We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday in Algehero”
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Florida
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great holiday in Algehero”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I was on an 8 day holiday with the Travel Department and the hotel we stayed in was the Hotel Florida. I had read the reviews on this site about the hotel and was worried that the hotel would not be up to the Travel Departments high standards. I was wrong. The hotel is listed as 3 star, but it really should be listed as 4 star. The quality of the bathrooms, the cleanliness of the whole hotel and the attention of the staff, raised it up in my ratings. We were on half board status. Breakfast each day was a buffet, and dinner each evening was from a shortened menu. The choice each night was fantastic. We had a vegetarian option for both starter and main course. Each night we had a great selection of fish to choose from. We had 7 dinner with two course each, and the fish course was never repeated. Great range of sides and salads to go with dinner each night. And of course, dessert every night was a delight.

So in short a great location, great sea view and excellent food. The hotel staff was so efficient and helpful, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, the sunset each evening is glorious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    203
    83
    25
    8
See reviews for
60
263
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just back from Sardinia having stayed at this hotel ,it is family run and is spotlessly clean .The hotel is very good for a 3 star hotel really spacious and pool area is spotless too ,everything is well maintained.Breakfast is the normal fair that you get in Italy cereals,bread rolls,toast .fruit ,sweet cake croissant ,ham ,cheese,yogurt all very plentiful.Evening meal hit and miss.All the staff are very friendly and special thanks to Marcel and the girls for making it a very special birthday.We got fresh fluffy towels very day and shower was good and strong.We never heard a sound all week very relaxing place .The beach is just across the road lovely ,the algae is nothing to worry about seemingly it is very good for the cellulite! Also there is a small beach bar directly across from the hotel called Bar Maricaribou with two very polite and friendly chaps who were kept busy every evening at the 5pm drink they had upto 30 people there most evenings and they played some really good music great atmosphere there with the sun shining.The town is a 10min brisk walk or a 20 stroll with restaurants and bars along the way.I would recommend this hotel and would love to return again well done ! Go for top floor sea view (lovely big balconies).Sardinia was quite for May as the tourist season has not really started yet but it was still enjoyable and we loved it.

Room Tip: Top floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coupleskilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I loved our stay at the hotel Florida. We were on the 3rd floor and had a sea view - definitely recommend you pay the extra for a sea view and ask for the top floor. We just couldn't fault this place. We loved the food so cannot understand what the problem was for some previous guests on reading their reviews. There was a great selection for breakfast, cereals, fruit, meats, cheese, bacon and scrambled egg, cakes, yoghurt etc, etc.We had a lovely selection of traditional Sardinian food in the evening and the other guests we spoke to also commented how good the food was.

Our room was lovely and clean and the shower was brilliant. There is a hairdryer in the bathroom and the towels were so white and soft. We thought the whole hotel was beautifully clean.

We did however think a bit of music in the evening would have been nice.

We didn't have a problem with the staff. They smiled at us. There were many nationalities staying at the hotel so if people didn't think they were friendly it could be the language barrier but we didn't have a problem. If I was going back to Sardinia I would go back to Alghero and stay at this hotel again. It may be a completely different experience in high season but in May it was fantastic and a better experience than we expected after reading some of the critical reviews. Definitely a great experience. We hired a car from the Sardinya car rental place close to the hotel and it was a lot cheaper than some of the other places.

Room Tip: Sea view and top floor recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PiscesJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Florida with my boyfriend for three nights at the beginning of May 2013 and had a lovely time.

The sea view rooms are well worth the extra couple of pounds, the views were amazing and the sunsets were truly spectacular. We were on the top floor (room 305) and despite the room facing the road and the beach, there was hardly any noise at night. The ‘busy’ road is only one way and traffic is pretty slow most of the time – no boy racers in souped up Corsa’s and there is a small beach bar directly outside but this seemed to go quiet by about 10pm. Although the walls seemed to be pretty thin we didn’t have noisy neighbours so this didn’t cause too much of a problem, but you can hear window shutters and doors being opened/closed at night. The reception staff were helpful and made us restaurant and taxi reservations when asked. The beds were super hard – I usually like a hard bed but I couldn’t get at all comfortable, although my boyfriend was happy, and they only give you one pillow each but you can ask at reception for more and they happily provide.

Breakfast was standard and about what you expect for a 3 star hotel. There are hot options of scrambled eggs and bacon/sausages and cold meats, cheeses and bread, as well as cereals, yoghurts etc and the occasional pastry. Enough to fuel you up for the day but nothing amazing. The juices were cheap ‘out of a carton’ stuff but alright if you were thirsty, but it was a shame that coffees came from a machine and were barely drinkable.

The pool area was immaculately clean, but whilst we were there the hotel didn’t seem full but on a sunny afternoon there wasn’t much space on the sun loungers. No one reserving beds at 9am though so that was a plus! The pool is small but deep and was freezing in May but I assume it will warm up as the season progresses. The whole area was immaculately clean and although next to a busy road, felt shaded enough from passers-by. There is a bar next to the pool for drinks and snacks (but I wouldn’t recommend the paninis – again, ok if you’re really ravenous but the vegetable one was just some slices of very dry aubergine and not-quite-melted cheese) and you can put all your bar purchases on your room tab – useful if you’re in a bikini and don’t exactly have pockets for cash. At the bar they also kindly opened bottles of wine for us on two occasions and gave us free ice and crisps for our room!

The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the port and just a few more steps to the Old Town – which is where you’ll be spending most of your time if you’re there on a short break as it is where all the restaurants, bars and importantly, ice cream parlours are!! Please see my other reviews of Mabrouk and Angedras restaurants – two gems you won’t want to miss – and my post about the unmissable sights of the local area.

All in all, whilst not being 5* luxury, the Hotel Florida is a great base from which to explore the area. A beautiful gentle stroll along the coastline from the Old Town and with great facilities at a good price, I’d certainly recommend Hotel Florida to anyone visiting Alghero.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room - you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alicechadfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotell during summer 2011. The location is very good, walking distance to the Alghero city centre and very close to the beach. The hotell is average with OK breakfast, the rooms is well cleaned and average in standard.
We had a fantastic balcony with a really nice sea view.- recomended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HenrikAhlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Basic hotel in alghero located about a 15 minute walk from the old town. The rooms and bathrooms are basic but ok. Staff are friendly but only if you make the effort to smile and talk to them. As an Italian speaker I found them pleasant and helpful.

The hotel is very noisy! You can hear everyone walking and talking in the corridors at all times of the night and day. I bought ear plugs after two nights interrupted sleep.

The beds are very hard and the pillows are like bricks. My boyfriend had no problems sleeping but I woke everyday with either neck pain or back pain.

The hotel has zero facilities. The pool is deep, small and very cold. They charge for towel hire. They charge for wifi, you can't pay at the bar in cash - you can only add it to your room.

In brief...if you are looking for even a little luxury...this hotel is not for you. On the other hand, if you only want somewhere to sleep and you can sleep on any sort of bed...it's a great hotel!

Remember....you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaininBrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.1 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#7 of 49 in Alghero
836 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
622 reviews
5.5 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#20 of 49 in Alghero
583 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Domomea
Hotel Domomea
#3 of 49 in Alghero
516 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Soleado
Hotel Soleado
#28 of 49 in Alghero
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Property: Hotel Florida
Address: Via Lido 15, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florida 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Alghero
Hotel Florida Alghero, Sardinia
Hotel Florida Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing