We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Florida
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Alghero
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotell during summer 2011. The location is very good, walking distance to the Alghero city centre and very close to the beach. The hotell is average with OK breakfast, the rooms is well cleaned and average in standard.
We had a fantastic balcony with a really nice sea view.- recomended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HenrikAhlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    181
    79
    25
    8
See reviews for
56
237
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Basic hotel in alghero located about a 15 minute walk from the old town. The rooms and bathrooms are basic but ok. Staff are friendly but only if you make the effort to smile and talk to them. As an Italian speaker I found them pleasant and helpful.

The hotel is very noisy! You can hear everyone walking and talking in the corridors at all times of the night and day. I bought ear plugs after two nights interrupted sleep.

The beds are very hard and the pillows are like bricks. My boyfriend had no problems sleeping but I woke everyday with either neck pain or back pain.

The hotel has zero facilities. The pool is deep, small and very cold. They charge for towel hire. They charge for wifi, you can't pay at the bar in cash - you can only add it to your room.

In brief...if you are looking for even a little luxury...this hotel is not for you. On the other hand, if you only want somewhere to sleep and you can sleep on any sort of bed...it's a great hotel!

Remember....you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaininBrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed in this Hotel for 2 weeks in August and September. We were a little apprehensive as Hotel only has 3 stars, but were pleasantly surprised. Ideal position with the sandy beach directly opposite. Our room was smallish but clean, with stunning views of pool, beach, sea and headlandfrom our balcony. We had a tv, efficient aircon and a free strongbox. Unfortunately, there was no fridge or DND notices for doors. The Hotel ideally placed for Alghero Old Town, about 15 minutes walk away - perfect for walking off some of the large dinner portions! We were there on half-board basis. The food was varied, tasty and well cooked. There was no problem getting the salad buffet the first week, but the second week it was a bit of a bun fight to get there early enough for it not to have run out, and it didn't seem to get replaced. Also, the second week they ran out of the most popular desserts almost every night if you weren't there at 7.30 on the dot. Would recommed rooms at front of hotel, as the back looked out onto what appeared to be a lorry and trailer park. We could also hear furniture being scraped and footsteps in overhead rooms, Overall very much enjoyed and would recommend.

Room Tip: Chose a room at the front of the Hotel as the back view was less than inspiring. Also if you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillyboo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south east england
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

There was a lack of warmth from reception staff on our arrival and generally not much interest shown throughout our stay. The hotel catered, it seemed, primarily to package tourists. We parked easily free on the main road outside the hotel (there were no roadworks during our stay.) The room was of a decent size but there was no 'fridge and no drinking glasses supplied. The barman did provide plastic glasses on request. It was clean and the balcony was of a good size, It is a good 20 minute stroll into the old town from the hotel, but this is compensated by its closeness to the beach, which was clean, uncrowded during the time we were there and gently shelving. This was very popular with "paddlers", who could walk back and forth about 20 yards from the shore. The swimming pool is of a decent size but accessed by metal ladders that are not the easiest for the less than fully agile. Breakfast was extensive with fresh fruit in addition to the usual buffet. Coffee, though, was available only from one of the machines that have become almost standard in Italian hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We arrived late and were welcomed to the hotel and told about breakfast times and given a map of the area.
There were building roads going on opposite the hotel which we were not told about. As we were there over a bank holiday weekend there wasn't too much noise but on one of the days the noise was non-stop while we were there in the morning and when we returned briefly in the afternoon.
The room was very basic without any ameneties such as an iron/kettle etc The bathroom was clean with toiletries.
Breakfast was a simple spread of fresh fruit, cereal, hot food (eggs, bacon and sausage) bread, cheese and fruit juice etc.
Some of the staff were very nice, others were very rude.
One day we had been to the stunning Sella e Mosca vineyard and thought it would be nice to have a glass of wine on the balcony as the sun went down. Unfortunately the wine wasn't chilled so we asked for some ice - the manager said she wouldn't give it to us. We asked if we could leave the wine in the fridge for 30 minutes, she wouldn't allow us to do this either. In the end I went to the lovely gelato shop next door and the man there gave us a big bag of ice to chill our wine.
A lot of the time there were bad sewer smells coming through the window - this might have had something to do with the construction works.
The waiter during breakfast service was generally very rude every morning.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

3 star, family run hotel. Just what we were looking for. Fairly simple, clean friendly hotel. Location is very good- 20 minutes easy walk to old town/harbour and 10 minutes to railway station. Town beach literally just across road.Supermarkets just 5 minutes walk around the corner. Very well maintained pool We had a room on 3rd floor overloking sea. Lovely views across bay to Cappa Goccia and Old town.
We normally like to go B&B only as we like to try different places each night but the deal with Thomsons was so good for HB that we went for it. We thought if food wasn't good we would eat out some nights but we never did. Food was really quite good. A bit strange at first having to choose your starter & main course at breakfast time but soon got used to it. Rooms have a free safe deposit box built into wall. Also an excellent hairdryer in bathroom so don't need to take your travel one! Only complaint is lack of fridge/minibar. We like to picnic at lunchtimes and often had some food leftover which just had to go to waste. Everyone else has similar comments so hotel would do well to listen to customers. Could even offer rental per week and would soon recover cost.

Room Tip: Go for top floor, sea view rooms. Worth the extra. Some noise from bar next door but not enough to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMACInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alghero hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#17 of 51 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#4 of 51 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sa Cheya Relais
Sa Cheya Relais
#1 of 51 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Domomea
Hotel Domomea
#2 of 51 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#6 of 51 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Soleado
Hotel Soleado
#32 of 51 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Property: Hotel Florida
Address: Via Lido 15, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florida 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Alghero
Hotel Florida Alghero, Sardinia
Hotel Florida Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing