We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”
Review of Hotel Portoconte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Portoconte
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Pros: very friendly and helpful staff, good menu for lunches/dinners, good cleaning. Cons: the furniture of the rooms looks a bit old, especially in the bathrooms; American Express credit card is not accepted; the fan of the swimming pool is very noisy, even during the night. The swimming pool and the beach are really nice, However, the hotel is located a bit away from the city of Alghero: the public bus has only a few runs per day and the taxi trip costs about 30 euros. Therefore, a rental car is practically necessary to better enjoy the surrounding.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luciano P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portoconte, Direttore at Hotel Portoconte, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014
Google Translation

Buongiorno Luciano,

la ringrazio per aver recensito la nostra struttura, contribuisce a migliorare i nostri servizi.

Ha ragione, l'arredamento delle camere standard è un po datato, ragion per cui abbiamo tenuto la classificazione 3 stelle e prezzi modici in questi anni e fortunatamente stiamo lavorando molto bene.
Se ce lo avesse comunicato e le avesse fatto piacere l'avremo cambiata di stanza, abbiamo 143 stanze non ci sarebbero stati problemi.
In bassa stagione conviene prendere l'autobus, vero.

Sperando di annoverarla tra i tanti clienti che ritornano a trovarci la saluto cordialmente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Portoconte
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 744 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed in this lovely hotel for 5 days,it was a short drive from Alghero airport,The hotel has a lovely swimming pool and grounds and you walk out of a gate straight on to a beach,the sea looked more like a lake ideal for children to play in also a jetty for anyone who likes to fish,our room was basic but very clean and had a balcony overlooking the sea,both the breakfast and evening meals were very good with plenty of choce, the town of alghero is a short drive away and well worth a visit with beautiful beaches promenade and lovely little churches,we took the tour on the mini train which was great to get down the very narrow streets.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 705lilbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portoconte, Direttore at Hotel Portoconte, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Goodmorning Lilbel,

thank you for your review.

You have understod how we work and that here you can also do meny things (canoe, bike, trekking, tennis, fotball, swimming, go to visit Alghero, go and visit the Neptune's caves, take a ride with rubber digny, diving center......in a fantastic Bay.

Hoping to see you again

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

It was very pleasant stay! The hotel is indeed family friendly (and all other guests friendly too:). Full board is the best choice for families with small children, I suppose. Just be carefull of mosquitos in September 2013, better buy a fumigator in the room...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ELENA V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portoconte, Dott. James Lubrano Direttore at Hotel Portoconte, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Helena,

thank you for your review on Hotel Portoconte.
We are happy to hear your stay was ok.

Our hotel is ideal for families.

If you think you will return to our Hotel, take notice that before the 31/03 we have many offers you can manage to have.

Regards.

J. Lubrano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in Portoconte end of August and beggining of September 2013, me ,my mum and my son 21 months old. It was great holiday and I would like to say thank you very much to all staff who look after us. It's good hotel, nice beach, good food, friendly staff and very warm sea. Before I book this holiday I read a lot of reviews and some of them wasn't nice, I wasn't sure shall I go or not but I risk and I'm not regret at all. It's great hotel for families with kids, my son not easy baby but all staff were helpfull and friendly. I book full board as I have little baby and it was very good. (You can book full board directly from portoconte webside). Alghero airoport is just 10 min from hotel and taxi cost me 27 euro from airport to hotel. Weather was brilliant, not very hot and not cold. I was worried about sea temperature as Alghero is north of Sardinia but water was warm and we use sweaming pull just ones for chance. Food was good, lovely desserts, Big thanks to all restaurant staff specially to Nando. We'll see you again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anastasia26London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portoconte, Direttore at Hotel Portoconte, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Anastasia Goodmorning,

thank you so much for your review.

I hope even other north european people can understand how we work.

Most of them look only at the furniture in the room and how big it is, but holiday means that a place must be clean, food must be good (for adults and kids) and well prepared, safety, faclities, kindness, problem solving must be always assured.

Hoping to see you soon

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A wonderful hotel, nothing too fancy, perfect for children, amazing setting, the sea is like the caribbean. The staff are all sweet and kissed the children. Nothing was too much trouble. Delicious food, wonderful wine. Lots of other Italian families who have all returned year after year. How wonderful to find a hotel like this one!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allegra936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Give a title to your review. Summarize your experience in one sentence.

Our Holiday in the Hotel Portoconte, Sardinia

Lovely hotel in a marvellous location next to a beautiful sandy beach, perfect for a relaxing family holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank April C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed here in June 2012 for one week. A great beach and lake-like setting but the hotel is dreadful in every way. The lady who checked us out was very rude and it was an appropriate end to the holiday.............

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bucky467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.2 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
#11 of 49 in Alghero
716 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
686 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#7 of 49 in Alghero
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
953 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Angedras
Hotel Angedras
#2 of 49 in Alghero
1,070 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sa Cheya Relais
Sa Cheya Relais
#1 of 49 in Alghero
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portoconte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portoconte

Address: Loc. Porto Conte, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
Price Range: $100 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Portoconte 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Portoconte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portoconte Hotel Alghero
Porto Conte
Hotel Porto Conte
Hotel Portoconte Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing