We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”

Osteria Barcellonetta
Ranked #26 of 356 Restaurants in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $39
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Singapore
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I popped in here while we were wandering around the streets and we were very impressed by the service and the quality of the food. The price was reasonable and we left happy. What more do you need to know? If I came back to Alghero again I would definitely plan a to visit this little place again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank khawk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    621
    436
    154
    46
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy place, friendly staff, food average”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Tired a few dishes and must admit I had high expectations to find excellent local dishes after reading other reviews, but this wasn't the place for that (unless the kitchen had a bad day).

We had a lunch and tried a few anti-pasti and main courses - pasta and seafood

The place was cosy but the food was only average. Prices and staff was ok. I wouldn't say it was bad but it wasn't a hidden gem as other seems to believe.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swede75_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“verramente ottimo!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Having waited nearly 20 minutes in the rain for a table at this restaurant, our spirits severely dampened and with scarcely any acknowledgment from the (admittedly very busy) waiting staff, things were looking bleak..... I was blown away by what happened next. An excellent plate of really tasty meat and cheese antipasto was followed by some of the best pasta my wife and I have ever tasted (and we've eaten our fair share!)...
The wild boar gnocchi was out of this world, and the house ravioli had a wonderful filling accompanied by an incredible tomato sauce (which was duly mopped up with our spare bread). Washed down with a great bottle of the 2009 San Constantino (highly recommended with this type of dish). We're had the tiramisu for dessert, again made fresh in their kitchen and was of the highest quality. Also had a nice surprise when the bill came through.
In conclusion, honest tasty Italian food, great Service (even though we were the last customers left we were offered coffees and digestivis), nice environment in a good location. We will be returning, not to be missed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Middletonsmith2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We decided to visit seeing some good reviews. Although we had to wait over 30 mins for a table outside, it was worth it. And the staff were so friendly, they even offered us a drink whilst we waited. The mussels were the best I've eaten in Alghero, very fresh. Fish of the day was sea bream and again very good and simple, as well as reasonably priced. Beautiful atmosphere of the Old town, fresh food and great service. Will be back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jesschow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, good food, excellent service”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I visited this restaurant twice. First time I had ravioli with ricotta and my girlfriend and ravioli with potatos. The combination seems strange however it was really delicious. We ordered also small bottle of wine and were surprised how good it was (taking into account that it costs only a couple od euros).

The second time we ordered a lasagna di pane crasau as first course and tunna with grilled vegetables as second. Lasagna and tunna were delicious however only vegetables were overdone (this is the reason why I have not given max. score).

Staff is realy nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bkra82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Barcellonetta also viewed

Alghero, Province of Sassari
 
Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 
Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 

Been to Osteria Barcellonetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing