing, thanks to the high professionalism of the staff.

The rooms are very clean and nice. I really liked the big showers.

The breakfast is medium. There is no large variety of food, but it wasn't disappointing and fitted our needs.

The pool is really great, and it is ideal for families with kids. We liked the atmosphere around it, especially the shows of the entertainment crew at nights.

The hotel is located near by the beach, and other nice restaurants and cafe's.
Therefore, it is a very good choice in alghero.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natalie241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Last June at 7 months pregnant my partner and I took a two week break to this hotel on half board.
Initially I thought Mmmm. But after a couple of days I found more plus points than negatives.
Very close to lovely beach. Excellent food did repeat but then for 14nights not surprising. Pool was great and there always seemed to be a bed. Room was spacious and simple but then I did not want to spend hours in my room. Would recommend not having a room to close to outside bar. The hotel was a fair distance from town but there are buses and cabs were not to expensive for couple of trips. Very much.
Downside someone needs to shot the pianist who play the same music 3 times a week in the same order and badly. We understand he is family!! Large amounts of wine improve this considerably I was reliably informed (downside of pregnancy could not take anything to block out c**p sound).
Overall though a simple relaxing break for most ages...I think teenagers or those looking for bit of night life would be bored.

Room Tip: Top floor facing towards pool as far away from bar and main reception as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

What a fantastic location this hotel has. Just back from a short break in an apartment. Staff so friendly and helpful - organised a pizza delivery, ordered bread for breakfast each day, all info needed about shops, car parking etc. Pool area is lovely. Apartment very spacious and very clean. Big balcony. Complex edged by palm trees. Quiet location but only a 5 Minute walk to a fantastic beach - white sand, shallow blue sea, 2 nice bars/restaurants. Down the road The Pergola served a nice dinner in pleasant surroundings. End of season but still enough tourists about. Alghero old town is lovely, very atmospheric. Nice restaurants on the walls. Good boat trip to Neptune's Grotto. Visited Sintino - beautiful beach. All in all - couldn't be better, will go back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank expat h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alghero hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#10 of 50 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Domomea
Hotel Domomea
#1 of 50 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#20 of 50 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#5 of 50 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
5.6 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#7 of 50 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis

Property: Hotel Oasis
Address: Viale 1 Maggio, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Oasis 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Oasis is a modern three star hotel situated on the Alghero-Fertilia Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oasis Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing