We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on the beach”
Review of Hotel dei Pini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel dei Pini
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night prior to our return to the UK after one week of staying on the east side of the island. We had a see view room which had a fantastic view over the (basically) private beach and gave us an amazing sunrise view the next morning. We were greeted on our arrival to our room with a hand written card, chocolates, and a Sardinian Liqueur which was a lovely touch. We did get a bus (20 mins/€1.50) to the old town rather than eat in the hotel but that's only because it was our last night and we wanted to see Alghero but the hotel menu looked good (albeit limited). All in all, a great hotel to relax by the beach during the day, but I would recommend getting that bus into town for the evening. Especially for the amazing view on top of the fortified wall overlooking the harbour and lots of restaurants with delicious and well-priced food. Enjoy. Would definitely return to Sardinia!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldeipini, Responsabile reception at Hotel dei Pini, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Guests,

When we read such kind of review, we are really proud of our work and our location. That is real satisfaction! Thank you very much for the time you dedicated to review our hotel, our town and our beautiful island.
We all look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 697 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

We loved our stay at Hotel Dei Pini. The hotel staff are very helpful and throughout the hotel we received great service. The hotel beach is beautiful and the view from the newly finished pool is amazing. Our room was great and we had a very relaxing stay. While the hotel is 10 mins from the main town Alghero having the shuttel bus and public bus available and right at the hotel doorstep made it not an issue and was nice to be amoungst the stunning surrounds the hotel has to offer

Room Tip: beach view would be well worth the extra few dollars to upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTraveller11110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We went to Hotel Dei Pini for 10 days and from the outset the staff at the Hotel were incredibly helpfull, even communicating over email to complete our booking.

The food was amazing, a different lunch and dinner menu every day with ample of fresh fish and a large variety of food. Breakfast selection was a bit of a let down but everything else made this the most minor of points.

The staff from the receptionists to the cleaners to the lifeguards to the restaurant staff were so welcoming and would do everything they could to help. Towards the end of the holiday I had a bit of prickly heat, I merely asked reception if they sold Aloe Vera gel, they didnt but said if I wanted they could get some delivered from the local pharmacy.....now thats service.

We had a superior sea view room. 20 paces across the lawn and we were on the beautiful sandy beach and crystal clear water. The room was large and comfortable and cleaned daily.

The private beach with its room allocated loungers were well kept and the scenery along with the sea and the sand were the perfect recipe for paradise and 10 days of pure relaxation.

All in all, Hotel Dei Pini along with the building, the food, the staff, the scenery and everything else associated with our stay here was an absolutely dream. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, we were talking with a family that was back for the second year running and all the staff at the hotel remembered them and welcomed them back personally.

If you want to visit Sardinia then defintiely stay at this hotel. When we go back we wont even look at another hotel.

Room Tip: Superior Sea View is deinitely worth the extra, literally a few steps from the sea and larger than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Other reviewers have it in a nutshell - It's all about the location which is perfect! We wanted to be able to look out at the sea from our room and walk straight into the sea for swimming. But at €300+ per night 1/2 board for a small room with no pictures decorating the wall to brighten it up, tiny shower, being asked for €50 to replace a glass top broken by accident on a table which within the week was never replaced, we thought the hotel on the expensive side when compared with similar beach hotels. The food in the restaurant was mediocre and because the hotel was too far from Alghero we were more or less required to take 1/2 board accommodation. If they reduced their room tariff we would go back...........

Room Tip: Room facing the sea - If you have young kids try for a ground floor room which leads to a grassy are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyQdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The location of the hotel facing the beautiful sea of 'Le Bombarde' beach could deserve five stars. However, there were a few serious drawbacks: 1) The hotel common spaces are much below the number of customers. If one does not want to cough owing to the smoking people or go deaf by the life music, he is forced not to seat and enjoy a drink by the night sea landscape. 2) After a few days of very reasonable food, the quality lowered a lot: we were mainly offered fried frozen meals certainly unsuitable to most of people. We did complain about it with no results and preferred to go out for dinner eventually. 3) The service is very erratic. In conclusion, the hotel ought to be reorganized to provide an offer up to the level of its rates.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gianpaolo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Even the comically tiny shower stall, tiny elevator, mediocre restaurant, and somewhat small rooms were not enough to disuade us from returning to Dei Pini because of it's prized asset: Their own private white sandy beach on a crystal clear cove that also has their own little reef to snorkel on!

We were forced from our beachfront room because of a powerful smell apparently due to a faulty sewage vent system, which was seriously dissappointing since the remainder of our stay was facing the parking lot. Staff was accomodating and friendly, the location was great because it's a short drive to Alghero, and other sites.

Lots of people complained about the breakfast, but we found it excellent because of the super fresh fruit they served every day, and they had enough items to make it interesting each morning.

If you're handicapped, you need to know parking is on a dirt lot, and access to the beach is 2 flights of stairs with no elevator. It was difficult to find at first because it's not on the GPS, but there was a sign from the main road.

This is not a 4 star hotel in the U.S., but this seems to be par for the course in European hotel ratings. It's a good beach hotel!

Room Tip: Each room had a small balcony, but it's well worth getting the beach side! Families should ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I returned from one week stay in Hotel Dei Pini last Thursday. I traveled with my family consisting of two adults and two small children. We liked our vacation in hotel Dei Pini very much. Hotel itself would need a bit renovation. However the beach and sea are beautiful. Exactly as on advertising pictures. Access to the water is pleasant for children and elderly people. Sand is white and smooth. Water was clean and crystal clear. At the beginning of our stay staff showed us our sunbeds and we had them reserved for whole week. So there was no hurry for sunbeds in the morning. Even if you came in the afternoon you could be sure you have you place. Hotel does not charge anything extra for sunbeds and sunshades. Food was good. Morning buffet was still the same. But if you come only for a week there is still choice. We liked evening appetizers consisting mainly from vegetables, fishes, etc.. Main food was for me without taste. We went for this trip mainly because of the sea, and with this aim we were fully satisfied,

Room Tip: Choose seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ambravecna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alghero
1.2 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
705 reviews
2.7 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
989 reviews
2.1 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
#10 of 49 in Alghero
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
117.8 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
873 reviews
76.9 mi away
Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro
Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro
#2 of 14 in Golfo Aranci
405 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Angedras
Hotel Angedras
#2 of 49 in Alghero
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dei Pini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Pini

Address: Localita Le Bombarde SNC, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Alghero
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#6 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
#8 Family Hotel in Alghero
#11 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
Price Range: $140 - $1,196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel dei Pini 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel dei Pini rises in a reserved area in the north west of sardinia and is set between a private beach of fine white sand and a 30,000 square metre wood. Our hospitality is available in 94 rooms (double, triple and quadruple), 1 junior suite and 4 suite.. Lunch and dinner are served in our panoramic restaurant and breakfast buffet is served in the breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel dei Pini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Pini Alghero
Hotel Dei Pini Sardinia
Dei Pini Hotel
Hotel Dei Pini Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing