We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only average” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Piras

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Piras
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Alghero
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Only average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

The hotel itself was fine, the room generous in size but poor in decor. Not sure if the owners are planning to turn the room into a self catering but there were utensils in the room and a sink unit but no water from the taps. There is a pipe under the sink and one would assume its to turn on the water but no, we found out its a gas pipe, so dont turn it on like we did.
The bathroom was clean but small and could do with some refurbishing. We did have a nice large balcony but needs an outside light.
Breakfast was like previous reviewers said and the coffee awful, having been all over Italy this is the first time to have self service powdered coffee and milk. Not sure why they cant use the shiny machine in their bar.

The hotel is a good 20 minute walk to the harbour and town centre, but a further 20 minute walk to the sandy beach, we ended up hiring bicycles to get us there and back each day.

Overall the hotel is clean with towels changed each day but it was more basic than we had expected and certainly further from town than was convenient.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tipptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    57
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
18
67
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2007

Have just returned from a week long stay at Villa Piras with my partner. We found the hotel to be true to the website - clean, simple and friendly.

Although there were only two of us, we had a family suite with two bedrooms, one with a small balcony. Our bedroom was spacious with simple furniture and comfortable beds - all the beds were single but they had put ours together to create a double, which was fine. The bathroom appeared to be newly fitted and towels were changed daily - the only negative was that it was a bit cramped.

Breakfast was continental in style and served in a pretty floral terrace area. Although not particularly exciting, it was enough to start the day with yoghurts, apples, juice, coffee, fresh bread, croissants and biscuits. There is also a supermarket (Pellicano) about 15 min walk away.

We found the owners helpful and friendly. Sandro responded to my pre-arrival email enquiries promptly and helpfully (in English) and we often saw him at breakfast and in the evening.

All in all, it was a good base for visiting Alghero and the surrounding area - about 20 mins walk to the old town and at 80 Euros per night very reasonable. We will definitely be returning to Alghero in the future.

  • Liked — Floral terrace area
  • Disliked — Cramped bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cam_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2007

My girlfriend & I booked a double room at this hotel 5 months in advance but upon arriving we were told we had to have a twin room. The twin room was very small and our beds couldn't be pushed together. Coffee at breakfast was the worst I have tasted in Italy. Its a 20 min scenic walk into the old town, on reflection I wouldn't recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidays101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2007

We've just returned from Villa Piras and had a truly wonderful and memorable time. The hotel was excellent and Alghero is a charming town with many excellent restaurants. Although the breakfasts may not be to everyone's liking, it is always possible to pick up a few items in a supermarket. The Villa Piras restaurant (beside the hotel) is not owned by the hotel owners but the food was marvellous and service was at all times professional. All in all, we can't wait to return!

  • Liked — The friendliness of the family and staff of the hotel.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2007

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Villa Piras this early May, and had a lovely time! Sandro, the evening manager, spoke English very well, and was very friendly and helpful.

We used Alghero as a base to explore some of the area. The drive down to Bosa was spectacular, and the town of Bosa itself is quite beautiful, and worth walking around to explore its backstreets. We also drove to Neptune's grotto, but as the seas were choppy that day, the caves were closed. Call ahead first [--] before you drive out there as we did, only to find it closed. We were less excited about old town Alghero. Though picturesque, we found it a bit touristy and the shops/restaurants overpriced.

That said, we really liked Hotel Villa Piras. We had a room on the third floor (2nd floor in the Italian manner). The room was huge, spotless, and had a balcony with a sea view. Very nice!

Breakfast was fine...on the better end of typical for a continental breakfast.

It was a short (15 minute) lovely walk along the seaside to the main historic downtown area of Alghero, past the unnecessarily security gated Hotel Villa Las Tronas.

The Hotel Villa Piras itself showed great care went into it. With bougainvilleas in bloom, palms and plants everywhere, a nice fish pond/fountain in the entryway, it had a very comfortable, inviting feeling. The pictures on their hotel website are true to our experience as well (google: "villa piras" .it ). Parking was quite easily found along the street in front. Both nights we just parked right outside the hotel.

All of this, and at very reasonable rates! Definitely a great place to stay if you are staying in Alghero!

  • Liked — Great value for money! Very comfortable and homey. Handy to downtown.
  • Disliked — nothing really.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karlitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2007

We have just returned from a wonderful week at the Villa Piras,we were staying on the second floor of this family run hotel. The bedroom was spacious and there was a large balcony with views of the sea and over looked the beautiful garden. We enjoyed a leisurely breakfast in the garden which was more than adequate with various pastries and bread and jam.The walk into town took about twenty minutes but was very scenic.The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Liked — Friendly family run hotel
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank janeLiverpoolEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2007

Spacious rooms but poorly adapted furniture for storing of clothing.
Because of the adjacent, very noisy restaurant, it was impossible to sleep before 2 a.m. !.
The hotel itself is very noisy too (water conducts ).
We will forget this hotel for our future visits to Alghero !

  • Liked — clean hotel and rooms
  • Disliked — Noise !!!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alghero hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Alguer
Hotel Alguer
#14 of 51 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alghero City Hotel
Alghero City Hotel
#29 of 51 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rina Hotel
Rina Hotel
#21 of 51 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Residence Europa
Residence Europa
#32 of 51 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#13 of 51 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Soleado
Hotel Soleado
#34 of 51 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Piras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Piras

Property: Hotel Villa Piras
Address: Viale della Resistenza 10, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Piras 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the finest areas in Alghero, the Hotel Villa Piras offers spacious rooms with balconies, many of which overlook the Mediterranean Sea, with background the imposing promontory of Capo Caccia. All have air conditioning, LCD TV, minibar, private bathroom with toiletries. Inside the hotel are available for guests a relaxation room, an internet station and a pizzeria restaurant that offers seafood specialties. The Hotel Villa Piras is 50 meters from the Gulf of Alghero and about 800 mt from the historic center that can be reached in 10 minutes by a leisurely stroll along the waterfront. Just 20 meters there is a bus stop leading to the center and the beaches. Offering free Wi-Fi, Hotel Villa Piras serves in the morning a varied continental and international breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Villa Piras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piras Hotel Alghero
Hotel Villa Piras Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing