We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel and good value”
Review of Hotel Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Oasis
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel Oasis is a lovely hotel just outside Alghero the main town, accross the road to the hotel is a small pine forest , once you walk through the pine forest you reach a beautiful beach, white sand blue sea.
The staff at the Oasis are very helpful and friendly and will do all they can for you, the food is fantastic.
This is our fifth time at the Oasis, and will be going back next year, it just feels so good and relaxing

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carolspurling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Oasis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 624 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

I have just returned from a week at the Hotel Oasis. Its 3 star and the basic level of the rooms reflect this though the shower was great and no problems getting hot water it had a double bed so was fine. The food and staff were wonderful and made up for the small room . I was travelling as a single so with no supplement to pay I didnt mind the smaller than average room. The evening entertainment is horrendous the organ player does not speak english or know the words to any of the songs he sings, there is a bar called Santa Cruz that is a 10 min walk along the beach which has a fantastic atmosphere and is well worth checking out.

Room Tip: Ask for room over looking pool as the ones over the car park get noisy
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilacliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here as a couple on a two week Thomson package holiday on a half board basis. The hotel was pretty much as described here and in places it did look a touch tired but the excellent service by the staff made up for it. Rooms are basic and we were warned about extra costs of air-con and the safe, which is a missing brick in the wall with a lockable door, so not very big or high-tech. OK for a small pouchless camera and Sat Nav but otherwise very tricky to get anything else in. I found the extra costs a bit cheeky and wondered if they would charge for heating in winter as well.
Rooms were a good size, beds comfortable but twin only with visitor's crack and a bathroom with bidet and shower very good. TV basic and old fashioned box instead of flat screen but that did not bother us one bit. Our balcony overlooked the tennis courts, had a couple of chairs and a table plus a short washing line and yes, the shutters are noisy but the french doors did not seem very secure so rattle they may but they also provided extra security.
We stayed here late Aug - first week of September, so the main season may have been over already. However, it does not create a good atmosphere if only one bar is open. Don't get me wrong, we loved it here but if you want to stay in the hotel in the evening, you only have one option for drinking which is the pool bar. Three times a week, an "entertainer" comes and plays on his keyboard but we only endured this once as the dude cannot sing and there is no quiet corner where you can have a conversation except for the reception bar area and that bar was closed. He also played non-stop, so beware of "Mr Duracell bunny" on his Bontempi as he does go on a bit and plays the same stuff every time. A bit frustrating to feel you needed to go out and away from the hotel premises or just stay on your balcony. On one occasion due to heavy rain, they opened up the reception bar as the pool bar was getting too wet but then the beer was warm as they did not plan ahead despite there being printouts of the weather forecast on a noticeboard for the next few days. Again, no showstopper but a shame and easily sorted.
The nearest bar, La Playa, is about 15-20 min walk, which you don't always fancy or La Pergola cafe/bar by the kiosk but bright lights and road side location plus beer even more expensive than anywhere else.
These are just small niggles in what is otherwise a lovely hotel but we couldn't help feeling that it could be so much better or has seen great days gone by which are no longer. The restaurant staff were fantastic. Very friendly and efficient, always smiling and keen to get you to speak Italian, which I relished. On my birthday, I got treated to a Prosecco breakfast and I got “Happy Birthday” sung to me and a cuddle from one of the waitresses which was really sweet. Our Thomson rep, Roberta, was also very good and less sales driven than we were used to. I felt like she was more a friend but remained professional at all times.
The pizza restaurant Bahia opposite the main entrance served good value pizzas and the staff were friendly there, too. The hotel, as many have mentioned here before, have a cashless system whereby you either load the card with cash upfront or put the food and drink on tab and settle the bill at the end. You don't realise how much it is stacking up, although you do get a running total every time but then you're on holiday and want to enjoy it. At the end, it was still a surprise how much it all came to, but we cancelled the air-con half way as we felt there was no need.
Food in the hotel is excellent. We only ate out three times in the pizzeria opposite and once in La Pergola (not worth it) and one dinner at La Saletta in Alghero which was out of this world. Given the food is so varied at dinner time and paid for as part of the package, we did not feel the urgency to go out and try different places in Alghero, which reflects well on the restaurant. One exception: the breakfasts were very samey, which is a pity. The only variety was in the cakes but otherwise the same every morning. Another niggle was the fact that the coffee was awful. Tea with two teabags was drinkable but I was disappointed that they did not have decent coffee unless you went to the pool bar, which was a bit pointless so the hotel should try harder there, given that this is supposed to be a country of coffee lovers.

We really enjoyed our stay here, but kind of missed a certain buzz. There are lots of facilities but a lot don't seem to be in use. Maybe it's the time of year we went, maybe the hotel has stopped trying in some areas but the heartbeat is certainly there and I have very fond memories of the place. There is a certificate on the wall next to the restaurant by Thomson holidays which is still proudly displayed but dated 1986. Maybe those were their heydays as there has been nothing since, which makes me wonder. I would give this more a 3.5 than 4 but 4 for the great staff and food and 3 for the hotel as a complex. Quiet is great, is relaxing and all that. However, only one option for drinks/entertainment is a bit disappointing and could easily be sorted. You’d think it would be in the hotel’s interest to make money as the way to Alghero town is pretty far and buses are random.
I would still recommend this place though as location great and beach lovely. Pool area good and sunbeds new but did not use which such a nice beach across the road. Don’t dismiss this hotel for its niggles, stay and enjoy the warm welcome of the staff.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms overlooking tennis courts
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michaela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Fabulous large pool with baby pool and whirlpool, table tennis, pool and table football. Our room was excellent overlooking the pool, we had a quad room which fitted us all in. The Balcony was massive! We walked to the beach which is over the road, and drove into the town. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was average. Mostly families and small groups from England and other European countries. Rooms were clean and nicely decorated. This is only a 3 star so no mini bar, tea/coffee making or any other luxuries. Very good value though for the facilities. 10 mins to the airport if you don't get lost and 5 mins by car into the town. I would agree with the statement about the poor soundproofing from other guests but it did not affect us.

Room Tip: The quad rooms have a big balcony and face the pool.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Berkshire45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Having not had a good year so far we desperately needed a holiday and the two weeks we spent at the Hotel Oasis exceeded our expectations. The rooms were reasonably basic but were clean with an excellent shower and air conditioning at a cost (6 euros/day). We had three single beds as my daughter was sharing a room with us but there was just about enough room to move about without getting too much in each others way.
The public areas of the hotel were all kept clean, the pool area had plenty of sunbeds and parasols and was roped off until the pool was opened (preventing people from 'reserving' sunbeds and then going to beakfast). As for the food we had high expectations after reading previous food scores and we were not disappointed. In our 2 weeks stay the menu was different every single day and if you like italian food, with plenty of grilled vegatables, pasta dishes, seafood, fish, etc., then your only problem will be deciding what to have. All the staff were very friendly, from the reception desk, to the cleaners, to the restaurant staff, to the bar staff.
As for the location it suited us fine as we were after a relaxing holiday. It is quite a walk into Alghero old town, particularly in the heat, but the buses run quite regularly and were cheap (1 euro each way), but it's well worth a visit to walk round the old town walls and through the cobbled streets. The advantage of being further out though was that the beach across the road from the hotel, accessed by a short walk through some trees, only had a few private beach clubs so was mostly public. The beach itself was clean, sandy and gently shelving and the water crystal clear. There were quite a lot of hawkers walking up and down the beach selling everything from sunglasses and beach towels to coconut, mobile phone accessories and massages.
One tip I would give is to take plenty of suncream with you as we found it very expensive to buy out there.
Overall we had such a good time and liked the hotel so much that we are thinking of going back again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the hotel swimming pool have a better view but may suffer from more noise from the...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Humejap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks half board holiday in Hotel Oasis and overall thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
If you fly into Alghero, the transfer is 15 mins max. Reception staff are very helpful and speak good English.
Rooms are basic, ours overlooked the front of the hotel, so no view, but equally no noise either. We are a family of 3 with an 11 year old so had a 3 single bed room with air con. This consists of 3 beds, wardrobe, big bathroom and balcony with table and chairs on it. Whilst the rooms are basic, and could do with being updated, they are kept beautifully clean with a maid coming in everyday.
Breakfast had choices of eggs, bacon and sausages, meats, yogurts, fruit, cereal and coffe and tea from a machine.
Lunch can be bought from the pool bar, either in the hotel side or at the apartment side on site there is a good pizza take away.
Dinner was different and varied every night, with choices too .. For example, one meat dish, one fish dish and one veggie dish, and then 3 pasta choices. Only one night was there chips. Lots of fresh fruit too and lots of bread.
Pool is big, and whilst it is a bit cold when you first enter, soon seems lovely and warm, a kiddies shallow pool and 2 hot tubs to the side, but they aren't actually hot!!
What we loved about this hotel is that the pool area isn't opened until 9.30 am so no one even tries to put towels on beds ... And there is no need to ... At most there was 9 or 10 people in the pool!!!
I will agree with other reviews that the rooms could do with some soundproofing but it wasn't a huge problem.
Alghero is a beautiful town. You must go there. It has a lovely harbour, with trips leaving it almost hourly. Try a gelato from a proper gelateria too .. Italian ice cream at its best!
We caught a bus into town and one back ... Never had a problem either way. €4.20 for all 3 of us. Took less than 15 mins to get there.
The beach is just a walk out of the hotel, cross the road, and through the woods ... It is a beautiful sandy beach and the sea is warm. But ... It was rammed!!! Lots of people on it .. And lots of umbrellas too...to hire e sunbeds on beach is €15 which we thought was a lot.
Overall we loved Sardinia. Hotel oasis is quiet and friendly, which is just what we wanted.
There is a table tennis table, table football, mini golf and a pool table

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snails67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alghero hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
686 reviews
4.9 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
#11 of 49 in Alghero
716 reviews
5.6 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#7 of 49 in Alghero
682 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#8 of 49 in Alghero
853 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Angedras
Hotel Angedras
#2 of 49 in Alghero
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis

Address: Viale 1 Maggio, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Price Range: $81 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Oasis 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Oasis is a modern three star hotel situated on the Alghero-Fertilia Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oasis Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing